Mr. Charles Caire, who died at Semaphore on Friday, aged 90, was in active work until he was 85. Born at St. Martin's, Jersey, he came to Australia with his parents when 18. He was a coppersmith by trade, but as there was no opening for him here he took up tin-smithing. At that trade he worked with A. Simpson & Son for about 40 years. His assocation with the firm was in two periods. Between them he went to Western Australia, where he worked at a fish canning works, and also at his trade. He returned to Adelaide about 1890. On leavng Simpson's he was employed by the SA. Gas Company. Mr. Caire's wife died about 10 years ago. He left a family of five daughters and four sons.
CAKEBREAD, John Rymill died 08 August 1914
The death is reported from Victor Harbor of Mr John Rymill Cakebread. Our Victor Harbor correspondent writes: - He was born at Banbury, Oxford, March 5, 1839 - and was therefore in his 75th year. He came to South Australia with his father in 1848 on the barque Abberton. On arrival he attended the Pulteney-street school until 1849, in which year he came to Encounter Bay, arriving there when whaling was in full swing. He often re- counted having seen three whales captured here in one day. In February, 1859, he went to the Victoria gold diggings, but re- turned in 1861. In 1865 he joined the Government Roads and Bridges Department as chargeman for the construction of bridges, &c, and held that position till he retired in 1910. He left a widow at Victor Harbor, and a family of ten - Mr. A. R. Cakebread, Footscray, Victoria; Mr. Charles Cakebread, Encounter Bay; Mr. P. P. Cakebread, Victoria; Mr. E. J. Cakebread, Encounter Bay: .Mr. J. R. Cake- bread, Broken Hill; Mr. S. L. Cakebread, Encounter Bay; Mr. S. J. Cakebread, Victoria, Mr. H. M. Cakebread, Adelaide; Mrs. James Reid, Victor Harbor; and Mrs. A. H. Warland. Encounter Bay. There are also 40 grandchildren and five great-grandchildren.
Headstone Victor Harbor Cemetery
CALDER, William Cormack died 31 October 1905
Mr. W. C. Calder, who was formerly well known as the first speaker of the Union Parliament, died at his residence,
Kent Town, on Tuesday morning, after a short illness. He was within a fortnight of the 80th anniversary of his birthday, and
had lived in South Australia for 47 years. He was apprenticed as a printer, and was for some years in the employ of Constable's Printing House before joining the staff of the "Scotsman." Five days after landing in Adelaide, in October, 1858, Mr. Calder entered the office of the "Register," with which he was associated for 46 years. On his retirement, at the end of last year, he was made the recipient of several valuable presentations. For some time he represented Kent Town ward in the Kensington and Norwood Corporation. Mr. Calder took a deep interest in literary societies, and was long ago speaker of a model parliament at North Adelaide, and subsequently occupied similar offices in connection with other societies. For ten years he was speaker of the Union Parliament, and afterwards, until the end of 1904, he was speaker of the model parliament at St. Peters. He was a deacon of College Park Congregational Church until the time of his death. For many years, too, he had been an Oddfellow, and he had held all offices open to him in that order. Mr. Calder left a widow, two sons (Messrs. Andrew and William Calder), and five daughters (Mrs. T. Roberts, Mrs. M. L. Baker, Mrs. E. F. Lockyer, Mrs. H. H. McKechnie, and Miss Calder.) There are also l8 grandchildren and two great-grandchildren.
CALDICOTT, Albert Henry died 15 October 1905
Mr. Robert H. Caldicott, who died at Forest Range on Sunday, was a well-known man in Adelaide during the sixties and
seventies. He was born in Birmingham 74 years ago, and emigrated to South Australia when 21 years of age. A few years
after his arrival he entered the Civil Service, and for 15 years he was on the staff at the General Post-Office. When he resigned from the service he was chief clerk of the dispatch branch. For the last 19 years of his life he had resided with his son, Mr. Harry Caldicott, at Forest Range. The deceased gentleman was president of the local branch of the Australian National
League for some years, and resigned the position on being appointed a vice-president of the main body last September. He was a keen supporter of the league and one of its most valued members. He was widely known in the hills and was greatly respected by all. Mr. Caldicott kept in touch with his native town, as the "Birmingham Post" and "Birmingham Weekly Mercury" reached him by every mail. He left several sons and numerous grandchildren.
CALLIER, Anne Marguerite Joseph died 27 October 1919
Mrs. P. J. Callier, whose death took place at her son's residence near Linwood last week, arrived in South Australia with
her mother, sisters, and other relatives in 1857. She came to Melbourne in the ship Titan from Liverpool, and thence in
the steamer Burra Burra to Port Adelaide. Four years later she married. She lived in the neighbourhood of Linwood till
her death, having been 62 years in the State. She went through much hardship in the early days. She came from
Liege (Belgium), and on her arrival could not speak English. She reared a family of 11 children (all of whom are living), 33 grandchildren, and six great-grandchildren. She was always kind and considerate for others, and was loved by all
her family and everyone else who knew her. Her husband, who is in his 89th year, also came from Belgium, near Verviers. The family are Mrs. Murphy (Stockport), Messrs. Victor (Anlaby) Alfred (Linwood), and Emile Callier (North Adelaide); Mrs. J. Henley (Goodwood), Mrs. G.Parker (Butler), Mr. Isidore Callier (Gawler), Mrs. Wenham (Prospect), Mr. Alphonse Callier (Woodville), Mrs.
A. Gaertner (Linwood), and Mrs. Barker (Linwood)
CALNAN, John Gilbert died 21 June 1908
The death is announced of Mr. John Gilbert Calnan, the licensee of the Crown and Anchor Hotel, Grenfell-street, at the age of
38 years. The deceased was born at Kangaroo Island, and was the second son of Mr. Charles Calnan, one of the pioneers of
the island. The mother and seven sisters of the deceased, who survive him, are Mrs. Calnan, sen., of Hughes-street, Mile-End;
Mrs. Arthur Daw, Mrs. J. H. Carter, and Mrs. George Snelling, Kangaroo Island; MM. J. S. Taylor, and Mrs. J. W. Taylor; of Birkenhead; Mrs. G. A. Mitchell, of Aldinga; and Mrs. J. R. Knuckey, of Adelaide. There are also three brothers.
CALNAN, Mary Ann died 18 August 1916
Mrs. Mary A. Calnan, who died at her daughter's residence Heath-street, Birkenhead, on Friday, was born, in Wales on
February 25,1833. Her parents died when she was very young. She went to Tasmania with her aunt and uncle (the late
Dr. Lloyd), with whom she resided until grown up, when she came to South Australia and met Mr. Charles Calnan, to
whom she was married on August 19, 1850. The couple lived at Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, where Mr. Calnan was engaged in sheepfarming for many years. He and his brother, Mr. M. Calnan, built the first stone houses erected on the island. These
houses are still in existence, and are known as Faith, Hope, and Charity. Mrs. Calnan's husband died l8 years ago. The
surviving family consists of one son (Mr. F. Calnan, of Adelaide), six daughters (Mrs. G. Snelling, Mrs. J. H. Carter, and
Mrs. A. Daw, of Kingscote, K.I.; Mrs. J. R. Knuckey, of College Park; Mrs. W. S. Taylor, of Birkenhead; and Mrs. G. A.
Mitchell, of Torrensville), 39 grandchildren, and 34 great-grandchildren. Mrs. Calnan was respected and beloved by all for her
kindly and generous disposition.
CAMERON, Alexander McAllister died 20 April 1953
Pastor Alexander Cameron, of the Church of Christ, Victor Harbor, died in the Repatriation Hospital. He served in World War I as a chaplain, and in World War II he enlisted as a private. He received leg injuries during the war. Pastor Cameron came to Victor
Harbor six weeks ago from Melbourne. He collapsed in the pulpit after his Sunday morning sermon. A widow and two married daughters survive. During his brief stay in Victor Harbor, he superintended the beginning of a manse in Acraman street, which will be his memorial.
CAMERON, Alfred died 02 July 1949
Mr. Alfred Cameron, who died recently at Meningie at the age of 89 was renowned in his younger days as a shearer, working on the sheds for eight or nine months every year. He was one of the foundation members of the Australian Worker's Union. He leaves six daughters and five sons and many grandchildren.
Headstone Meningie Cemetery
CAMP, Paul died 03 July 1928
Keen regret was also felt when it was announced on Wednesday, July 4th, that Mr. Paul Camp of Aberdeen, had succumbed after a some what lengthy illness. Only 28 years of age he was a son of Mr. and Mrs. Elliott Camp of Redruth, and had lived in Burra practically all his life. Prior to his health failing he was a prominent member of the Aberdeen .football Club and looked upon as a
good sport. A sad feature of the case is that a young widow and family are left for whom the utmost sympathy is felt. Owing to month of sickness the latter we regret are left in straitened circumstances and it is hoped that sympathy extended will be expressed in a practical manner. The funeral took place on Thursday morning when the respect felt for his wife and parents was shown by the attendance. The service was conducted by the Rev. W. O. Harris and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son.
CAMPBELL, Charles James Fox died 05 March 1859
Advertiser 8th March, 1859
Mr. C.J.F CAMPBELL - A telegram reached Adelaide yesterday afternoon, announcing the death of this old and much-respected colonist. The deceased was on a visit at the station known as Campbell's Station, on the North-West Bend of the River Murray. About three weeks ago, he received a severe cut in one of his hands from a broken bottle. The wound speedily assumed a dangerous aspect, erysipelas supervened : and, when Dr. Gosse left his patient on Saturday last, no hopes of recovery were entertained. Mr. Campbell leaves a large circle of friends to mourn his loss.
Advertiser Monay 18 April 1859
THE LATE MR. C. J. F. CAMPBELL.-The funeral of this old and much respected colonist took place on Monday, the 21st inst. It passed up King William-street at about half-past 3 o'clock, on its way from the residence of the Messrs. Levi, Walkerville, to the Cemetery,West-terrace. A large number of gentlemen, old colonists and personal friends of the deceased formed, the procession, which had a very solemn and imposing effect, as it wended its way slowly along. The processsion consisted of a chastely mounted hearse, drawn by four horses, three mourning coaches, about twenty carriages, and other vehicles. Several horsemen, in mourning bands, likewise followed the deceased to his grave.
Mr. John Campbell, whose death occurred at Hamley Bridge at the age of 66, was one of the most highly respected residents of the
district. He was bom at Barabba on July 9, 1878, and resided on the same farm all his life. He undertook responsibilities in connection with the Methodist Church was an opening batsman for the Barabba Cricket Club, and was also captain of the tennis club. He was also an officer of the Rechabite Lodge. On October 11. 1917, he married Miss Helena Dow. who survives him.
CAMPBELL, William George died 02 December 1947
Mr. W. G. Campbell, 84, who died recently, was born near Modbury. He was educated at Teatree Gully and Whinham College, and at the age of 12 be moved with his parents to Barabba, near Owen, where he became interested in farming. He served as a member of the Dalkey District Council for two years, was one of the first members of the Barabba Improvement Society, and for a time was secretary of the local branch of the Liberal Union. He was a member of the Owen Institute committee and a trustee of the Barabba Methodist Church.
CANDY, Joseph died 13 December 1907
Mr. Joseph Candy, who for many years was foreman platform porter at the Port Adelaide railway-station, died at his residence, Birkenhead, on Friday evening, aged 53 years. He was a native of South Australia. He had been ailing for several weeks. He has left a widow.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
CANDY, William Gillingham
After an illness extending over a period of three years Mr. William Gillingham Candy, one of the oldest residents of the Noarlunga district, has passed away. The deceased gentleman was born in Dorsetshire, England, in 1836. He arrived in this State by the ship General Hewitt 51 years ago, and resided for a few years at Lovely Valley, Myponga, and subsequently in Noarlunga, where he had lived for 42 years and carried on business. He has left a widow, nine children, and 17 grandchildren. Had he survived a few days longer he would have celebrated his golden wedding.
CANHAM, William died 21 December 1909
Mr. William Canham, who died lately at Mannum in his 56th year, was for 27 years a resident of the Younghusband district, near Mannum. He carne to Australia in 1865. He left three sons, Messrs. J. Canham (Mannum), W. E. Canham (Mannum), and E. H. Canham (Mimaroo); his daughters, Mrs. A. G. Bolto and Mrs. J. Frick (Mannum), Mrs. J. A. Groth (Pellaring Flat), Mrs. R. L. Penfold (Smithfield), Mrs. T. M. Bolto (Kilkenny), and Miss Canham (Mannum), and 20 grandchildren.
Headstone Mannum Cemetery
CAREY, Percival Preece died 08 November 1927
Mr. Percy Carey, of Booborowie, whose death occurred on Tuesday evening, from shocking burning injuries received at Andrews, the previous Sunday, was one of the most popular residents of Booborowie. Of a wonderful optimistic temperament he was the life and soul of any effort to promote either progressive or social matters pertaining to the welfare of the district and it is hard to think that that bright personality has been taken away. From particulars to hand since his decease he must have had the spirit of a lion as after sustaining such horrible injuries and with his flesh still burning he drove his own car to Mr. Thornton's, displaying a fortitude unequalled, besides maintaining his usual cheeriness. His injuries however were such that there was no possible chance of recovery and at the early age of 38 years his brave spirit passed out. The esteem in which he was held and the sympathy felt for his wife, her little daughter and son, his widowed mother, brothers and sisters, was shown by the immense cortege which followed his remains to the Kooringa cemetery the following day. The service at the grave was conducted by the Rev; A. Dyer of Booborowie, and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
CARR, Agnes Mary died 16 January 1944
CARR, Richard James died 20 September 1948
Mrs Agnes Mary Carr, whose death occurred recently at North Shields, was born at Port Lincoln 86 years ago. She was the only daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs Henry Brougham, and married Mr. R. James Carr In 1881. With the exception of two years spent at Roseworthy, Mrs. Carr had always resided at Port Lincoln and district. A widower, two daughters, and five sons survive.
Advertiser Friday 29 October 1948 page 6
Mr. Richard James Carr, who died recently at the age of 90, was one of the oldest residents in the Port Lincoln district. Born at White's River, he managed Weewanda station for the late Andrew Tennant for many years. He later bought a farm at Poonindie, and lived at North Shields after retiring. His wife died about four years ago. Mr. Carr leaves five sons. Messrs. R. Carr (Port Lincoln), W. Carr (Renmark). E. Carr (Mount Gambler), G. Carr (Roseworthy), and A.Carr (Clarendon), and two daughters, Mesdames G. Dorward (North Shields) and G Petch (Normanville).
Headstone Port LIncoln Happy Valley Cemetery
CARR, Whitmore Blake
DEATH OF MR. W. B. CARR
Public Service Over Wide Field
The death occurred on Thursday morning at his home Partridge street, Glenelg, of Mr Whitmore Blake Carr in his 82nd year. Noman had a wider circle of friends.His death represents a great lossto the community Mr Carr hadbeen ill a little over a week.
Few South Australians have givensuch outstanding service to thecommunity over so wide a field.Chairman of the Adelaide Stock Exchange for a record term, an administrator of racing for over 40 years, and a devoted supporter of the Church of England, his interests also included amateur athletics, football, and numbers of public and charitable institutions, on many of which he held executive positions.
Chronicle Thursday 02 September 1943 page 28
Courtesy of Ian Turnbull
CARRACK, Sarah died 5 December 1906
RIVERTON, December 7.- The late Mrs, Sarah Carrack, who died on Wednesday, was the oldest resident of this district, and an old colonist. She was born near Manchester, Lancashire, in January, 1830. With her parents and relatives, numbering 16, she arrived in South Australia in 1848 the journey from England taking some five months. They settled first at Coromandel Valley, where the deceased was married to her first husband, Mr. Thomas Palmer, bootmaker. She came to Riverton in 1856, where her first husband died. In 1861 she was remarried to the late Mr. John Carrack- (nephew of the late Mr. Charles Masters, the founder of Riverton), who predeceased her about three years. The deceased lived in the same house, although additions had been made, 50 years. Up to a few months ago she enjoyed the best of health, and had she lived till next month would have reached her 77th year. She was highly respected of a retiring disposition. There are five surviving children- Mrs. R. McLeish (BIackwood), Mr. E. Palmer (Oulina), Mr Charles Carrack (Broken Hill), Misses M. Carrack (Wattle Flat), and J. Carrack (Riverton) - 15 grandchildren, and four great-grandchildren.
CARTER, David Viney died 21 August 1928
Mr. David Viney Carter, who died at his residence. Rosetta-street, Greytown, on Tuesday, was born in Middlesex in 1856. He came to Australia nearly 60 years ago. He joined the South Australian Railway service in 1878, being stationed at Gladstone, Silverton, and Port Adelaide. From 1894 to 1909 he was employed as an engine driver at Port Adelaide, and then as a packer and washer-out. He retired in 1921. Mr. Carter left three sons and four daughters—Messrs. W. D. Carter (Norwood), H. A. V. Carter (Semaphore) and W. T. J. Carter (Greytown), and Mesdames A. Whitmarsh (Hyde Park) E C. Yates (Glenelg) C. Heffron (Adelaide), and W. Brunell (Greytown). His wife died four years ago.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
CARTER, Frederick Leopold Charles died 30 January 1906
Mr. Frederick L. C. Carter, who died at Miss Wilson's Hospital last week, was a son of the late Mr. William Carter, of Gilles
street, Adelaide, and grandson of the late Sir Robert Campbell, of Argylle, Scotland. The deceased was for many years in the employ of the Adelaide Steamship Company as engineer on various steamers. He left two brothers (Messrs. W. and P. Carter
of New South Wales) and three sisters (Mrs. S- Keynes, of Kensington; Mrs. G. Beard, of Robe; and Mrs. Martin, of Broken Hill.)
CARTER, James died 04 October 1905
Mr. James Carter, 75 years of age, died on Wednesday evening at the residence of his son (Mr. R. Carter), Taylor-street,
Brompton Park. The deceased was a colonist of 53 years, and for a considerable time was associated with the slaughter-
house near the Adelaide Gaol. He was fairly successful on the Victorian goldfields. For some years he resided at North Adelaide. He left four sons and one daughter.
CARTER, John died 14 July 1915
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST.
CRYSTAL BROOK, July 26.-The late Mr. John Carter, of Crystal Brook, where he had resided for the last 36 years, was a colonist of over 60 years. After landing in the province he went to reside at Gawler River, where he was well known and highly respected, and later on came to Crystal Brook, where his wife died 20 years ago. He left three sons (Messrs. R.J. Carter, Payneham; I. Carter, Kalgoorlie, WA; A. B. Carter, Broken Hill,N.S.W., five daughters Mesdames T. R.Wilson, Woodville: F. Multon, Port Pirie ; H. Ladyman, Katanning, WA; A. E.Lawson, Crystal Brook; Miss Carter, Crystal Brook, 36 grandchildren, eight great-grandchildren.
Headstone Crystal Brook Cemetery
CARTHEW, Stephen Pellew died 01 November 1912
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST
The death is announced of Mr. Stephen Pellew Carthew, who, with his parents, arrived in 1845, by the vessel Rajah. Mr. Carthew, sen., who was engaged by a mining company, which owned property at Allan's Creek, Glen Osmond, and Reedy. Creek, and several other properties was first occupied on the Worthing mine at Hallett's Cove. When the Burra mine was discovered the family proceeded thither, and upon the breaking out of the Bendigo gold diggings, the men left for Victoria. Upon their return the management, of the Allan's Creek copper mine was entrusted to Mr. Carthew. After the fall in cooper in 1878 the deceased bought a property at Scott’s Creek, where he resided for 33 years. During his residence at Scott’s Creek he carried on the operations of fruitgrowing, dairying. and market gardening. The members of the family are Messrs. Lancelot, Stephen, Sydney, George, and John Carthew. Mrs. Norris (of Adelaide), Mrs. J. McNamara (of Blackwood ) and Misses Stella and Ada Carthew.
Headstone Scott's Creek Cemetery
CATCHLOVE, Keith died 05 August 1953
Mr. Keith Catchlove who died at his farm property Braeside, Strathalbyn, aged 60 years was an original member of the 3rd Light Horse Regiment, and served on Gallipoli where he was wounded. He was returned to Australia, but enlisted in the artillery and went to France, where he served until the end of the 1914-18 war. After the war he took up land in Victoria, and there married Miss E. Philip. He later returned to the South East ol South Australia and there managed a number of properties. Later he took charge of Mrs. Legoe's Arab stud farm at Inman Valley, and from there purchased the Braeside property near Strathalbyn.
Headstone Strathalbyn General Cemetery
CATE, Mary died 29 August 1901
The death is announced of Mrs. Cate, wife of Mr. Wm. Cate, of Ravenswood, Norwood. The deceased lady, who only just recovered from a long and serious illness, was able to get about in an invalid chair, and was looking forward to the return shortly of her son Arthur from America, when she was suddenly overcome by paralysis on Tuesday. The trouble speedily developed and after a period, of unconsciousness she passed away quietly at her residence on Thursday afternoon. On July 15 last Mr. and Mrs. Cate celebrated their golden anniversary of their wedding. At that time Mrs. Cate was in a somewhat critical condition, but having a wonderfully strong constitution, she battled the complication of diseases from which she suffered, and in a few weeks was able to take chair trips in the fresh air. Everything appeared to be going on satisfactorily until the sudden attack of paralysis. Mr. Cate (her husband), Major Cate, and Mr. A. F. Cate (who is now believed to be on his way, home from America), sons, and Mrs. W. H. Ellis and Mrs. A. L. Lowe, of Kent Town, daughters, survive her, in addition to a number of grandchildren.
CAUST, Charles Arnold died 06 January 1906
The funeral of Mr- A C Caust, who was drowned at Henley Beach in a noble effort to save life on Saturday last, took place at the Hindmarsh Cemetery on Tuesday.
Headstone Hindmarsh Cemetery
CAVANAGH, Michael died c 16 September 1913
Chronicle Feburary 6 1915
The mystery surrounding the disappearance on September 21, 1913 of an aged man, Michael Cavanagh, from Willunga, where he had resided for any years, has been solved. Mounted Constable Clarke has reported to the Commissioner of Police that at 8.30pm on January 29 John McMurtrie, farmer, McLaren Flat, informed him that his son-in-law, Edgar Samuel Biddle, had found human remains lying in a hollow tree near the Range Road, n the Hundred of Kuitpo, seven miles from Willunga. Accompanied by Mr. R F Atkinson, Constable Clarke visited the spot and found the skeleton of an old man, fully dressed with the exception of a hat, lying in a hollow tree. A hat was found 20 yards away. The clothing was searched and 10 pounds in soverins, 18/7 1/2d in silver and copper, two door keys, and a pocket knife were found. Mr. Atkinson identified the remains as those of Michael Cavanagh, a very old man, probably 90 years of age, who had become mentally and physically weak some time before his disappearance. He was last seen alive on September 16, 1913. going towards the top of the Willunga Hill. He had an axe and stated that he intended to cut a load of wood for his own use. The coroner Mr Matthew Goode decided that at inquest was unnecessary.
CAVANAGH, Percy John 15 May 1890 - 01 April 1936
Mr. Percy John Cavanagh, who died at Balaklava recently, was born at Watchman on May 15, 1890. He was the third son of Mrs. and the late Mr. P. Cavanagh. He was engaged in farming until the outbreak of the Great War, when he enlisted in the original 10th Battalion and left for Egypt in October, 1914. He was invalided home in October. 1915. He suffered from the effects of his wound to such an extent that he was unable to continue farming. After acting as a recruiting sergeant for some time he accepted a position as a motor mechanic. Mr. Cavanagh was a past master of the Balaklava Masonic Lodge, a member of the Druids' Lodge, committeeman and active member of the Balaklava Rifle Club, motor man of the local volunteer fire brigade, and a keen follower of football. He leaves a widow (formerly Miss L. A. Woods) and his mother, who is still a resident of Balaklava. Mesdames A. Gillett (Wilmington), T. Williams (Blyth), and D. H. Cheetham (Hilltown). Sister L. Cavanagh (Memorial Hospital), and Matron S. Cavanagh (Wallaroo Hospital) are sisters, and Messrs. J. S., F. G., P. S. (all of Balaklava), and G. Cavanagh (Owen) are brothers. Forty returned soldiers formed a guard of honor at the fune- ral, and fellow firemen and lodge mem- bers were also present. The chief officer of the Fire Brigades head station (Mr. Whyte), the retiring chief officer (Mr. Cooper), and Mr. H. Jackson, chairman of the Fire Brigades Board, also attended the funeral.
Headstone Balaklava Cemetery
CHAMBERS, Ann 01 September 1824 - 18 September 1903
ANOTHER OLD COLONIST DEAD.
Nairne, September 19.
A colonist of 54 years, Mrs. John Chambers, of Hay Valley, died last night. Mrs. Chambers was born in Lincolnshire on September 1, 1824. With her first husband, Mr. Samuel Brinkley, with whom she came to the State in the ship Trafalgar in 1849, she settled at Hahndorf, but did not long remain there. They went to Mount Barker Springs, afterwards to Nairne, and then to Littlehampton, where they bought a place and made a home. It was there years Mrs. Brinkley died, and for about six years Mrs. Brinkley lived as a widow. She married Mr. John Chambers, of Hay Valley, 34 years ago, and had lived at the Valley ever since. Mr. Chambers survived her. By her first husband she had six children, four of whom are living- Mr. J. W Brinkley (Mount Barker), Mr. David R. Brinkley (Mannum), Mrs. George Day (Hay Valley), and Miss Mary A. Brinkley - and 17 grandchildren. Mrs. Chambers was. in her younger days, a great worker for the Primitive Methodist Church. At the age of 19 she was put on the plan as a local preacher, and after coming to this State she rendered good service as a lay-preacher, class-leader, and Sunday-school teacher in the Primitive Methodist Church at Littlehampton. Many times she stepped into the pulpit when no preacher turned up, and thus prevented the church being closed.
Headstone Hay Valley Primitive Methodist Cemetery
CHAMBERS, Franklin James died 10 July 1883
Death of Mr. Frank Chambers.— The City Coroner having made full enquiry, and having communicated with Drs. Gardner and
Dunlop, relating to the death of Mr. Frank J. Chambers, assistant dispenser at the Adelaide Hospital, and son of the late Dr. Chambers, does not consider an inquest necessary. From information received it appears that Mr. Chambers on Tuesday week was on his way to the Hospital when an attack of heamorrhage from the lung came on in Rundle street, that when found by Constable McKinnon he was in a dying state, and was immediately removed to the Hospital, but died before his arrival there. Drs.
Dunlop and Gardner say that deceased had been suffering from phthisis for some years, and that the immediate cause of death
was pulmonary heamorrhage. Mr. Chambers, who was only 30 years of age, was very much respected by the Hospital Surgeons and all the officers of that institution
CHAMBERS, Mary died 24 March 1904
The death is announced of Mrs. Chambers, relict of Mr. John Chambers. The couple came to South Australia in the year 1837 in the ship John Renwick. Mr. Chambers was a companion of the late John McDouall Stuart in his exploration of the Australian continent, and he died in 1887. Mrs. Chambers passed away at Hyde Park, and was in her 92nd year.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
CHAMBERS, Mary died 30 April 1931
Mrs. Mary Chambers, an old resident of the Moumt Gambler district, died at the age of 77. She was the eldest daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Williamam Kilsby, of "Alva Farm", near Mount Gambier. She married Mr. A. C. Chambers in 1876, and after residing at the Snuggery for a few years Mr. and Mrs. Chambers made their home at Hatherleigh. They later returned to Mount Gambier, and spent their, remaining years on a farm at Glenburnie. Mr. Chambers pre-deceased his wife in 1927. Three daughters and one son survive - Misses Lily, Olive, and Ruby Chambers, and Mr. W. K. Chambers, of Mill Lel
Headstone Mount Gambier Lake Terrace Cemetery
CHAMPNESS, John Henry died 25 August 1924
Mr. John Henry Champness of Cambridge Terrace Brighton died in a Private Hospital on Monday morning from heart trouble. Mr. Champness who had been ailing for some time , was 71 years of age, and leaves a widow, 5 sons and 2 daughters.Mr. Champness had just issued a booklet containing his history. He was born at Noarlunga on April 9, 1853. His father was said to be the first white man to travel overland from Perth to Adelaide. In 1858 Mr. Champness was taken to Victoria by his mother, where he lived in a little store and public house, kept by his uncle at Green Gully, Castlemaine. From there he went to Daylesford. After varying experiences Mr. Champness returned to South Australia where he obtained employment with an auctioneer firm. Later the young man took over a storekeeping business at Noarlunga. On March 7 1875, he married Miss Blanche Molineux, who died in September 1911. In 1882 he purchased Yarrock Station, on Wimmera, and after the invention of the stump-jump plough cultivated 1,200 acres in the Victorian Mallee, and was regarded in that State as the pioneer of successful mallee farming. He was a member of the Kavina Shire Council for several years and received an elluminated address upon his retirement. In May 1908 Mr. Champness visited England, and in 1918 married Mrs. Lowe, who survives him. Some years ago, he made a settlement in perpentuity, of several thousands of pounds, on Brighton College, the interest being devoted to the assistance of deserving students seeking holy orders. A similiar settlement was made to the Methodist Memorial Hospital providing for the admission and treatment of disabled soldiers, their widows and children.
Photograph courtesy of Helen Prettejohn
CHANDLER, Harold Victor Claude died 05 March 1953
Mr. H.V. (Claude) Chandler, who died recently, aged 69, was a well-known resident of Kent Town, where he had lived for about 40 years. His early years were spent at Broken Hill. Mr. Chandler came to Adelaide as timber mill manager for SA Salvage Coy. Ltd. He had a wide and practical knowledge of timber and its uses, and was always ready and willing to assist others with their building problems. Mr. Chandler leaves a widow and two sons and a daughter.
Mrs. Harriet Chandler, who died suddenly on November 30, was born at Truro, Cornwall, England, 74 years ago. She came to Australia in 1876, was married to Mr. Thomas Chandler in 1877, and lived in North Adelaide, Terowie, Jamestown, and Broken Hill. In the last mentioned place they lived for nearly 40 years, and 14 years ago came to Adelaide. The members of the family are—Mr. Charles Chandler, of the Silverton Tramway, Broken Hill; Mr. Claude Chandler, of the Salvage Company, Kent Town: Mrs. J. H. Williams, of 113 Cobalt-street, Broken Hill; Mrs. L. Richardson. St. Kilda Beach Hotel, Molong; and Mrs. C. Williams, of Gilbert-street. The eldest son, Ernest Chandler, died suddenly two years ago.
CHANY, Frederick Summerfield
News has been received of the death at Bournemouth (England), on July 24 of Mr. Frederick Summerfield Chany, well known for many years in business circles at Port Adelaide. Mr. Chany arrived in South Australia in 1890, having been sent out from London as legal manager of the English and Australian Copper Company, which at that time was smelting silver and lead at Port Adelaide. Later, he became general manager in Australia for the company, which position he retained until, in 1919, he had wound up the affairs of the company in Australia. He retired to Mount Barker, which he and Mrs. Chany loved, as so like the English scenery, until their return to England in 1920 where Mrs. Chanysoon afterwards died. Mr. Chany was a very keen bowler, and gave considerable assistanct in the early days of the South Park Club, when the members themselves erected their first buildings, and used his residence, adjacent on the terrace, as a depot. Mr. and Mrs. Chany had no family. He died in his 78th year.
CHAPMAN, Sarah died 27 September 1904
The death occurred at Leigh Lodge, Eighth-avenue, East Adelaide, on Tuesday, of Mrs. Arthur Chapman, after a serious
illness. The deceased lady was the elder daughter of the late Mr. John Bullock, who was one of South Australia's earliest
settlers. Her husband, Mr. Arthur Chapman, is well known in business circles in Adelaide.
CHAPPLE, Charles James Stracey died 05 January 1906
The death occurred at Prospect yesterday of Mr. Charles Chapple, a colonist of over 30 years, who was particularly well known on the Stock Exchanges of Adelaide and Broken Hill, and was also a familiar figure in mining circles in Victoria and Western Australia. The deceased acted as the original broker in connection with the flotation of the Broken Hill Proprietary Company. Born in Devonshire, he arrived in South Australia in 1863, and he managed a number of northern sheep stations. He removed to Silverton in 1883, and subsequently to Broken Hill, and at both these places he carried on a large agency and carrying business. He was appointed a life member of the Broken Hill Hospital in 1889. He left a widow.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
CHEESEMAN, Eleanor died 08 November 1925
Mrs E. Cheesman who resided in Ware Street, Kooringa, passed away somewhat unexpectedly on Sunday last. A few weeks ago the deceased lady fell and broke her arm, which knitted alright but the shook was evidently too much for a frail constitution. Mrs Cheesman who was 86 years of age has only been in Australia about three years and Kooringa about twelve months . Her previous home was in Dover. England, and in spite of her years with her daughter and grand-daughter they decided to come to Australia, finally coming here to reside. She was a typical English woman and wonderfully well preserved and but for the accident might have lived many years. Great sympathy is felt for her daughter and grand-daughter, Mrs and Miss Briskham in their bereavement, as although only recent arrivals they have made quite a number of friends.
CHICK, Alfred John died 11 March 1915
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST.
KOOLUNGA, March 16 - The death occurred on Thursday in the Adelaide Hospital of Mr. A. J. Chick, of this town, after a long and painful illness. He was in his 70th year, and was born in Geelong. When about 12 months old he came with his parents to reside at Golden Grove, S.A., where he spent the earlier part of his life. He was apprenticed to the bootmaking trade in Tea Tree Gully, and afterwards came to Koolunga, where he carried on business as bootmaker, for 38 years. He was one of the oldest settlers of this town and ranks also amongst the old colonists of the State. He was highly respected by all, and held many important positions. He was always willing to help in any movement in the interests of the welfare of the town. He left a widow, seven sons and five daughters.
CHIGWIDDEN, James Henry
Mr. Jams Henry Chigwidden, 84, who died recently, was born at Rhynie and later as a young man went to the Hawker district to take up land. He was married there in 1893. He was one of the original selectors in the Yongala Estate in 1900 and latter secured land in
Belalie. From there he moved to Belalie East and continued farming until 1933, when he retired to live in Jamestown. Surviving daughters are Mrs. R. J. Carter (Adelaide), Mrs: T. Slattery (Bundaleer). Mrs. L Slattery (Caltowie). Mr. Peter Chigwidden of Belalie is a son.
CHINNER, Mary died 04 October 1916
Mrs. Chinner, whose, death at South Parkside was announced in our obituary columns yesterday, was 74 years of age. She was the widow of Mr. G. W. Chinner, and a daughter of the late Mr. W. Edwards, her husband, who died 36 years ago, was a member of the firm of Parkin and Chinner, drapers, of Rundle-street. Mrs. Chinner was an active worker in connection with the Methodist Church and Sunday School at Brighton and Parkside. She left five sons-Messrs. -J. H., C.W., A.R., H.G., and A. F. Chinner, and a stepson, Mr. G. F. Chinner.
CHRISTIAN, Marie Hilda Hedwig died 19 July 1950
Mrs. Maria Hilda Hedwig Christian, of Freeling, who died suddenly at the residence of her daughter, Mrs. Harold Heinjus.
The Pinery, was born on October 4, 1886, the eldest daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. August Lienert of Sheaoak Log. On
October 1 1909, she was married to Mr. R. G. Christian. Surviving are her husband and their only child Gladys (Mrs. H. Heinjus), two grandchildren, four sisters and one brother.
CHRISTIE, Margaret died 30 October 1905
Mrs. Margaret Christie, who was in her 80th year, died at the residence of her son in-law (Captain P. Weir), Birkenhead, on Monday. She came to South Australia about 50 years ago, and had resided on the Birkenhead side of the Port River ever since. Her husband (Mr. William Christie) died about 15 years ago.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
CHUBB, James died 11 October 1890
Mr. James Chubb, who arrived in South Australia 38 years ago, passed over to the great majority on Thursday, aged 75 years.
He resided at Brompton for a number of years. and latterly at Brompton Park, where he died. He leaves a widow, six sons and daughters, and several grandchildren. His remains were interred in the Hindmarsh Cemetery on Saturday afternoon.
CLARK, Harry died 20 April 1930
Mr. Harry Clark, a well-known news agent, died at the age of 72 years at his residence, Sussex-street, Alberton, where he had lived for 21 years. He was born at Hull (Yorkshire) and was educated there, at Trinity School. After 12 years at sea he came to South Australia 48 years ago- Eight years ago he paid a visit to England. He was interested in football, and was a member of the Rosewater Bowling Club. He was twice married and left a widow and one son—Mr. Charles Clark, of Alberton, and one
daughter—Mrs. A. C. Ingerson, of Berri. There are six grandchildren.
CLARK, John died 26 October 1860
Advertiser 29th October, 1860
RIVERTON From our own Correspondent October 27.
On Thursday, the 25th instant, an inquest was held by Dr. Ward, J.P., at the house of one John Clark, residing near Saddleworth, who came by his death in the following manner :-The evidence proved that the deceased, with a friend, were cutting down a tree which had a fork resting on an old adjoining dead tree ; in its fall it twisted the dead tree in such a manner as to throw the deceased against a large stump, fracturing the skull most fearfully, and causing instant death. The Jury, after viewing the body, returned a verdict of accidental death. The deceased leaves a wife and young family to lament his loss.
CLARKE, Annie died 08 February 1903
February 9.-Much regret was felt here yesterday when it became known that Mrs.Clarke, wife of Mr. Robert C.Clarke, of the Locomotive Department, Mount Gambier, had died after a brief illness. The deceased was the second daughter of Mr. Robert Pick-ering, librarian at the Mount Gambier Institute, and was 27 years of age. The funeral took place this afternoon, the very Rev. Dean Ryan officiating.
Headstone Mount Gambier Lake Terrace Cemetery
CLARKE, Bertram Fiander
Mr. Bertram Fiander Clarke, 70 who died at his home, "The Horseshoe,' Reedy Creek, on July 1, was the eldest son of the late Mr. and Mrs. David Clarke, of "Moorhouse." He was born near Clarendon, to 1868. At an early age he travelled overland with, his parents to Kingston, where land was taken up. On the death of his father in 1894, he managed the Estate, and built his own home in 1902. He was married at Naracoorte to Miss Jessie Wilkins, who survives. There are two daughters—Mesdames J. G. Haggett, of Kingston, and W. W. Pinches, of Reeds Creek, and one small grand-daughter Two brothers and three sisters survive —Messrs, B. C. P. Clarke, Kingston; D. H. Clarke, Reedy Creek: Mesdames Amos Clarke, Mount Gambier; M. E Kelly, Kingston; and Miss E. L. Clarke Adelaide. For 30 years the deceased was a member of the Lacepede District Council. He was also local preacher and steward in the Methodist Church
CLARKE, John died 08 October 1901
An old colonist, Mr. John Clarke, died at his residence, St. Leonards, on Tuesday, at the age of 87 years, of paralysis after a
short illness. Mr. Clarke was born at Spratton, Northamptonshire, and came to South Australia in the ship Royal Charlie
in 1854. He followed his trade as a confectioner in Walkerville for seven years, but owing to falling health removed to
Glenelg, and had been a resident of the watering-place for the past 38 years. Prior to the Glenelg Baths being built he instituted bathing machines, which were quite a feature at the time. Mr. Clarke leaves a widow and daughter (Mrs. Dodd). The
remains were interred in the North Brighton Cemetery on Wednesday.
CLAYER nee GORDON, Adeline Mary died 04 November 1915
Tho death occurred on Thursday of Mrs. Arthur Stinson Clayer, of the Grange, after a short illness. Mrs. Claver, who was the eldest daughter of Mr. J. S. Gordon, of Croydon, formerly of Riverton, was 34 years of age. She was a prominent member of the St. Agnes Anglican Church choir and the Grange Choral Society, and by her death the district has lost a valuable worker in connection with the patriotic funds.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
CLAYER, Alfred Joseph died 07 March 1901
Mr. Alfred J. Clayer, late station master at Woodville, died at his residence Railway terrace, Woodville, on Thursday, after a long and painful illness. Mr. Clayer had for many years been connected with the railway service. Prior to his removal to the Woodville station he for a long time was station master at Farrells Flat. A widow and grown-up family survive him.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
CLAYTON, James Albert died 04 March 1948
Mr. James Albert Clayton, who died at the Hamley Bridge Memorial Hospital recently after a long and severe illness, was the fourth son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Charles Clayton, of Stockport. He was born at Giles Corner. SA, in1888. and went to Stockport with his
parents in 1903. In 1920 he married Miss Rosa Waite of Adelaide. He served in the first AIF overseas for three years and has left two sons—Messrs. Graham and Neil Clayton, and two grandchildren.
CLAYTON, Olive Elenore died 03 June 1949
Mrs. Olive Elenore Clayton, wife or Mr. H. Clayton, of Stockport, died in the Riverton Memorial Hospital at the age of 52 after an illness lasting more than two years. She was the daughter of Mr. Wilhelm Arnold, now aged 80, and the late Mrs. Arnold, and lived in Stockport all her life. She was a good worker for the Methodist Church and Sunday school and the Red Cross. She is survived by her husband, one daughter (Miss Rita Clayton), and two sons. Messrs. Albert and Percival Clayton.
CLEMENTS, Elizabeth died 05 May 1931
Mrs. J. Clements, who died at Magill yesterday, was 94 years of age. Born at Langdon Hills, Essex, she arrived in Australia 65 years ago. Formerly Miss Hales, she was married in 1876. Before residing at Magill, she lived at Gawler and Glenelg. She was a prominent church and temperance worker. Mr. Clements survives.
CLEMENTS, Henrietta died 03 May 1952
Mrs. H. Clements, who died at Arno Bay at the age of 83, was born in London, and came to South Australia in tne sailing ship Harbinger 11 years ago. With her parents she settled at Kingston where her father the late Charles Crump, was clerk of the district council She married the late Mr M C Clements at Thebarton and first resided at Lochiel. In 1904 they moved to the Tumby Bay district, then to Port Lincoln, and in 1911 to Arno Bay Mrs. Clements is survived by her six sons and one daughter Mrs Hazel wood (Prospect) Roy (Kimba) Cyril (Plympton) Murray (Prospect). Vincent (Port Lincoln), and Hector and Neil (Arno Bay).
Headstone Arno Bay Cemetery
COCK, Robert 25 May 1801 - 23 March 1871
In December 1837, Robert led a party of William Finlayson, A. Wyatt and G. Barton to explore the country between Adelaide and Lake Alexandrina. Leaving Adelaide on 25 December, they became the first Europeans to climb Mount Barker (although there was a plausible counter-claim by Sir John Morphett). They crossed and named the Hindmarsh and the Angas rivers, arriving at Lake Alexandrina on 31 December. (The Hindmarsh was subsequently renamed the Bremer). In his journal, Robert noted the suitability of the region for wine growing. (He is occasionally cited as being the first to identify the Adelaide Hills as suitable for wine growing e.g. Pike). There is a memorial cairn to the explorers in Bridgewater, near the Bridgewater Mill site. Coxs creek (originally Cock's creek) was named after Robert Cock.
In June 1838, Robert discovered a carriage route through the Adelaide Hills, which opened up communication between Adelaide and the Mt. Barker region.
In August 1838, Robert Cock along with Edward Eyre and Bewes Strangeways travelled back to Mount Barker to meet the celebrated explorer Charles Sturt, who had driven stock from New South Wales to Adelaide.
In December 1838, Robert and the surgeon, R. G. Jameson, conducted a survey of the east coast of Yorke Peninsula. They concluded “if we could have found a fresh water river, we would have found it a good country for the maintenance of flocks and herds. From the numerous native population it is obvious that there is no scarcity of fresh water, although we could not find it.”
In May 1839, Robert explored the Port Vincent area in conjunction with James Hughes.
In June 1839, Robert led a party on the schooner “Victoria”, captained by Captain Hutchinson. They explored Spencer Gulf, following the western shores of theYorke Peninsula and the coast of the Eyre Peninsula as far as Port Lincoln. “Water can be had at from ten to twenty feet from the surface. In all probability the peninsula will in time be a great agricultural district.”also demonstrated concern for the welfare of the aboriginal population: "... Robert Cock was deeply disturbed to find that local authorities still had no intention of honouring a commitment made while still in Britain to set aside one fifth of all land to provide a fund for aboriginal welfare. Having bought land in Adelaide he felt morally obliged to pay interest on one-fifth of the purchase price. 'I felt it my duty', he informed the local Protector of Aboriginies in 1838, 'to pay to the proper authorities for the use of the natives this yearly rent'. He denied that the money was a donation but 'a just claim that the natives of this district have on me as an occupier of those lands'.
On another occasion he intervened in a dispute between the aborigines and the settlers to prevent violence, reminding the settlers that the law was for protection of all
After several years as a land agent, Robert took up farming, first at Balhannah in the Adelaide hills and later in Mount Gambier, where he was one of the original residents. Later on, he opened up a brewery in Mount Gambier.
Robert died in Mount Gambier in 1871, where he is buried in the Pioneers cemetery.
COCKER, Henry Cleveland died 28 May 1904
Mr. H. C. Cocker, of Cockburn, who died recently in Adelaide, had (says the Barrier Miner) been a resident of Cockburn since the early days. He was the discoverer of the Trinity copper mine, near Mutooroo.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
COCKER, John Selby died 14 April 1901
THE LATE MR. J. S. COCKER.
Mr. John Selby Cocker, whose death was reported a few days ago, was a well-known old colonist, and at the time of his death was proprietor of the Kentish Arms Hotel, North Adelaide. The deceased gentleman arrived in South Australia with his father in the year 1846 in the ship Hooghly. He was then 2 years of age. His early life in the State was spent in the Government service, he being a member of the first party dispatched to the Northern Territory to construct the Transcontinental telegraph line. Mr. Cocker was to have returned to South Australia by the ill-fated steamer Gothenburg, but fortunately just missed the doomed vessel by a few hours. On returning to Adelaide he followed the pursuit of a baker with success. His father then becoming too aged to attend to the business of the old Kentish Arms Hotel, the son took it up, and built the fine structure which stands at the same comer in Stanley street. He was one of the pioneers of the United Tradesmen's Cricket Club, formed in 1861, and, like his father, was an enthusiastic supporter of the game. Although not a prominent public man he was on several occasions requested to become a candidate for the City Council, but he preferred not to seek the honour. Mr. Cocker was one of the four original proprietors of the now well-known Walkerville Co-operative Brewing Company, and his sound advice did much to place the company in its present position. The deceased gentleman was held in great esteem by a large number of friends, by whom the news of his death was received with deep regret.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
COFFEY, John died 14 October 1908
COFFEY, Mary died 12 July 1941
Mrs. Mary Coffey, who died recently at Maitland, at 87, arrived with her husband the late Peter Coffey, in Australia from Ireland, 66 years ago and went to Maitland, where she had since resided. Her husband predeceased her 24 years ago. Of a family of 16 children, the following survive: - Messrs. J Coffey (Kadina), P.J. Coffey (Edillilie), Mrs. W Roberts (Kent Town), Mrs. W Mrs. T Lathlean (Moonta), Mrs. R Man (Maylands), Mrs. W Johinke (Maitland) and Misses A and C Coffey (Maitland). There are 37 grandchildren and 12 great-grandchildren
Headstone Maitland Cemetery
COLBERT, Sarah Ann died 26 October 1942
Mrs. Sarah Ann Colbert. 83, who died at Kapunda recently, was born at Bagot Gap, and was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Edward Fudge. When 24 years old she married Mr. James Colbert, and went to live at Florieton. They returned to Kapunda in 1902, where Mr. Colbert died in 1921. One son and three daughters survive. Two sons were killed in the last war.
COLE, Arthur Ronald Stanley
Arthur Ronald Stanley Cole, 27, who died recently at Riverton, was the youngest son of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Cole, of Riverton. He was
first employed at Taylor Bros. creamery at Riverton as grader and tester and was later transferred to their head factory at Gawler until
he joined the RAAF. Going to England via America, he saw two years' service with the 466 th Bomber Squadron, in which he did 40 operational flights over Germany, France and Beleium. He was promoted to the rank of Flying Officer.
COLE, Harry Jessop
Mr. Harry Jessop Cole, while on a visit to Melbourne recently, died suddenly at his daughter's residence. Born at Kapunda in 1876, he was educated at PAC and was a cricket enthusiast. Before the age of seven years, he was the organist of a Sunday school at Freeling and for 30 years organist and choirmaster of the Parkside West Methodist Church. Before his retirement from the railways service he held the position of paymaster, and at the time of his death was a member of the Retired Railwaymen's Social Club. He leaves a widow, one daughter (Mrs. G. Brown, of Hawthorn. Vic.) and one son (Mr. N. Cole, of Parkside).
COLLINS, Catherine died 18 July 1932
Great sympathy was expressed for Mr. John Collins and family of Collinsville station when the news came through on Monday morning that Mrs Collins had passed away after a comparatively shoet but severe illness, heart trouble being the cause of her death. It was only on the 16th July last that Mr. and Mrs Collins celebrated the anniversary of their golden wedding and although never of a too robust nature, Mrs. Collins who was only 69 years of age, was able to enter into the happy reunion the day occasioned, surrounded by many members of her family besides other relatives. The deceased lady before her marriage to Mr. Collins in 1882 resided in Aberdeen with her parents, the late Mr. and Mrs. Fred Simpson. She was the elder daughter, her other sister being Mrs. A. A. Jefferies of Mt Bryan. Until her marriage she was closely identified with the Redruth Wesleyan Church and afterwards at the home which they then made at Collinsville church services were regularly conducted. Mrs. Collins' death will cause a great blank at Collinsville as apart from the severe loss to the family circle she as a hostess to the many visitors and callers to their beautiful station home, will be greatly missed. Besides the bereaved husband whom we regret to state is very seriously ill, a family of six sons and one daughter survive, Messrs Horace C. J. Collins, of Terowie; Fred H. Collins, Inman Valley; Melvin Collins, Sth. Africa; P. Newton Collins, Booborowie; Arthur L. Collins, Mt. Bryan; Lindsay G Collins, Collinsville, and Mrs. G. McBryan. A son, Mr. Bert Collins, died in 1916 and one daughter, Hilda, in 1930. There are seven grandchildren. The funeral took place at Kooringa on Tues. afternoon and was largely attended, friends coming from Terowie Hallett, Mt. Bryan East and Mt. Bryan besides Burra and district. The service was conducted by the Rev. G. F. Johnston, of Terowie, of which circuit Collinsville forms a part. The bearers were Messrs Sam Hanlin, Arthur and Archie Dearlove, Frank Harris, D. B. Simpson
Headstone Burra Cemetery
COLLINS, Reuben died 09 June 1908
Mr. Reuben Collins, who died at his residence, New Thebarton, on Tuesday, had been huntsman in charge of the hounds of
the Adelaide Hunt Club for the last 28 years. He was 54 years of age, was a fine horseman, and had won the esteem of followers of the hounds. He left a widow and family.
COLLINS, William Patrick died 01 March 1926
Mr W. P. Collins whose death occurred at the Burra Hospital on March 1st last, was on old, well known, and highly respected resident of the Burra district having resided here for the last 50 years. Born at Hope Valley, South Aus., in 1852 he spent his early years in that district but at the age of 24 came to the Gum Creek district where for many years he worked for the Hon. J. J. Duncan and later took up land for himself. He never at any time took an interest in public matters but anything pertaining to the district's welfare had his support. Up to within a month ago Mr Collins enjoyed fair health but was stricken down and removed to the Burra Hospital for treatment but from the first his recovery was doubtful. He leaves a widow (nee Miss Jane Gould), six sons, Messrs William H. Collins, Booborowie ; Sidney H. ; Robert K. : Gilbert L. ; . Murray P. ; and John L. Collins, Gum, Creek and two daughters Misses M. I. Collins and Vera G. Collins. Three sons of Mr Collins' served in the recent war, one son Pte Walter Collins, was killed in action. The funeral took place at Kooringa on Tuesday afternoon when the Rev. F. B. Hewitson conducted the service and Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son the funeral arrangements.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
COLTON, Frank S
News of the death of Dr. Frank S. Colton was received in Adelaide by cable-gram on Friday night last. Dr. Colton was the youngest son of the late Sir John and Lady Colton. He was born at Hackney, Adelaide, on May 25, 1865, and was educated at Prince Alfred College. In 1883 he went to England to qualify for the medical profession, and studied at the University College Hospital, London. He obtained the degrees of M.R.C.S. and L.R.C.P., and subsequently spent some time as locum tenens and in hospital work in England before settling in London, where he continued the practice of his profession until within a few weeks of his death. Four or five months ago he had a severe attack of influenza, followed by pleurisy, from which he never completely .recovered. Dr. Colton leaves a widow, but no family. The death of Dr. Colton removes the last of a trio of South. Australians who went home to study medicine about the same time, and who were fast friends in England. Dr. Helder, a brother of Sir Frederick Holder, while still studying in the London University, started on a holiday trip for Japan in the steamer Tsian, after taking the degree of M.D. and was drowned. Dr. Cotton, a son of the late Hon. G. W. Cotton, after taking his degree spent some years in practice, and died a few years ago leaving Dr. Colton as the survivor of the three friends. The announcement of the death of Dr. Colton at so early an age will be received with great regret throughout the State.
COLTON, John died 06 February 1902
The funeral of the late Sir John Colton will take place this afternoon. The cortege will leave the late residence of the deceased gentleman, Hackney, at 3 o'clock, for the West-terrace Cemetery. A memorial service will be held at the Pirie-street Wesleyan Church at half-past 3 o'clock, when the Rev. J. Cowperthwaite, assisted by the president of the Methodist Conference (Rev. T. Piper), the Revs. T. Lloyd and R. S. Casely, and other ministers, will conduct the service. Space has been reserved for friends of the deceased and representatives of public bodies and institutes.
The late Sir John Colton was elected as vice-president of the-Old Colonist Association, at the first meeting held on January 11, 1883, and very rarely' missed a meeting. He was exceedingly sympathetic and always had some names to submit for relief.
CONDON, Margaret died 03 December 1905
Mrs. John Condon, of North-terrace, who died on December 3, was born at Newmarket, County Cork, Ireland, and arrived
with her husband in this State on January 3, 1852, in the ship Tancred. She visited her native land and the United States in
1886. The deceased lady left three sons, three daughters, and seven grandchildren.
CONGDON, William died 20 September 1949
Mr. William Congdon, who died recently at Wasleys, had lived in the district all his life. He was educated at Roseworthy College and was a builder and contractor until his retirement a few years ago. His wife died in 1940. He leaves two sons. Messrs. P. Congdon (Wasleys) and R. Congdon (Nailsworth).
CONLIN, Malachi Sylvester
Mr. Malachi Sylvester Conlin, who died recently at Unley, aged 75, was born at Bull's Creek, and came from an old pioneer family. His grandfather Malachi Conlin, arrived in 1836 and was amongst the first settlers at Bull's Creek. Mr. Conlin was educated at Meadows and Strathalbyn. As a youth he joined the Survey Department under the late Surveyor-General Mr. Goyder. He was well known among the miners and prospectors of Tarcoola He has left a widow and the following sisters:—Mesdasmes J. Dillon of
Struan: P Farrel of Meadows, P Vander Lee of West Coast: B Hoobin, N Elliot, and C. Davies of Adelaide.
The Register (Adelaide, SA : 1901 - 1929) Monday 13 September 1920
The late Lieut, and Quartermaster George Connell, of Robsart street. Park side, served (for 27 years in the Imperial Army, and 'was for 2 years on the staff of the Commonwealth Military Forces. While with the 15th Regiment (East. York Riding) he volunteered for the Crimean War, but on account of his youth was rejected. Having volunteered a second time, he was accepted, but although he embarked with troops for the Crimea they were -landed at Gibraltar. The deceased .gentleman served in American. at the time of the American Civil War. During the Boer War he acted as camp quartermaster, and will be remembered by most of the men who .enlisted in this State, and especially by the members of the Bushmens' Contingent. A member of a family which had long been -connected with the army, he was born in Ireland. His only brother -won the decoration of the French Legion of Honour Mrs. Connell died 13 years ago, but a family survives :Lieut. G. V. Connell (S.A. Military Reserve), Capt. H. A. Connell (Australian Pay Corps), Mr. W. J Connell 'Melbourne, late sergeant of the A.I.F.), Sister Mary Winifred and Sister Mary Mercy (Convent of Mercy), and Miss Annie Connell (Parkside). Another son Lieut Charles John Connell, served in the South African campaign, and died in South Africa.
CONNOR, George died 25 September 1941
Mr. George Connor, who died at Kangarilla recently, has been a resident of the district all his married life. After his marriage to
Amanda, only daughter of Mrs. and the late Mr. William Thorpe, he took up land adjoining that of Messrs. Sauerbier. near Wickham's
Hill. He was always interested in Agricultural Bureau work, and an exhibitor at the district shows. An expert veterinary doctor, his ad
vice was much sought after in the district. The death of Mr. Laffer gave him an opportunity to enter Parliament, and his knowledge of
dairying gave him the needed support of the Dairyman's Association. He entered Parliament as an Independent. At the general elec
tion he defeated Sir Herbert Hudd as representative for Alexandra, and continued in office until the recent elections, when his health
made him decide not to seek re election. A widow, one son. and two daughters survive.
CONROY, John died 11 July 1904
Mr. John Conroy, the oldest employee in the Hindmarsh Corporation, died at First street, Brompton, on Monday. He was
63 years of age, had been a colonist 45 years, and for nearly 30 years was in the service of the Hindmarsh Corporation.
CONROY, John James died 01 May 1931
Mr. John James Conroy, who died at the residence of his sister, Mrs. E. Kay, Bennett-street, West Thebarton, yesterday, at the age of 77, was well known in the western suburbs. Born in County Galway, Ireland, he arrived at Port Adelaide 73 years ago with his parents in the ship Nugget. He was employed at the old gasworks, near the Squatters' Arms, Thebarton, and later worked in the waterworks and engineering departments. He kept a boarding-house for the employes on the construction of the Hills railway, and was later engaged on the South Eastern drainage works, and in the construction of the Happy Valley reservoir.
CONRY, Henry died 14 January 1902
The death or Mr. Henry Conry, at the age of 75 years, after a long and painful illness, took place on January 14 at his residence, Kensington. The deceased arrived in South Australia in 1853. He was for some years in the employ of Messrs.
McNicol and Young, drapers, of King William-street, and afterwards was with the late Mr. Luke Murphy, auctioneer, Hindley-street. He was well known and much respected in business circles. The deceased gentleman leaves a widow and a number of children and great-grand-children.
COOK, George Frederick died 28 February 1903
An old resident of Kensington, Mr. George Cook, died last Saturday. He was a native of Tasmania, and one of the party which erected the telegraph-line to the Northern Territory, under the personal direction of Sir Charles Todd. He had been employed by Messrs. Cowell Bros, for 23 years.
COOK, Mary Ann died 29 May 1931
Advertiser and Register (Adelaide, SA : 1931), Tuesday 9 June 1931, page 8
Mrs. Mary A. Cook, an old resident of Mount Barker, died in Adelaide a few days ago at the age of 69. Mrs.Cook, who was a daughter of the late Mr. John O'Connor, was born at Mount Barker, and with the exception of three years spent at Glenelg, had lived in that town all her life. Her husband, the late Mr. John Cook, died nine years ago. He was foreman printer of the "Mount Barker Courier." with which paper he was connected for 49 years. The late Mrs. Cook was associated with most of the local philanthropic movements; she took a lively interest in matters connected with the Mount Barker Presbyterian Church, and spent much of her time in her garden. She had always enjoyed good health, and was only ill a week before her death.
She has left four sons—Messrs. Harvey J. Cook, a past president of the S.A. Commercial Travellers Association, of Fullarton; Lee and Frank Cook, of Torrens Park, and Neil Cook, of Glenelg and seven grandchildren.
COOMBE, Edward died 15 December 1925
Mr. Edward Coombe (51) of LeHunte street, Prospect, was admitted to the Adelaide Hospital on Tuesday morning and died shortly after admission. He was a South African war veteran, and his also took park in the Great War. He leaves a widow and six children, the eldest being 15 years of age.
COOMBE, Elizabeth died 06 November 1901
Mrs. Coombe, wife of Mr. E. Coombe, of Willaston, died at her residence on Wednesday morning. The deceased lady came
to South Australia in 1851, and had reached the age of 82. For the last four or five years the had been afflicted with blindness. Mr. E. H. Coombe. M.P., of Gawler, and Air. Thomas Coombe, of Willaston, are sons of the deceased.
COOMBS, T H
Private T. H. Coombs was a son of Mr. and Mrs. T. Coombs, of Blackwood. Private Coombs, who was the first to enlist from the Blackwood district, died on Gallipoli.
COOPER, Elizabeth Ann died 17 August 1928
Mrs. Cooper, an old and much respected resident, of Renmark, died there on August 16. She left England at the age of 16 in 1873, and went to New Zealand. There she married Mr. Joseph Cooper, who was employed in a bank at Christ
church. With her husband she left for South Australia in 1883, and for a number of years Mr. Cooper was overseer of Parcoola Station, near Overland Corner, subsequently taking up the land in the district and having control of the mail
change depot at that place. About 35 years ago Mr. and Mrs. Cooper went to Renmark and for a couple of years Mr. Cooper was in the butchering business with Mr. H. Hale. Subsequently he took up 20 acres of horticultural land in Tarcoola-street, Renmark, and also held about 10,000 acres of grazing country in the neighbourhood of Deandy dam on the border. Mr. Cooper died in 1907, and Mrs. Cooper had lived on the holding ever since. She was kindly and hospitable, and endeared herself to a large circle of friends.
Headstone Renmark Cemetery Old Section
COOPER, Francis Thomas died 02 May 1944
Mr. Frank T. Cooper, 58, chairman of directors of Cooper and Sons, Ltd, brewers, died in his sleep at the Renmark Hotel on Monday night. He had been competing in the bowls carnival at Renmark. Mr. Cooper was connected with the firm of Cooper and Sons for about 35 years. He was a member of the Marryatville Bowling Club for 25 years, and was trustee, treasurer, and green master. He was prominent as a player, and on occasions represented the State. He has left two sons and two daughters—Lt-Col G. D.. T. Cooper, 2nd AIF, C. L. Cooper, RANVR, and Mesdames J. Williams and H. M. Seppelt, of Seppeltefield.
COOPER, Sidney Alexander died 27 September 1928
Mr. Sydney Alexander Cooper of Newstead died at a private hospital on Thursday. He was operated on for appendicitis a few weeks ago, and the news of his death, at a comparatively early age, will come as a shock to his many friends. Mr. Cooper was born in Hindley Street 49 years ago, and was the son of Mr. John Cooper a Chemist of Sturt Street. He received his education at Way College and the Adelaide University, where he gained a diploma in pharmaceutical chemisty. He was the professor of a beautiful tenor voice and as a singer was well known in Australia and abroad. For eleven years he toured with Mr. Peter Dawson. The two singers had been boys together. He also at one time undertook a tour with Dame Nellie Melba. Mr. Cooper was a foundation member of the Tranmere Masonic Lodge, and last year was master. He was greatly interested in all sport, especially lawn bowls. For a term he was president of the Club. He leaves a widow and two little daughters, also a brother and three sisters - Mr. Ernest Cooper, of Magill Road, Norwood; Mrs. M Henderson, of Hyde Park; and Misses E and M Cooper of Ward Street, North Adelaide.
COOPER, William Henry died 30 April 1931
Mr. W. H. Cooper, of Flinders-street, Kent Town, died on April 30. He was born in Adelaide and was 76 years of age. During 40 years he was employed at the Adelaide City Baths, where be was chief shampooer. He was an expert in his profession, and, in addition to being very popular with local patrons, had won enconiums from travellers from abroad who visited the Turkish baths for his outstanding ability and skill in his work. Mr.Cooper was a most proficient swimmer and was an ideal exponent of the breast stroke. On one occasion he rescued from the baths a man, who, fully clothed and unable to swim, had thrown himself into the deepest part of the water. Hearing the splash Mr. Cooper, who was having his dinner in another part of the building, rushed into the pool enclosure, and, plunging into the bath, saved the man from drowning. Although the deceased was accustomed to working in the Turkish bath department, in a temperature of 120 deg. for the greater portion of each day, he maintained remarkable stamina to the last.
COOPER, William Tomsey died 09 February 1904
The many friends of the late Mr. William Tomsey Cooper will learn with regret of his decease, winch took place at the residence of his son-in-law, Mr. R, J. Lavis, Park-terrace, Parkside, on Tuesday evening at the age of 78 years. The late
Mr. Cooper was one of the oldest and most highly-respected officers connected with the Civil Service of this State. Born in London on October 20, 1826, he arrived in South Australia on the 2nd of October, 1853, and in the following December received an appointment in the department of the private secretary of the Governor, Sir H. E. Young. He remained in this
position until December, 1860, when he was appointed to the Waterworks Department, in a measure through the personal interest shown in him by Sir Richard MacDonnell. One of Mr. Cooper's most highly-prized possessions was the following letter which he received from Sir Richard:- Sir Richard MacDonnell, in accepting Mr. Cooper's resignation of' the appointment which he has so long held at Government House, congratulates him upon his promotion to a sphere of duty better suited to his abilities and taste. At 'the same time, Sir Richard cannot but feel personally much regret at losing Mr. Cooper's valuable services, to which he shall always be happy to bear testimony, whilst it will likewise afford him great pleasure to learn that he can at any future period promote Mr. Cooper's interest in any way. In the meantime, Sir Richard begs Mr. Cooper to accept the accompanying tea service as a slight token of his esteem and his sense of Mr. Cooper's zeal and long and faithful services. Government House, Adelaide. December 16, 1860."
In 1870 Mr. Cooper temporarily held office as assistant accountant in the Waterworks Department, and from July I, J878 until
May, 1902, he-occupied the important position of valuator for that department. As an indication of the marked increase m the area supplied by the Government water mains it is interesting to note that the number of assessments made by Mr. Cooper in 1873 was 11,500, while in 1902 the number (exclusive of the Adelaide and Port Adelaide districts), had increased to , 65,000. During the 50 years that he was connected with the Public Service it can be truly said that the late Mr. Cooper was most painstaking and conscientious in the fulfilment of his public duties, and by his fairness to property-holders and his courteous manner he gained the confidence and esteem of his fellow-colonists throughout the State. In 1902 he visited England after an absence of 49 years, and also toured the Continent, America, and New Zealand. Mr. Cooper was married in 1859, and Mrs. Cooper died in 1901. The family consists of Dr. C. T, Cooper (of Norwood), Mrs. J. W. Cowell Mrs. R. J. Lavis, and Mrs. Stow Smith.
CORBET, Alfred Henry died 15 April 1948
Alfred Henry Corbet, who died on April 15 at the age of 81 years, was born in London. He came to Australia in the Oriana in 1885. and made five voyages overseas, his last In the Albany in 1891. In 1905 he opened the Lockleys Post Office and store and was there for 18 years. His wife died in 1933. He leaves two daughters. Mrs. E. Shearing and Mrs. K. Knight.
CORCORAN, Ann died 18 January 1907
Mrs. Ann Corcoran, who had resided at Hindmarsh nearly 52 years, died on Friday night in her 93rd year. Although so advanced in years she was fairly active, and her memory was so good that she could recall incidents in the time of her childhood. She was born in County Meath, Ireland, and with her husband arrived in this State in the South Sea in 1855. Her husband (Mr. Bartholomew Corcoran) died 28 years ago. During the latter period of her life Mrs. Corcoran had lived with one of her granddaughters (Mrs. Christopher Carroll) in Manton-street, Hindmarsh. She had a family of 12, but only three are living-Mr. Michael Corcoran (Unley), Mrs. M. Malone (Bowden), and Mrs. George Gubbins, of North Melbourne, Victoria.
CORCORAN, Susannah died 14 September 1936
Mrs. Matt. Corcoran. 72 an old resident of Terowie. who died recently was the second oldest daughter of James and Katherine Blackwell of Port Adelaide. In 1836 she was married to Mr. Matt Corcoran, and went to live at Terowie. Her husband survives her
and three sons and three daughters, Messrs. M. J. Corcoran. Western Australia: T. W. Corcoran. Terowie; J. Corcoran. Terowie: Mesdames J. B Corcoran. Canowie Belt; D. J. O'Dea, Gawler: T. W. Parsons. Broken Hill; also one sister. Mrs. W. A. Weltshire,
Semaphore. There are 14 grandchildren.
CORNISH, William died 02 October 1904
October 4. Mr. W. Cornish died on Sunday at the age of 70. He was born, in England in 1834, and arrived in South Australia six years later. For over 60 years he had lived in this district) and was a prominent member of the branch Agricultural Bureau, and also a district councillor. In addition, be had been one of the chief supporters of the Solem Baptist Church for nearly half a century. A valedictory, social was tendered to him at that church in February last, just before he left South Australia with his wife for a trip to England. They returned three weeks ago, Mr. Cornish being in ill-health at the time, land his death was not unexpected. Besides his widow he left four sons and five daughters, namely:-Mr. 15. Cornish, of Forreston; Mr. W. H. Cornish, of Forreston; Mr. H. V. Cornish, of Kenton Valley; Mr. A. E. Cornish, of Gumeracha; Mrs. W. Jamieson, of Forreston; Mrs. J. Billingslev, of I Gumeracha; Mrs. E. A. Theil, of Blumberg; Mrs. A. Cornish; of Gumeracha and Miss Cornish, of Gumeracha.
Headstone Gumeracha Salem Baptist Church Cemetery
COTTON, Elizabeth died 27 December 1901
The death is announced, at the age of 69 years of Mrs. Elizabeth Cotton, relict of the late Hon. G. W. Cotton, who died
just nine years ago. The deceased lady was ill for about two years. She had nine children, of whom Mrs. W. B. Chinner and
Messrs. G. S., C. H., and E. W. Cotton survive.
COURTNEY, William died 03 May 1945
cycle club activities in South Australia. Mr. Courtney helped to form the Motor Cycle Club of SA. He was a contestant in the Adelaide-Sydney trial in 1911. riding the Coorong section with Mr. A. Moyle. and in 1914 he gained full points in the Adelaide-Melbourne
trial. He was some time ago manager of the Lewis Cycle Works. He leaves a widow and two sons.
COWARD, Edward died 24 December 1861
Sudden Death.-On Tuesday, December 24, Edward Coward, a shepherd in the employ of Mr. Rogers, Yorke's Peninsula, arrived in the schooner Omeo, en route to the Adelaide Hospital, being very ill. On placing him in a cart he was observed to be much
worse. Dr. Duncan being called he was taken to the Port Police Station, at 9 45 a.m., where he lingered until noon and then died. It appears he had only recently left the Port, having spent all his means, and had been about three weeks employed at an our station.
COWLAND, Richard died 05 November 1935
Mr. Richard Cowland who died in the Adelaide Hospital on November 5, was a resident of Morgan for 17 years. He was a son of the late Edward and Elizabeth Cowland, of Towitta, and was born 66 years ago. He was married in 1891 to Elizabeth, daughter of
the late Edward and Kathleen Baker, of Towitta. For several years he was the manager of Baldon station at Truro for Mr. McLean. Two sons, Jack and Horace, died at the Great War and one son, Allen, was accidentally killed on the station at Truro. Mr. Cowland
carried on a mixed farm at Morgan. He leaves a widow and two sons Percy and James and one daughter Kathleen, all of Morgan.
COWPER, Charles Robert
Mr. Charles Robert Cowper, a prominent official of the Bank of Australasia, who died at Coogee, New South Wales, on the 9th August, was closely identified with Burra in his youth. He was born at Kapunda and when quite young came with his parents to reside near Burra, his father being one the early settlers on the eastern country. He was educated at Mr. Stanton's school,
Kooringa, and first entered the Bank of Australasia at Kooringa in 1870. Since then he made good progress through various grades at places in many parts of the Commonwealth and New Zealand, finally reaching the top of the tree being Superintendent at Melbourne when he retired in 1910. A brother of Mr. Cowper's married Miss Marion Young, a sister of Mrs. W. P. Barker late of Baldina.
COX, Alfred Augustus died 17 January 1904
Mr. A. A. Cox died at his residence, Ovingham, on Sunday evening, at the age of 32 years. Mr. Cox entered the service of the Locomotive Department of the South Australian Railways in March, 1887, and at the time of his death was a time-keeper at Islington. Some years ago he was transferred to the district locomotive superintendent's office at Petersburg, where he remained until 1901, but owing to failing health, having contracted a pulmonary complaint, he was brought back to Islington. The change, unfortunately, however, did not prove beneficial. Mr. Cox was held in high esteem by his fellow officers and a large circle of friends. He left a widow and two children.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
COX, Annie died 16 November 1902
Mrs. Cox, who died at Rose Park on Sunday, November 16, arrived in South Australia with her husband, the late Mr. C.
Cox, of Gawler, in 1856, by the ship Hastings. Mr. and Mrs. Cox took up their residence at Gawler in the year of their arrival,
and on the death of the former, in 1881, Mrs. Cox removed with her family to Adelaide,, where she remained till her death.
The deceased was 73 years of age, and leaves a family of seven, Messrs. W. H., R. C, W., C. J.,;A. and F. I. Cox, Mrs. S. J. Skipper,
and twelve grandchildren.
COX, Fanny died 29 March 1928
On March 29th another very old resident, Mrs. E. Cox,, of Aberdeen, passed away after a very short illness.
The deceased lady was born at Herefordshire, England, on October 10th '1850, and when ten years, of age with her mother and the rest of the family left for Australia in the sailing ship "Coldstream" taking 16 weeks to do the voyage. Mrs. Howse and her children came direct to Kooringa, where they made a permanent home. After leaving school Miss Fanny Howse was a dressmaker and in 1883 married Mr. Edward Cox, saddler, of Redruth, a native of Burra. The deceased lady was essentially, a home woman and of a most kindly disposition Mr. Cox died in 1906. She had a family of eight children, seven of whom survive, Mr. Herbert. Cox Redruth; Mrs. E. Bennetts and Mr. Jack Cox, both of .Adelaide: Clement killed in action in France; Mesdames I. Sampson, Broken Hill; S. French; B. Attenborough and R. Oates all of Adelaide, 19 grandchildren and five great grandchildren. Mrs. George Parks of Pt Pirie is her only surviving sister.
COX, Mr. & Mrs. Joseph (golden wedding anniversary)
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Cox, formerly of Mount Gambier, celebrated their golden wedding on Saturday last. They arrived in Port Adelaide on New Years' Day 1867, after a voyage of 92 days in the ship Canterbury. They went to Mount Gambier the same month, and shortly afterwards Mr. Cox left for Millicent with a survey party. When they arrived in Mount Gambier they had two sons, and were accompanied by their niece (now Mrs. t Bishop of Mount Gambier). Three children, Alfred, Daniel and Lena were born in Mount Gambier, where Mrs. Cox and her children remained for 10 years while her husband was at Millicent. All of the family are living, and there are five grandchildren. About 30 years ago Mr. and Mrs. Cox left Mount Gambier for Gippsland, and 13 years later made a pleasure trip to England and Scotland. After relinquishing farming at Gippsland they took up their residence in Melbourne. Mr. and Mrs. Cox recently paid an extended visit to Mount Gambier.
COX, Mary died 20 September 1904
By the death of Mrs. Mary Cox, widow of Mr. Edwin Cox, which occurred at her residence Childers-street, North Adelaide,
South Australia has lost another old colonist. Mrs. Cox, who was in her eighty-first year, was a native of Gloucestershire, England. She arrived in this State by the ship Eliza in 1840, and was married at Trinity Church in 1841. Her father, who also born the name of Cox, was one of the early contractors Of the city, and amongst the buildings he constructed is the present Police Court, which did duty as Supreme Court for many years. He also erected the Colonel Light monument. Mrs. Cox had been a prominent member of the Tynte-street Baptist Church, and had taken an interest in philanthrophic institutions and charitable movements of all kinds. She left a son (Councillor Cox) and two daughters (Misses Mary and Martha Cox).
COX, William died 21 March 1901
DEATH OF MR. WILLIAM COX
An old colonist, Mr. William Cox died at his residence, Hampstead-road, on Tuesday night. The deceased gentleman, who had attained the advanced age of 80, arrived at Kangaroo Island with his parents on August 1, 1838, by the Duke of Rockoborough. Shortly afterwards he removed to the mainland, where, after working for a while for his father as a dairyman, he subsequently was engaged by Colonel Light, for whom he carted water and did other work. When 25 years of age he married Miss Eliza Hobart, and after a brief residence in the city he went into the hills as a wood sawyer. His first sons were twins and this act led him to give the name of Twin street to a roadway connecting Rundle-street with Grenfell-street, and running through a block of land, of which he had the freehold, together with some cottages which were erected on the land. After a time spent as a sawyer he was for a short period the licensee of the Walkers Arms about 45 years ago. His next venture was that to which he devoted the remainder of his life, namely farming. Over 40 years ago, he turned his attention to this industry, and settled down at Hampstead-road, where he remained until his death. For some time past he had been in somewhat feeble health, owing partly to his advanced age, but his friends were hopeful tíhat he might be spared for a longer period. Naturally he had made a wide circle of acquaintances, being so long a residence in the State. He was one of the oldest Foresters and Oddfellows in South Australia, and he delighted to relate incidents of the early days of colonisation; indeed, his conversation was usually reminiscent of the pioneer times, and his stories were listened to with much relish by the younger generation, who knew but little of the difficulties of settlement in a new country. Mr. Cox had been a widower for 25 years. He leaves five sons, two daughters, and 47 grandchildren.
CRABB nee JOHNS, Thelma died 28 January 1938
Mrs. Phillip Crabb (nee Thelma Johns), second daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Johns, of Olive Parade, Newtown, Kadina, who died recently, was educated at the Kadina public school. After her marriage to Mr. Phillip Crabb, the couple went to the West Coast, but subsequently returned and lived at Edwardstown. During her residence at Kadina, Mrs. Crabb was prominent in the Girl Guide movement, and earned the affection of a large number of girls. The husband and a baby, two days old. survive.
CRAMOND, Herbert Henry died 02 August 1903
DEATH-AFTER AN ACCIDENT.
Norton's Summit, August 4.
Sincere regret was felt here when it became known that Mr. B. Cramond had died on Sunday. About six months ago Mr. Cramond met with a serious accident on the new road While on his way to market. He was driving a three-horse team, and had a tremendous load of produce on his trolly, when the swingletree broke, and his horses took fright and bolted with terrific speed down the hill for over a mile. The trolly capsized at a sharp turn in the road, and Mr. Cramond was thrown out. At the time Mr. Cramond appeared to have escaped serious injury, but the nervous system sustained a severe shock, from which he never recovered, and he died on Sunday, death being due to an abcess near his brain. Mr. Cramond was of fine physique and only 27 years old and had been married eleven months. He and his brother were the owners of a beautiful garden at Basket Range, his late father having been a gardener there for many years. He was a member of the Rechabite Lodge, and his gentlemanly and courteous bearing gained for him many friends throughout the hills. His funeral took place on Monday afternoon, and 60 members of the Star of Bethlehem Tent marched in procession to the grave. The Rev. A. Honner conducted the service, and Mr. G. Watkins read the service on behalf of the Rechabites. His young widow is a daughter of Mr. W. T. Sutton, of the local post-office and store.
Headstone photo Norton Summit Cemetery
CRANE, Robert Walpole died 21 August 1902
Mr. Robert Walpole Crane, who died at his residence, Queen-street, Goodwood, on Thursday night, was an old resident in the district. Long before Way College came into existence he farmed the large piece of land owned by the South Australian Company and now known as the flourishing suburb of Wayville. Mr. Crane came to this State in the early fifties, and not long after his arrival he took a shipment of horses to India for his brother-the late Mr. W. Crane, of King William-street and sold them at a good profit. Born in Long Stratton, Norfolk, he was a splendid type of the yeoman of that county. He was a man of strong physique and great business capacity. He will be greatly missed in Goodwood, where his cheery smile and strict integrity won for him troops of friends.
Headstone St. Mary's Anglican Church, St. Marys
CRAVEN nee JOHNSON, Bertha Lockley died 29 April 1944
Mrs. John Craven
The death occurred on Saturday morning of Mrs. Bertha L Craven, widow of the late John Craven, founder of J. Craven & Co. Ltd. She was the daughter of Mr. Thomas Johnson, one of the State's oldest residents and her brother was the late Frank Johnson, who was for many years Mayor of Adelaide. Mrs. Craven endeared herself to many because even up to the end she worked unceasingly in charitable and church activities. One son, Mr. David Craven and two daughters Mrs. D Wighton and Mrs. J R Campbell survive.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
CRAWLEY, Margaret Cecilia died 25 December 1909
Much regret was felt on Christmas Day when it became known that Mrs Crawley, the postmistress, had passed away at Miss Hill's hospital. Mrs Crawley, during her stay at Two Wells, had made many friends by her kind disposition. She was the widow of Mr. F W Crawley, and left several children. Much sympathy is felt for them m their sad bereavement.
CROFT, Louisa Adelaide died 24 February 1916
The death occurred recently of an old colonist, Mrs. Louisa Adelaide Croft, at her residence, Alfred-street, city. She was the daughter of the late Mr. William Machon, shipbuilder, of Guernsey. She arrived here in the ship Navarino in 1832. and married in 1874 Mr. Archer William Croft, a son of the late Mr. James Robins Croft, merchant, of Liverpool. Her husband died seven years ago. She left two sisters, Mrs. Ellis, of Oxford-terrace Parkside and Mrs. Collenette, of Stanley-street, North Adelaide, and one daughter.
CROMPTON, Anne, nee Duffield died 9 July 1935
Mrs. Anne Crompton 90, relict of John Crompton, died at her home, Mount Barker, on Tuesday afternoon, July 9. She was born in Adelaide in 1845. Her parents, the late Mr. and Mrs. Francis Duffield, came out from Yorkshire, England, in 1839. They settled in Adelaide, where they remained for several years, but later moved up country and bought a farm at Cobden Grange (near Mount Barker Junction), in 1864, at the age of 19, Miss Duffield married Mr. John Crompton, who bought the farm known as "Paradise," close to her old home. During their stay there five children were born. In 1879 they secured another property. “Pleasant Farm" (near Mount Barker), where they lived for the remainder of their lives. Mrs. Crompton was the oldest member of the Shady Grove Unitarian Church. Of a family of seven (three boys and four girls) there are only three living— Messrs. Clem Crompton, Mrs. Walter Easlea, and Mrs. Albert Smith, all of Mount Barker. There is also one sister living, Mrs. F. Smith, of Mount Barker, and two brothers—Messrs. Arthur and Thomas Duffield (of Adelaide).
CROMPTON, Joseph died 27 April 1901
The many friends of Mr. Joseph Crompton will learn with regret of his death, which occurred-it his residence on Saturday, April 27. Mr. Crompton was suddenly taken ill a day or two ago. No serious results were feared, but he was seized with a fainting at shortly after midday on Saturday and died within a few minutes. The deceased gentleman, who was 62 years of age, had been residing in the State about 41 years. It was in 1863 that, together with his partner, Mr. Henry Clark, he established the famous Stonyfell vineyard. Fifteen years later he engaged in business as a skin exporter with his son, and he was connected with that enterprise up to the time of his death. Mr. Crompton and members of his family also started the Bunyip soap factory at Southwark. He leaves a widow, three daughters, and seven sons.
Headstone Magill Methodist Cemetery
CRONIN, Joseph Patrick died 16 August 1916
CRONIN, Margaret died 03 January 1904
Mrs Henry Cronin, wife of the well known draper, died suddenly at Stirling East on Sunday last. Mrs. Cronin and her family went to the hills for a holiday early in November. The Southern Cross states that she was taken ill on Christmas Day but no serious results were feared until the morning of her death. Mrs Cronin was highly esteemed by a large circle of friends and her loss will especially be felt at Glenelg.
CROSBY, Daniel died 05 February 1881
South Australian Register, Tuesday 8 February 1881, page 6
Moonta, February 7.
Mr. D. Crosby, an old colonist of forty-two years standing, died suddenly at the residence of his son-in-law, Mr. W. H. Whitford, George-street, on Saturday morning. He was sitting in a chair reading, when his little granddaughter noticed him fall forward, and called for assistance. Those who came thought he was in a fit, but they soon discovered that life was extinct. Mr. Crosby was well known on the Peninsula, he having been among the first to come over to Wallaroo after copper was discovered there. No inquest was held, as it was evident that death was consequent on the breaking-up of his constitution.
CROSBY, Luther died 28 November 1923
The Register, Thursday 29 November 1923, page 12
Mr. Luther Crosby, of East Adelaide, formerly of Arthurton, Yorke’s Peninsula, who died at Sixth avenue, St. Peters, on Wednesday evening. Mr. Crosby was born at Prospect in December, 1853, and had, therefore, nearly completed his seventieth year. He was the son of the late Mr. Daniel Crosby, of Wallaroo. His early life was spent there, and at Moonta Mines. In 1875, he married Miss C. L. Du Rieu, of Adelaide, who survives. Together they pioneered the Arthurton district of Yorke's Peninsula, where Mr. Crosby founded and carried on for several years a combined general store, butchery and farming business. For many years he represented the Kalkaburg Ward in the Clinton District Council, and was Chairman for several terms. Mr. Crosby was actively associated with the local Methodist Church, and held the many offices, including that of Sunday school superintendent, church trustee, treasurer, and steward. In March, of 1911, he retired from business and went to live at St. Peters. For more than 40 years he was a member of the Loyal Hamley Lodge of Oddfellows. In addition to the widow, there are three sons and three daughters namely:- Messrs. L. H. Crosby (Prospect), E. J. Crosby (Dulwich), W. H. Crosby (Payneham), Mrs. E. Wilson (Karoonda), Mrs. J. C. Jennison (Stirling), and Mrs. S. Bourne (St. Peters). The grandchildren number 17.
Headstone Payneham Cemetery
CROSS, Charlotte died 26 August 1902
Mrs. Cross, who died at Unley on Monday, at the age of 80 years, arrived in South Australia in the Hyderabad, in 1854,
with her husband, the late Mr. C. Cross, and for 45 years resided in one house in East-street. Brompton. For the past six
months Mrs. Cross has lived at Unley.
CROSS, Francis Charles
Mr. Francis Charles Cross, 53, who died at his residence, Glenlossie street, Woodville, recently, was born at Cross Roads, Moonta. He worked in the Moonta and Wallaroo Mines until they closed down, and was next engaged at the Adelaide Cement Company's
works, Clines Point Stansbury. In 1923 he married Nurse H. Phillips, only daughter of the late J. E. Phillips, of Melbourne. In his younger days. he was a well-known footballer and cricketer in the Moonta district. He left a widow.
CROUCH, Edmund Fitzgerald died 04 September 1929
Mr. E. F. Crouch who was one of the first white children born in Mount Gambier. and was a prominent figure in the public life of the town for many years, died suddenly in the hospital there at the age of 74 on Wednesday morning. He underwent an operation a few weeks ago, and hopes had been entertained for his recovery. Mr. Crouch was the son of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Crouch, two of the earliest settlers in the district. He was a keen agriculturist, and took a great interest in racing and hunt clubs
Headstone Mount Gambier Lake Terrace Cemetery
CROWDER, F T
The late Hon. F. T. Crowder, M.L.C whose death was announced in our West Australian telegrams on Saturday, was born at Franklin-street, Adelaide, in January, 1850, and was educated at Mr. J. L. Young's Adelaide .Educational Institution.
Alter leaving school he joined his father the late Mr. W. N. Crowder, in the business as an aerated water and cordial manufacturer in Franklin-street. Marrying in 1876 he left Adelaide with Mr. William Letchford for West Australia to open an aerated water and cordial business there. This venture proved very successful. Unfortunately he lost his wife, which was a serious blow to him. After some years he again married, and retired from business. He entered Parliament as member for Perth, and was subsequently elected as a member of the Federal Convention, when he had occasion to visit the land of his birth, and meet this schoolmates. Being adverse to the entrance of West Australia into the Federation on account of the youth of the colony, he resigned his seat, but a year afterwards entering again into politics, he was elected to the West Australian Legislative Council for the Central division. His time expiring he was again elected unopposed for the same division a fortnight before his death, lie leaves a wife and three children. Mr. A. P. Crowder, of this city, is a brother of the deceased gentleman.
CROWE, Henry died 21 January 1904
Mr. Henry Crowe, who for many years was the recognised seaman's runner at Port Adelaide, died at the Prince Alfred Sailor's Home early on Thursday morning. There are very few shipmasters who have traded to Port Adelaide during the past 20 years who were not personally acquainted with Mr. Crowe. He was an ideal runner, and was invariably sought when sailors were wanted to supply deficiencies in a ship's complement. His burly figure and his calling made him a conspicuous identity at the chief seaport. Mr. Crowe was born in London about 75 years ago, and when a youth joined the Royal Navy. He took part in the Crimea War, and had the medal and clasps, for the battles of Alma and Sebastopol. The deceased arrived in Australia about 1857, and served as a seaman for many years in sailing vessels trading to South Africa, Mauritius, and on the coast, and later worked as a stevedore. Twenty years ago ne was appointed seaman's runner by the Marine Board, which position he held until his s death. He left two sons, three daughters, and nine grandchildren.
CUDMORE, Martha Earle died 15 July 1938
Mrs. D. H. Cudmore, widow of Daniel Henry Cudmore and mother of Mr. Cudmore, M.L.C., and Councillor P. E. Cudmore, died at her home, Adare, Victor Harbor, on Friday. She was In her 83rd year. Mrs. Cudmore always took a deep interest in the affairs of the district and gave many gifts, such as footballs and skipping ropes, to the school children. She was also a generous donor to the South Coast District Hospital. The funeral, which was held today, was attended by the Chief Secretary (Sir George Ritchie), representatives of local councils and other bodies, and many others.
Headstone Victor Harbor General Cemetery
CUMMINGS, Laura died 10 June 1952
Miss Laura Cummings died recently at Jamestown at the age of 83. She was a member of an early James town pioneering family and for many years had lived a retired life with her sister in Jamestown. She was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Henry Cummings. Brothers living are William. James and Joseph (Jamestown), Fred and George (Belalie North), and the sisters are Mesdames R. and W. Napper and Miss Alice Cummings, all of Jamestown.
CUMMINS, Catherine died 24 November 1895
CUMMINS, Richard died 05 October 1885
Richard Cummins was one of the earliest settlers in this area and he carried on a successful farming and business venture until his death, which occurred on Monday 5 October 1885. He was aged 73 years and his funeral took place at the Redhill Catholic Cemetery near St. Martin's Church. RIP.
Headstone Redhill St. Martin's Catholic Cemetery
CUMMINS, Edmond Laurence died 02 August 1892
Headstone Redhill St. Martin's Catholic Cemetery
CUMMINS, John James died 25 February, 1904
Headstone Redhill St. Martin's Catholic Cemetery
CUMMINS, William Patrick died 09 March 1907
Headstone Redhill St. Martin's Catholic Cemetery
CUMMINGS, Jane died 31 January 1902
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST
Mannanarie, February 1
Another old colonist, Mrs. Jane Cummings, relict of Mr. George Cummings, died at her residence, Valley Farm, Mannanarie, on Thursday, January 30, after a short illness, from cholera. The deceased lady, who was 71 years of age, with her late husband, arrived in South Australia in 1854, in the ship Time and Truth. They first settled at Penwortham, where they resided for about five years, after which they removed to Farrell Flat, where they successfully farmed for about 16 years. About 27 years ago they came to Mannanarie, having selected the farm on which they had since resided. About six and a half years ago Mr. Cummings died, and since then his widow, has carried on the farm. The survivors are three sons and two daughters, Mr. H. Cummings, farmer, of Morgan; Mr. G. Cummings, farmer, of Laura; and Mr. J. W. Cummings, farmer, of Mannanarie; Mrs. Blackwell, of Jamestown: and Mrs. Hazellwood, of Mannanarie and 15 grandchildren. The funeral took place at the Jamestown Cemetery on Saturday.
Mrs. Elizabeth Currie, of Pinkerton Plains (near Wasleys), who died on January 24 to her 82nd vear. was born to the district, and was the last member of a family of 11. Her home, after her marriage to 1898 to the late Charles Currie, adjoined property owned by her
father, the late Joseph Patterson. She attended the Woolsheds Methodist Church all her life. Mrs. Currie is survived by four sons and a daughter. There are seven grandchildren.
CURRIE, Joseph died 19 November 1903
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST.
Yankalilla, November 20.
On Thursday the death was announced, at the age of 85, of Mr. Joseph Currie, one of the early residents of the township. The deceased gentleman came to Yankalilla over 40 years ago, and for many years he carried on business as a. bootmaker. After giving up business here he returned to Scotland and the scenes of his earlier life on a holiday. He had enjoyed a singularly healthy life, and the illness that proved fatal was of only short duration. The deceased was married three times, and his third wife survives him.
Headstone Yankalilla General Cemetery
CURTIS, Thomas died 07 January 1901
The late Mr. Thomas Curtis, of Glenelg, was a prominent Freemason, and was accorded a Masonic funeral, under special dispensation from the Grand Lodge. He was also a member of the Oddfellows, M.U., for 45 years. Mr. Curtis had been a resident of Glenelg 45 years, and in addition to hold once in the Masonic Order and Loyal Temple of Peace Lodge of Oddfellows, he had officiated as sidesman for 25 years at St. Peter's Church. He 'was highly esteemed for his unassuming worth, and strict integrity. At the time of his death he was a widower. He leaves a daughter, Mrs. W. G. Dunstable.
CURITS, Thomas George
Mr. Thomas George Curtis, of Shearer avenue, Westbourne Park, died suddenly at his home on Saturday at the age of 73 years. Mr. Curtis was born in Tipperary, Ireland, and came to South Australia as a youth. He farmed at Jamestown and Nantawinna, and
rook a prominent part in church activities in the district. Mr. Curtis was one of the first settlers in the Nantawinna district. He has left a widow, three daughters and two sons, one of whom is Detective W. R. Curtis.
CURTIS, William Henry
Mr. William Henry Curtis, who died recently, was born at Piccadilly 82 years ago. He was an active member of many organisations, his particular interest being Christian service as a member of the Methodist Church. He served a term as home missionary and with the Australian Inland Mission and was associated with the Sunday School Christian Endeavour. Mr. Curtis was a Justice of the Peace for over 30 years. His wife died 10 years ago. He leaves seven sons and four surviving daughters, also a large number of grandchildren and great grandchildren.