Mr. Albert Packer, of Athelstone,who died at a private hospital recently, aged 60, was educated at Houghton school, and when 14
settled at Athelstone with his parents and took up market gardening. He was a member and trustee of the Athelstone Gorge Methodist Church for many years and chairman of the Athelstone school committee for more than 20 years. He was also a member of the Payneham Bowling Club. He leaves a widow, one daughter, two sons, and one grandson.
PACKHAM, David 09 April 1832 - 04 April 1912
AN OLD COLONIST. DEATH OF MR. DAVID PACKHAM.
Another link with the early history of South Australia was broken by the death, at his residence. High-street. Kensington, on Wednesday morning, of Mr. David Packham, a widely-known municipalist in the eastern suburb.
The deceased gentleman, who was colonist for 72 years and for two years Mayor of Kensington and Norwood, and for a term represented East Torrens the House of Assembly, was born in Sussex, England, on April 9. 1832, so that he would have been 8O years of age on Monday next. At the age of 7 years he arrived at Glenelg in the ship Moffat, and in his early years resided on the town acre in the city on which the General Post-Office now stands. His father, the late Mr. William Packham, acquired the first flour mill in the State and in it he was assisted by his son. The remains of that mill, at Waterfall Creek. Burnside. are still to be seen. After working for his father for six years MT. Packham decided to engage in business on his own account, and he took up farming for some years on the section now owned by Mr. Peter Wood at Burnside. Later on he went to Magill, having secured a farm there. Having spare time on hand he decided to carry out road-making contracts, and obtaining à ten years lease of land at Stonyfell (Burnside) he opened up the quarries, which at the expiration of the lease were taken over by Mr. Dunstan and have been worked by him ever since. While residing in the Burnside district Mr. Packham evinced a keen interest in local government affairs, and for six years was a member of the Burnside District Council. He had joined in the rush to the Victorian gold diggings in the early fifties, but after year's absence from the State satisfied him that it was advisable to return to his farm. In 1864 Mr. Packham removed his residence to Kensington, where he established a chaff mill. It had just been got into thorough working order when a disastrous, fire demolished the buildings and machinery, causing him a loss of £1,400 above all insurance. The mill was reconstructed, and was succesfully carried on by him until he retired from business life about six years ago, and handed the undertaking over to his son (Mr. A. G. Packham).
Mr. Packham's enthusiasm for municipal work reasserted itself, and in 1865 he entered the Kensington and Norwood Council as a representative of Kensington ward. He was re-elected when his term had expired, and then after a lapse of 12 months he re-entered the council and sat continuously until 1878, whan as a re- ward for his services the citizens returned him as Mayor after a strenuous contest with the late Mr. R. H. Wigg. The first year of his mayoralty was marked by progress, as during his occupancy of the chair name plates were placed at the intersection of the streets for the first time, the Norwood-parade bridge was widened, the system of allocating rates to the various wards was introduced, and a survey of the town undertaken. No one opposed him when he sought re-election as mayor in the following year. A few years later he re-entered the council as a representative of his ward, and after six years' service retired from the council in 1890, having been a member almost continuously for 22 years. In 1894 Mr. Packham aspired to be a member of Parliament, and in May of that year he was returned for East Torrens to the House of Assembly, in place of the Hon. T. Play- ford, who had accepted the office of Agent General in London in succession to the late Sir J. C. Bray. When he re-offered his services at the following election, how- ever, he was defeated.
The deceased gentleman had a most affable and genial disposition, and made many friends. As a member of the council of the Royal Agricultural and Horticultural Society he did valuable work, and was honoured by having a life membership conferred upon him. At the Adelaide shows on many occasions he officiated as steward in various departments, and also as a judge of agricultural products. Almost from the inception of the Loyal Norwood Lodge of Oddfellows he was a trustee, and be filled that office up till the time of his death. He also took a live interest in mining pursuits and filled the position of chairman of directors of the old Balhannah Mining Company and of the Ethel Silver Mine. Silverton. Mr. Packham invariably enjoyed good health. On one occasion, when he was a member of Parliament, he met with a serious accident through being capsized from his buggy in which he and the late Mr. John Harvey, of Salisbury, were re turning home from the Adelaide show. As the result he was laid up for many months, but he thoroughly recovered. He had been ill on the last occasion for only about week, and death was due to senile decay. He left a widow, three sons, and one daughter.
Headstone Payneham Cemetery
PAGE, Clara died 30 March 1937
Mrs. Clara Page. who died recently at the age of 86, was born at Kensington terrace Norwood, and was the eldest daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Elborough. In 1878 she married Mr. Charles Page, who died in 1897. There were seven children, three daughters and four sons, of whom five survive. They are Mrs. R. E Clisby. Mrs. A. E. Ward. Miss Page, Messrs. Frank C. and Harry E. Page. For the last 19 years Mrs. Page lived at Prospect. She was a member of the Ovingham Methodist Church for 40 years.
Headstone Payneham Cemetery
PAGE, Florence Emily died 05 September 1914
PRICE. September 8.-General regret was felt I throughout the district when it became know that I the wife of Mr. John Page had died on Saturday night. Mrs. Page, who was only 3O years of age, was loved by all with whom she was associated. Mrs. Page left a husband and seven small children.
Headstone Arthurton Cemetery
The Rev. William Page, whose death is announced from Sydney, was 67 yearsof age and was well known among South Australian He was for several years stationed at Hindmarsh, and afterwards at Evandaleand Highgate. Mr. Page trained for the Ministry at the Spurgeon Baptist College, London, and, after doing much mission and social work in toe EastEnd, he came to Australia, and was pastor of several Baptist Churches in Queensland. Later, he joined the Congregational denomination, in Dondon he became associated with Miss Lucy Grigg. and they were subsequently married in Australia. In 1916 he accepted a call to the Hindmarsh Congregational Church. A breakdown in his health necessitated a rest, which he snent in Sydney. Returning to this State, he was stationed at the Evandale and Highgate Churches, but he left South Australia in 1923, owing to the condition of his health. Mr. Page devoted much time to writing for denominational papers. His widow (who is in Brisbane) and a son (Mr. W. Carey Page, of Myrtle Bank) survive.
PAHL, C A
Mr. C. A. Pahl, who died at Murrayville, was born at Tablelands, near Eudunda, in 1872, and in 1909 went to Pinnaroo, where he
engaged in wheat farming. He leaves a widow (formerly Miss Ernestine B. A. Glitz), three daughters—Mrs. R. E. Koch, of
Pinnaroo; Mrs. B. O. Kuchell of Murray Bridge; and Miss Norma Pahl—and one son. Mr. Clarrie, of Carina.
PAINTER nee CAMPBELL, Lillian Ida
Mrs. William Painter, who died recently in Perth (WA) at the age of 67. was formerly Miss Lillian Ida Campbell, of Barabba, South Australia. In 1906 she married William Painter, of Snowtown, and they took up virgin country in Western Australia. She Is survived by her husband, daughters Ellie, Gwen (Mrs. W. Brownley), and Mavis (Mrs. R Cleaver), and a son, Wesley.
PALMER, Hamilton Charles died 19 January 1880
We regret to announce the death of Mr. H. C. Palmer, solicitor, who was found dead in his bed on Monday morning, January 19, at the Pilot Boat Hotel, Port Pirie. Mr. Palmer who was an English barrister, was educated at University College, and took the degree of Bachelor of Laws, at the University of London, and after his admission to the Knights bar practised his profession in London for some time. He came to this colony about 20 years ago, and has practised in several country townships as well as in Adelaide. He was well known in both Riverton and Kapunda, where he lived for a considerable time.
PALTRIDGE, Harry died 11 December 1910
Mr. H. Paltridge, the well-known auctioneer, of Mount Barker, who had been seriously ill for some months, died on Sunday afternoon. He was the oldest and only surviving son of Mr. John Paltridge, founder of the auctioneering firm, John Paltridge & Co., and was 55 years of age. He left a widow and family.
Headstone Blakiston St. James Anglican Cemetery
PANK fmly HULBERTnee BADMAN, Mary Emma 03 August 1846 - 30 September 1925
Mrs. Mary Emma Pank, who has died, at the residence of her son-in-law, Mr. G. W. Badman, at the age-of 81 years, was born in Taunton, Somersetshire, and came to Australian with her parents when only three years of age. She was twice married, her first-husband having been Mr. G. E. A. Hulbert, whose sons Messrs. Maurice G. Hulbert (Victoria), and B. T. Hulbert— survive. After a period of widowhood she was married to the late Mr. George Thomas Pank, for many years building surveyor to the Adelaide Corporation, and for nearly 30 years secretary to the Masonic Lodge of Truth, No. 8. She and her husband, with their young musical family, were ardent workers at St. John's Church, Halifax street, Adelaide, during the incumbency of the Rev. F. S. Poole, and the late Canon Hopcraft. Many charitable and other worthy causes largely benefited through their efforts. All those who were privileged to come into close contact with the late Mrs. Pank learned to love and respect her, and acquaintance often developed into lifelong friendship. She has left three sons— Messrs. Seymour (of Spicers & Detmolds), Arthur (Electric Supply Co.), and Harold (Laubman & Pank); and four daughters— Mesdames C. Pavia, P. H. Prosser, G. W. Badman, and Miss Betty Pank. There are also 28 grandchildren and 12 great grandchildren.
PAQUALIN, Mary died 31 July 1901
The death is announced of Mrs. Paqualin, relict of the late Mr. George Paqualin who in the forties was a well-known Customs officer at Port Adelaide. The deceased lady attained the age of 81 years, and passed away at her residence at Gover street, North Adelaide, on Wednesday.
PARK, James Charles died 30 April 1931
Mr. J. C. Park, late of Second-avenue,St. Peters, who died on Thursday, was in his 92nd year. He was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland. Arriving in Australia in 1887, he was in business first in Melbourne then in Sydney, and in 1897 came to Adelaide and engaged in a tailoring enterprise until about 1917. Mrs. Park died last year. A son, Mr.G. M. Park, lives in Burnside-road, Erindale.
Headstone Payneham Cemetery
Chronicle (Adelaide, SA : 1895 – 1954) Saturday 5th July 1924 Page 57
Mr. G. W. Parker, chairman of the District Council of Upper Wakefield, died at his residence, near Watervale, on Sunday morning.
PARKER, Henry died 30 September 1901
Mr. Henry Parker, of Port Adelaide died at his residence, Princes-street Alberton, on Monday evening, after an illness extending over a week. The deceased gentleman was born at Port Adelaide, and was a son of Air. T. H. Parker who, for several years, conducted butcher's business at the seaport. Mr. H. Parker, who followed the same calling, represented West ward in the Port Adelaide Corporation from 1894 till the end of 1896, and again during 1898 and 1899. Mr. Parker and two daughters survive him. The eldest daughter married Captain Cobb the master of the well-known barque Myrtle Holme.
PARKER, Jane died 21 March 1902
Mrs. Jane Parker, relict of Mr. Robert Parker, of Strangways-terrace, North Adelaide, died at the residence of her nephew, Mr. W. Mussared, Coppin street, Semaphore, on Friday morning. Mrs. Parker, who was in her 85th year, was a very old colonist.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
PARKER, Joseph died 07 October 1905
By the death of Mr. Joseph Parker, chemist, which occurred at his residence, King William-street, on Saturday morning, South Australia has lost another of its pioneers. Mr. Parker, who was in his 75th year, had been ailing for some time, and for the last few days had suffered acutely from a heart affection. The deceased gentleman was born in Bristol, England, and was the son of the late Dr. Richard Parker, of that city. He was an esteemed citizen, and for three years-from 1883 to 1885 inclusive represented Grey Ward in the Adelaide City Council.
PARKER, Joseph James died 04 August 1925
Seldom has such profound sympathy been felt for a bereaved family than that for Mr. and Mrs. George Parker, of Leighton, and family, in the tragically sad death of their youngest son and brother, Joseph, which, occurred at the home on Tuesday, August 4th. The young man was, with his only brother, putting an unbroken horse (a big powerful animal) into the team.
He had it by the head, and Mrs. Parker also had the animal holding by a rope, Mr. Cecil ('Son') Parker was just within an ace of hooking it in when the horse reared and bounded out. Mr. Joe Parker was knocked down, and the flying hook somehow caught in his groin. The animal made off, dragging the poor lad, but the elder brother, who also had the reins, never let go, and after traversing about 300 yards, meanwhile bumping several posts, succeeded in pulling the horse up. Although rightfully injured the lad was quite conscious, and spoke to his mother. Mr. I. J. Warnes was notified and motored the sufferer to the Burra Hospital. In addition to his other dreadful injuries, on examination it was found that the main artery of the heart was severed, consequently he passed away very shortly after admission, remaining conscious to the last. His brother also sustained slight injuries, besides suffering severely from shock. The funeral took place on Thursday afternoon, and was the
largest seen in Burra for many years, showing not only the great respect in which the family is held, but the deep sympathy felt for them in their sad bereavement. Those present represented people from all parts of the district, particularly Leighton, Booborowie, and the town itself. The deceased young man, who had only just passed his 21st birthday, was very popular, hard working, and conscientious, and his death will cause a blank in the home that will never be filled. A member of the Aberdeen Oddfellows' Lodge, Bros. F. M. Pearce, T. Fuller, W. J. Woollacott, L. Cullen, Les. McGowan, and Boz Pearce acted as bearers. The Rev. H. Alvey conducted the service, and the lodge service was read by Bro. W. J. Woollacott, Messrs. C. J. Pearce & Sons conducting the funeral arrangements. Besides his parents and only brother there are four sisters — Mrs. J. Pens, Bendigo Station; Mesdames J. O. Earle and Collins, of Leighton, and Mrs. H. Corneilius, of Loch Winnoch Station. The deceased was a grand son of Mr. Joseph Flower, late of Stony Gap.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PARKER, William died 29 September 1860
Tapleys Hill : Fatal Accident.-We regret having to announce to our readers another of those fatal accidents which it has been our painful duty of late so frequently to record. It appears Mr. William Parker of O'Halloran Hill, storekeeper and postmaster, an old and respected colonist, was returning from a lecture at the Sturt Institute on Friday evening the 28th ultimo, at about 10 o'clock, when he was thrown from his cart on the top of Tapley's Hill. Mrs. Parker was surprised to find the horse and cart return without her husband, and directed the man to go and seek for his master, whom he found lying insensible on the road, opposite Mr. Tapley's house. With the assistance of Mr. Meseke, landlord of the Victoria Hotel, he was conveyed home; Doctors Montgomery and Ferguson were immediately in attendance, and found that he had fallen on his head, sustained a fracture of the skull, and internal injuries which precluded all hope of recovery. He expired on Saturday morning at 11 o'clock, without having recovered his consciousness. Major O'Halloran, on hearing of the occurrence, made personal enquiries as to the cause of the accident, and having satisfied himself that it was quite unnecessary to hold an inquest, issued his authority to have the body interred.
Headstone O'Halloran Hill Christ Church Cemetery
PARKS, Harriet Martha died 05 December 1933
There are but few of the old pioneer residents left in Burra and the death of Mrs. Thomas Parks, which occurred on the 5th December, removed another of the oldest, she being a resident of 80 years and a colonist of 83 years. Born at Edinburgh, Scotland, on October 5th, 1848, her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Newman, left Scotland for Australia in 1850 arriving in S.A. the same year. In 1853 her parents came to Burra to reside and made the town their permanent home. Her mother was twice married. Miss H. Martha
Newman married Mr. Thomas Parks, eldest son of the late Mr. Thos. Parks, practically one of Burra's pioneer bakers, although her husband, worked for many years with Messrs Bath & Pearce, Kooringa, and when they disposed of their business he was next employed with Messrs Derw and Crewes. Her husband pre deceased her about three years ago. Considering her great age, that of 85 years, Mrs. Parks enjoyed fair health and good spirits but she was essentially a home woman and it was with her family and in her home that her interest lay. She maintained her usual health until within a few days of her death when she was taken ill and her family were summoned. She leaves four daughters, Alice,- Mrs. Seymour, Port Pirie; Flo.; Mrs. B. Sugars, Kooringa; Hannah
(Annie) Mrs. Brown and Edith, Mrs. Holwell, both of Pt Pirie and one son, Mr. William Parks Kooringa, 14 grandchildren and 15 great grandchildren. The funeral took place on Wednesday at the. Kooringa cemetery: when the services were conducted by the Rev. E. Lawson of Bute, and the Rev. G. C. Hutchinson, Kooringa. The bearers were Messrs J. and A. Kellock, Jas. Bentley, S. Kellaway, Les. Harris and Geo. Terry.
Burra Record (SA); 4th January 1905; Page 4
The Late Mr. Thos. Parks.
Another old and respected resident has left us in the person of Mr. Thomas Parks, one of the best known residents in the town; death occurred on the morning of December 28. The deceased gentleman arrived in the colony in 1846, and remained in Adelaide for about four years, and in 1849 came to Burra with his wife and two children. He worked for Messrs Roach and Roscow as a baker, and subsequently went to the Victorian diggings but only remained their eight or nine weeks owing to ill-health. He returned to Burra and went into the - baking business on his own account then he took up the greengrocery business in the premises now occupied by Mr. A. Bennetts. There is no name better known or more esteemed than that of the departed gentleman. He had been ailing for some time, but death at last came unexpectedly. Mrs. Bennetts (deceased's daughter) after attending to the comfort of her father retired to bed as usual, and at about 10 o'clock she heard him making a noise, as if sleeping heavily, and immediately went to his beside, and saw that he was alright, as also did Mr. Charles Parks; on the following morning a messenger was sent to attend to Mr. Parks, when she discovered he was dead. The funeral took place on Thursday, afternoon when it was largely attended, the Rev. T.B. Angwin, M.A., officiating at the graveside.
The deceased gentleman leaves five daughters — Mrs Dyer (Orroroo), Mrs Ware (Adelaide), Mrs T Goldsworthy (Adelaide), Mrs A Bennett (Burra), and Mrs R D Pascoe (Burra), and three sons — Thomas (Burra), George (Port Pirie), and Charles (Burra), 46 grandchildren and 13 great grandchildren.
PARKS, Thomas died 22 October 1928
One by one links with the past are being broken and on Monday last another link severed by the death of Mr. Thomas Parks of Kooringa, which removes one of our eldest residents. Born at Hindmarsh, Adelaide, on the 6th September, 1849, he was only a few months old when with his parents Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Parks, he came to Kooringa. (Mr. Parks sen. founded the baking business now carried on by his only surviving son, Mr. Charles Parks) After leaving school Mr. T. Parks jun. entered the employ of Messrs Bath and Pearce and on their retirement he remained with Pearce Bros., working all told for the former over 40 years and the latter until they ceased, making altogether 45 years in the same premises. He afterwards entered the employ of Messrs Drew and Crewes and remained there until his health forced him to retire. During his long business service he earned the high esteem of every person he came in contact with by his unswerving devotion to business coupled with strict integrity. For many years rheumatism has had him in a strong grip but he never gave way and attended the Methodist church until absolutely unable to walk the distance. Mr. Parks was also one of the oldest members of the I.O. Rechabite Lodge, his connection with that order amounting to 56 years. His last illness only extended about a fortnight. He married Miss Hannah Martha Newman on 25th December, 1872, who survives. The couple celebrated their golden wedding six years ago. Besides the widow there is one son, Mr. William Francis Parks, Kooringa, four daughters, Mesdames Alice J. Seymour, Pt. Pirie; Florence M. Sugars, Kooringa, Hannah (Annie) Brown and Edith M. Holwell, both of Pt. Pirie, 14 grandchildren and 14 great grandchildren. The funeral took place on Tuesday afternoon at Kooringa when the service was conducted by the Rev. E. Lawson and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
Mr. Thomas Charles Parks, who for many years was in business as a pastry cook in Rundle Street, died on December 9 at Swan Reach at the age of 65 years. He recently left on a holiday visit to Swan Reach where he became ill. Mr. Parks was a lifelong member of the Methodist Church, and was a circuit steward and secretary of the Sunday school at the Pirie Street Church. He left five daughters— Mesdames Rush end Keys, and Misses Mary Dorothy, and Maude Parks— and three sons Messrs. Claude, Geoffrey, and George Parks.
PARRINGTON, Mary died 04 November 1902
A YORKE'S PENINSULA PIONEER DEAD.
Yorketown November 10.
Yorketown, .November 11.
Mrs. Parrington, of Edithburgh, an old colonist, died on November 4 at the age of 82, after an illness of about 16 months. Mrs. Parrington, who arrived in the ship Eden in 1838, was the first white woman to settle on the southern Peninsula. She came here about 56 years ago, and had resided here ever since. Eleven months elapsed after her arrival before she saw another white woman. For the first few years she lived at Weaver's Bald Hills, and had been on the Peninsula the whole time with the exception of a few years spent in the south-east. She had a family of nine, children, three of whom survive - Mrs. Giles (Broken Hill), Mr. John Parrington (Victoria), and Mr. Charles Parrington, who resides at Edithburgh. The funeral took place on Wednesday.
Headstone Edithburgh Cemetery
PARSONS, Fred C
The friends of the late Mr. Fred. C. Parsons will regret to hear of his decease, which occurred at Perth, West Australia,
yesterday morning. Mr. Parsons was for several years in the service of the National Bank at Adelaide, and about six-years ago
was transferred to the Perth office. He subsequently severed his connection with the bank, and entered into business on his own account, taking as a partner Mr. C. P. Hooper, a former bank fellow. Whilst in Adelaide the deceased was an enthusiast in, outdoor sports, and was well known in boating, lacrosse, and tennis circles. For the past ten days he had been suffering from typhoid, and on Monday last underwent an operation, to which he succumbed. His brothers are Mr. J. W.Parsons, of Mount Torrens, and Mr. Stephen Parsons, of Adelaide.
PARSONS, James Ranelagh Ponsonby died 09 August 1905
Mr. J. R. P. Parsons died on Wednesday evening, at the age of 66 years, at his residence, Glenelg, after a long illness. The deceased was a native of Ireland. In 1848 he accompanied his parents to Tasmania, where he spent his early years. His brother was Dean of Hobart. In 1875 Mr. Parsons came to South Australia, and held positions on the teaching staffs of St Peter's College, Moonta school, Mr. J. L. Young's school, Parkside, and Mr. F. Caterer's Grammar School, Glenelg. On severing his connection with the last named he founded the Collegiate School, which of late years has been conducted in Broadstairs street, Glenelg. Mr. Parsons took an active part in Church work, and had been a lay reader for many years, conducting services at St. Jude's, Brighton, while it was without an incumbent. He left a widow and a grown-up family.
PARSONS, John Flann 1813 - 1883
A large number of the 156 passengers left the ship in what is now Coromandel Valley with the intention of settling in South Australia, and a number of the took the opportunity to leave the ship also, John Parsons amongst them. The captain, Captain Chesser, was granted a warrant on the 31st January to arrest his wayward crew, but none were arrested but later all but one surrendered on 13th March, when they were remanded for three days before being freed.
John was quite enterprising in his new start in life. He first had charge of the stores at Holdfast Bay, and later he purchased a boat with which to land mail, and to make a living ferrying passengers to and from boats. His boat was the first private boat ventured in for trading, consequently he found full employment. A testament to his desire to thrive in this new country can be seen in a receipt issued to John in 1837 by the then Honourable Colonial Secretary, who paid John 2 pounds 5 shillings to help board prisoners onto the HMS Buffalo and another ship.
In January 1838 John married Mary Anne McHugh, who had arrived in December 1837 with her sister, under the guardianship of their uncle and his family. John had boarded the ship and seen Mary Anne and immediately offered to marry her. Mary Anne’s uncle agreed, as long as John promised to keep her in the manner to which she was accustomed. Rev. Mr. Howard married them at a ceremony in a small hut on North Terrace where Trinity Church was eventually to be built. The marriage was the 20th performed at that time without the needed consent of the Governor.
The Old Port area was becoming an attraction so John moved there in the hope of advancing his life and position. He worked under Captain Lipson, who made him a prominent man on his staff, and who placed him in charge of the first spoon barge to open out a channel for ships to pass through. Once the channel was completed it was known for many years afterwards as “Parsons’ Track”.
The area of Port Adelaide was becoming more popular so John purchased land in Alberton, where he built many buildings, including hotels, amongst them the Old Coromandel, the Shipwrights’ Arms, Australia’s Pride, and the present Alberton Hotel.
In 1852 he went to the goldfields, and persevered with others with moderate success. Feeling on his return that there was no chance for him in South Australia, he made a second trip to the diggings, with like results: then he returned and “settled down” in the Alberton area.
On the 3rd February 1870 Mary Anne died at the Australia’s Pride Hotel, Port Adelaide, after a “long and painful” illness. She was 49 years and had been a “colonist for 33 years”.
In April 1883, John too died having lived in South Australia for 46 years. His five daughters, three sons and nineteen grandchildren survived him, with many more generations to come.
Copyright – Jenni-lee Cotton 2002
PARSONS, Mr & Mrs. Thomas (Golden Wedding Anniversary)
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Parsons, of Darlington, who have spent nearly 50 years in South Australia, celebrated the golden anniversary of their wedding on Saturday afternoon and evening, in the presence of a large family gathering. Mr. Parsons, who was born in Warwickshire, England, in 1840, is the eldest son of the late Mr. William Parsons, of Grindon. On February 16, 1863, he was married to the eldest daughter of the late Mr. William Sandell, of Baddersley. The Independent Chapel, Warwickshire. The couple arrived in this State in 1865. For the first two years they resided at Kapunda and Glenelg, but since 1867 they have lived at Darlington, and are connected with the Methodist Church at Marion. The gathering at the homestead on Saturday was a particularly happy one. Tea was served at the Sturt Hall, and many good wishes were expressed for the continued health and happiness of Mr. and Mrs. Parsons. The chief toast was submitted by Mr. Joseph Parsons (eldest son), who, on behalf of the members of the family, presented the venerable couple with a purse of sovereigns. The toast was supported by Mr. William Parsons (second son), and other speakers, and was cordially responded to by Mr. Parsons, sen., who carries his age exceedingly well. The proceedings terminated with a dance. Mr. and Mrs. Parsons have a family of four sons and four daughters living. These are Messrs. Joseph Parsons (of Glenelg), William Parsons (Blackwood), George Parsons (Marion), and Frank Parsons (New Glenelg), and Mesdames A. Sterling (Kangaroo Island). D. Midworth (Somerton). D. Jeffrey (Blackwood), and A. Watchman (Coromandel Valley).
PARSONS, Ann died 12 March 1929
The Advertiser, Tuesday 19 March 1929, page 15
Mrs. Ann Parsons, whose death was recently announced in The Advertiser, was the eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Sandall of Walsall, England, where she was born 87 years ago. She was married in 1865, and the same year left for Australia in the Linelan. The voyage to Port Adelaide, the first port of call, occupied 81 days. After living at Kapunda, and for a short period at Glenelg the family settled at Darlington, where they remained for 57 years. Owing to fading health, Mrs. Parsons went to live with a 1 daughter at Glenelg, and for the last few months resided at Oaklands. A husband, four sons and four daughters survive—Messrs. J. W. and F. E. Parsons, of Oaklands, and G. H. Parsons, of Marion, and Mesdames A. Stirling, Kangaroo Island; D. Midworth and D. Jeffree, Glenelg, and F. Watchman, Coromandel Valley. There are 32 grandchildren and 23 great-grandchildren. Mrs. Parsons was a member of the Methodist Church for over 60 years. Although a colonist of 64 years, a keen love of nature did not allow her recollections of her early days at home to fade, and her descriptions of the English countryside were remarkably vivid.
PASCOE, Elizabeth Jane died 15th December 1927
A former well-known and highly esteemed resident of Kooringa, Mrs. Joseph Pascoe, passed away at the residence of her eldest daughter, Lizzie, Mrs. Sam Davey, Broken Hill, on Thursday night, December 15th at the age of 87 years. The deceased lady was born at Redruth, Cornwall and came to Australia with her parents, Mr..and Mrs. Richard, Delbridge in 1855, the family coming direct to Burra in a bullock dray. She later married Mr. Joseph W. Pascoe of Burra and lived for many years in Chapel street, Kooringa. When Broken Hill first opened up things were looking black in this district and Mr. and Mrs. Pascoe like many others went to Broken Hill in 1892, where Mr. Pascoe found employment along the line of lode until he contracted miner's complaint. They then returned to Burra but after residing here for two years Mr Pascoe died and Mrs Pascoe returned to Broken Hill and resided with her daughter, Mrs. Davey. Her eyesight with the advance of years, began to fail and was completely lost about 12 years ago. This did not prevent her from knitting socks and other woollen goods for soldiers. The deceased lady had a large circle of friends as imbuec with the true Cornish spirit bf hospitality, their home during her more active years was ever open to friends, particularly Burra folk, and many Burra young men then employed in Broken Hill, still have grateful memories of Mr. and Mrs. Pascoe's hospitality. For a long time her health had been delicate and for twelve months past her death was expected almost hourly. Mrs. Pascoe leaves two sons, Mr. Joe. W. Pascoe, Broken Hill; Mr. R. D. Pascoe, Kooringa and three daughters, Mrs. Davey, Broken Hill; Annie, Mrs. S. J. Cox, Port Adelaide; and Ettie, Mrs. P. Sampson, Broken ,Hill. Two sons, Messrs Frank and Tom Pascoe died some years ago. There are 16 grandchildren (including Alderman S. J. J. Davey, of Broken Hill and 13 great grand-children. The funeral took place at the Kooringa cemetery on Saturday morning on arrival of the Broken Hill express at .6.30 a.m. where in the cool early morning all her remains were placed in the same grave as her husband, four of her grandsons, Messrs Joe. Claude, Frank Pascoe and O. H. Ockenden, acting as bearers. The service was conducted by the Rev. R. H. Lee in the presence of all the family and several relatives, except Mrs. Sampson who was unable to be present.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PASCOE, William Harry died 12 Ocotber 1948
Mr. William Harry Pascoe, a members of the Port MacDonnell District Council for many years, died at his home at Port MacDonnell recently at the age of 64. As a councillor, he advocated the drainage and settlement of Eight Mile Creek, and it was partly through his efforts that the present soldier settlement scheme in that area, was begun. He first entered the council in 1918 and was never defeated at an election. In Adelaide he took part in public affairs and became well known as vice-president of the Glenelg Progress Association. He leaves a widow and one son Jack.
PATTEN, Sarah Gertrude died 05 March 1931
Mrs. William Patten was engaged in her usual domestic duties on March 5, when she suddenly collapsed and died. With her husband, Mrs. Patten went to Whyalla three years ago, and started business as fruiterers and newagent. Mrs. Patten was 50 years of age, and leaves her husband and three daughters —Gladys, Hillery, and Audrey.
PATERSON, Alexander Stewart died 06 January 1902
THE LATE DR. PATERSON.
A VALUABLE CITIZEN.
Deep regret will be felt at the announcement of the death of Dr. Alexander Stewart Paterson, the late Colonial Surgeon of South Australia, which occurred at his residence, Carrington-street, Adelaide, on Monday. Dr. Paterson, who was in his 66th year, first entered the service of the Government on April 11, 1867, when he became medical officer of the North-terrace Lunatic Asylum, and three years later he was made Colonial Surgeon, retaining both positions until his retirement from the public employ at the end of 1896. He held the honorary position of chairman of the South Australian Medical Board until September, 1899.
Subsequent to his withdrawal from thecontrol of the lunatic asylums of the State Dr. Paterson went to Europe on a holiday trip, and on his return he built the handsome residence in which he lived for the remainder of his life. The decease doctor was recognised throughout Australia as an authority on lunacy, and his knowledge was often availed of when enquiries were being made on that subject. He was held in the highest respect by the profession, of which be was so distinguished a member, and although he never took any prominent public position outside the sphere of his ordinary work, he enjoyed the esteem of a very large circle of friends.
Dr. Paterson was educated at Edinburgh University where he graduated as Doctor of Medicine in 1857, having the previous year received his diploma from the College of Surgeons in the same place. He practised for a short time in Melbourne before coming to this city, and he was an M.D.,both of the Melbourne and Adelaide Universities. His professional attainments were of a very high character.
Courtesy of Ian Turnbull
Mr. Alexander Patterson who died at Adelaide, on November 5, was born near Macclesfield on April 26. 1862. He was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. G Patterson. When a young man he bought a farm at Monarto. On April 27. 1892, he married Miss Eva Hill, a
daugther of the late Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Hill, of Mobilong. They remained at Monarto until 14 years ago, when they went to Murray Bridge to live in retirement. Mr. Patterson is survived by his widow, one brother Mr. H. Patterson (Cunenga, West Coast) and one sister (Mrs. J.R. Hill of Keith). Another brother Mr George Patterson, ol Monarto, died recently.
PATTERSON, Charles John 19 October 1917
Mr. Charles J Patterson, a resident of Port Pirie for over 42 years, died at this residence, Port Pirie West, on Friday afternoon. He was 70 years of age, and his death was no doubt hastened by the effect of a kick from a horse he sustained some months ago. In the very early days Mr. Patterson was connected with deepening operations in the harbour at Port Pirie when the work was carried out by means of the old fashioned spoon dredge. He was a native of Tonsberg, Norway, and the early years of his life were spent at sea. Prior to coming to Australia 32 years ago he lived for some time in Tasmania and New Zealand. By his industry and thrift he was able to purchase the ketches Phoebe, Sir William Foster, and Wilpena and when he took up land in the Hundred of McGregor, on the West Coast, at what is now known as Munyeroo Farm, he employed these vessels in carrying firewood to Port Pirie. Mr. Patterson found the sacrity of water a great drawback to success in framing, and after a few years disposed of his property. On taking up his residence permanently with his family in Port Pirie he invested largely in building property in different parts of the town, and was invariably successful in his speculations. He left a widow (a daughter of the late Mr. J R McDonald of Port Pirie), four sons (Messrs. Edgar, William John Robert, and Alfred), resident in Port Pirie and daughters - Mesdames Walton (Adelaide) J Nelson (Port Pirie West) T Frost (Solomontown) and P A Thomas (Western Australia) and Misses Millie and Phoebe Patterson (Port Pirie West). for 41 years he resided in the house in which he died.
Headstone Port Pirie Cemetery
PATTERSON, Robert died 02 January 1906
Mr. Robert Paterson, an old colonist, died at Parkside on Tuesday. He was born in Scotland 83 years ago, and arrived
in Adelaide in the Welcome in 1836. He was farming at Greentree Hill , half a century ago, and subsequently took up land
at Port Broughton. Mr. Paterson was long ago captain of the Munno Para East Volunteer Company. He left a widow, six sons,
and three daughters.
PAVY, Caroline Sophia died 10 May 1938
Mrs. Caroline Sophia Pavy, who died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. F. James, of Boffa street, Hyde Park, yesterday, was one of the oldest pioneers in South Australia, having arrived here more than 80 years ago. Mrs. Pavy would have been 100 years old in July. She has left eight children and 24 grandchildren. Mrs. Pavy spent several years in the Myponga district in the earlier days of
the State, and on two occasions she came in rather alarming contact with blacks. Once she was forced to entertain a murderer while he wrote a letter in her house. Mrs. Pavy's family came to South Australia about 85 years ago, and her brother, the late Mr. H. Combe, was one of the first settlers at Myponga. She spent a number of years in Milang, and later with her husband moved to
Crystal Brook, where she lived for about 60 years. The surviving children are:— Mesdames F. W. James, of Hyde Park; R. B. Caldwell, of Unley; D. M. Mitchell, of Wayville; and J. Tucker, of Perth; Messrs. P. Pavy, of Crystal Brook; J. A. Pavy, of North Adelaide; R. A. Pavy, of Waroona, Western Australia; and C. C. Pavy, of Claremont, Western Australia.
PAVY, Phillip c1833 - 26 June 1868
DEATH OF MR P PAVY It is with much regret (says our Milang correspondent) I have to chronicle the demise, on the 26th ins. of one of the earliest settlers in the township of Milang, Mr Phillip Pavy. Mr Pavy had been for the last nine months engaged in farming at Menineie, and for several months had enjoyed better health than usual. On Wednesday, the 17th, he was taken suddenly and mysteriously ill, the symptoms in some points indicating apoplexy and in others were at variances with that disease. Dr Herbert, of Strathalbyn, was at once telephoned in, and proceeded to Meningie in the Telegraph, mail steamer. On Monday, the 22nd, Mr Pavy was brought over to Milang under the personal care of Dr Herbert, who, until his death, was most attentive and unremitting in his exertions to afford relief. for the last 37 hours of his existence he was in a state of coma, and never once rallied. A postmortem examination was made by Dr. Herbert at the request of the relatives, when the cause of death was found to have been abcess in the brain. Up to his departure for Meningie, the deceased had been a partner in the Milang Mill from its erection 14 years ago, and in that capacity earned for himself a high character for integrity and honourable dealing. As a private friend he was warm-hearted and sociable, ever ready to give his services when they were of any avail to his neighbours; tender hearted as a woman in any case of sorrow or affection. His untimely death in the prime of his days will be keenly felt and mourned for by a very large circle of relatives and friends in whose hearts his memory will ever be enshrined as that of one worthy of the highest regard and esteem. He has left a widow and two children to mourn their ir-repairable loss. The funeral took place on Saturday, and was attended by a large concourse of people, including the principal settlers in this and the adjoining districts.
PAYNE, Edgar Samuel died 11 December 1925
Mr. Edgar Samuel Payne, who died at Delemere on Friday night at the age of 63, had been a patient sufferer for many year, but persisted in following his occupation. He was a son of Mr. Austin Payne, formerly of Payneham and Noar lunga, and a grandson of the original owner of the Exchange Hotel, in Hindley Street after whom Payneham was named. Owing to the family fortunes de ??? some years ago Mr. E S Payne and his brother had to look afield for a liveli hood. Mr. E S Payne selected the S A Lighthouse Service, and he was in charge at Cape Jaffa, Cape Jervis, and Cape Banks. He was twice married, and his second wife (Miss Eva Cole), of Dela mere survives. He has left a son (Mr. Arthur Payne) and a daughter (Mrs. Violet Buick, of Kangaroo Island.
PAYNE, Edwin Hartly died 22 January 1906
Great regret has been caused at Renmark by the death last week in the Kapunda Hospital of Mr. Edwin Payne. He was to have been married shortly to Miss Taylor, cf Renmark, where he lived for many years and where his father still resides. Mr. Roy Payne, a brother, rode his bicycle through from Wentworth to Renmark last Monday evening with the idea of proceeding to Kapunda, but was too exhausted to continue his journey.
Headstone Kapunda General Cemetery
PEACOCK, Maria died 12 February 1869
Our obituary column records the death of Mrs. Peacock, wife of Mr. William Peacock. The deceased lady, who was a colonist of up
wards of 30 years' standing, had been ailing for a long time, but her demise was sudden. She died at her residence, Palm House, Hackney early on Saturday morning
PEACOCK, Maria Houghton died 18 June 1901
Mrs. Maria Houghton Peacock, widow of the late Mr. Joseph Peacock, died at her residence, Brougham-place, North Adelaide, on Tuesday, at the age of 73. She leaves three daughters, one of whom is married to Dr. Swift. Mr. J. Peacock, whos death took place several years ago, at one time carried on a tanner and carrier's business with his brother, the late Mr. Caleb Peacock, in the city and at Hindmarsh. Mr. Caleb Peacock twice held the position of mayor of Adelaide.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
PEAKE, Sidney Leonard died 13 January 1904
Mr. A. H. Peake, ALP., and Mrs. Peake, of Mount Barker, have had the misfortune to lose their third son in, consequence of the
severe gunshot wound which he received, when out with a shooting party on boxing Day. The lad, who was 14 years old,
attended by Dr. Blaxland, under whose care he made good progress until last Friday, when unfavourable symptoms appeared, and death took place early on Wednesday morning.
PEARCE, Charles died 19 February 1903
The death occurred at Fisher-street, Norwood, on Wednesday of Mr. Charles Pearce, who was in his 69th year. Mr. Pearce came to South Australia from the old country when a lad of l8 years, and for nearly 50 years had carried on a butchering business in Kent Town, until failing health compelled him to relinquish it about three months ago, since which time his two sons have carried it on. About a year and eight months ago he suffered & paralytic stroke, and until his death, which was the result of another similar attack, he had been an invalid. He was very widely known in coursing circles, and owned many fine greyhounds, with which he was very successful in the field. He had a fine stud also, and bred many speedy dogs, including winners of some important events.
PEARCE, Edwin died 04 September 1928
The news of the death of Mr. E. (Boz.) Pearce, which occurred at Adelaide on Wednesday last, at the early age of 39 years, was received in Burra with intense regret, as he was universally esteemed. Although comparatively a young man Mr. Pearce has always been regarded as a person of absolute reliability, coupled with the strictest integrity, in fact, he was the type of citizen that can ill be spared from any community. He was the third son of Mr. and Mrs Fred Pearce of Redruth, and after leaving school was first employed by Messrs Drew & Crewes after which he started in business for himself at Kooringa, which he later disposed of to Messrs E. J. McKenzie and Co. He then took up estate agency, etc., and was also the secretary of the Oddfellows Lodge. Of a quiet, reserved nature he never took part in public matters and his only sport was tennis. He married Miss Muriel Tiddy, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. M. Tiddy, Maitland, and niece of Mr. and Mrs J. N. Tiddy of Aberdeen. For a long time past Mr Pearce had been seriously ill and during that period he bore his long and painful illness with a wonderful cheerfulness and fortitude. Sincere sympathy is felt for his young wife, little son and daughter, his parents and family in their great loss. The funeral took place on Thursday midday and the immense cortege was evidence of the deep respect in which he was held. As the cortege came into Kooringa it was preceded by the adult members of the Oddfellows Lodge and lined up on either side of the road in front of the Institute were the junior members of the same Lodge. The service at the grave in the absence of the Rev. W. O. Harris, Redruth, was conducted by the Rev. E. Lawson, of Kooringa, and the Lodge service by Bro. W. J. Woollacott and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PEARCE, Emma Louisa
Mrs. Emma Louisa Pearce, who died on Saturday last, was a very old colonist, and had resided at Peterborough, Broken Hill, and Port Pirie, where she was well known and highly respected (writes our Port Pirie correspondent). Deceased was born in Wales in 1844, and 10 years later came to Australia with her parents. Her father took up land near Dry Creek, where he was killed while engaged in blasting timber. Mrs. Pearce was married in Adelaide to the late Mr. .John Pearce; a contractor, who subsequently joined the South Australian Railways at Peterborough, where he died in 1893. The deceased lady was well known to and esteemed by northern travellers. At one time she was the proprietress of the railway refreshment rooms at Peterborough, as well as keeping the Coffee. Palace. For six years she was the lessee of the refreshment rooms at Argent street, Broken Hill. Mrs. Pearce came to Port. Pirie to reside about 10 years ago. She was one who, left with a large family, successfully battled against hard times. The late Mr. Sam Langsford, of Broken Hill, and Mr. W. Langsford, of Happy Valley, were brothers, and Mrs. J. Scheffers, of St. Peter's, was a sister of deceased. One son and seven daughters survive. They are Mr. W. Pearce Mesdames Bayley. Wood, Bardon, Smith, Schebella, Sibly (Port Pirie), and Easther (Kensington).
PEARCE, Sarah died 19 May 1927
Miss Sarah Pearce, the eldest daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. T. W. Pearce, Ware Street, Kooringa, passed away at her residence, 'Burswood,' Kooringa, on Thursday, 19th May. Miss Pearce had been in ill health for the past six years and her death was not unexpected. She was born at Kooringa on March 14th, 1861, and had lived here the whole of her life. Miss Pearce, who was highly
esteemed, was of a most unselfish disposition and was for a long time a teacher in the Methodist Sunday School and a member of the choir but for years has not been able to take part in any work outside her home life. She leaves one sister, Miss Rose Pearce, and a brother, Mr. E. A. Pearce, of Prospect. The funeral took place on Friday, when she was carried to her last resting place by six cousins, Messrs Edgar, and Clem Pearce, Percy and Horace Dates, C. J. and Lisle Pearce. The service was conducted by the Rev. R. H. Lee and the funeral arrangements by Messrs Pearce and Sons.
PEARCE, Sarah died 04 December 1928
The death of Mrs. S. Pearce of Kooringa, reported in our previous issue, removed not only an old resident of Burra and district but an old colonist as she came to South Australia in 1853, in the ship, 'Neptune', the voyage taking six months and two weeks. Mrs. Pearce was born at Exeter, England, in April of 1835, and when only 18 years of age and alone left the Homeland for Australia
with wild and high hopes of speedily becoming wealthy and then to return to the land of her birth. The late John Snell of Kooringa was a fellow passenger. On arrival in Adelaide Miss Moxey as she was then, went to live with a family called Melville but in the following year married Mr Henry Pearce. Their first home was at North Adelaide then later they started off with two bullocks in a dray and went as far as Gawler. Here they stopped for some time and then left for Mintaro and by this time owned four bullocks. After residing at Mintaro for some time they received a serious setback, being burnt out. They lost everything and as they had a young family coming on, the reverse, was the more serious. So great was the loss that neighbours had to even give them clothes for their children. From Mintaro they went to Canowie and kept an eating house. This was.in the old coaching days and Canowie a mail change. Here they stayed for five years and then came to Burra where Mr. Pearce worked in the mines. Giving up mining they then took up land at Mt. Bryan which was afterwards known as the Petherton Estate. Remaining there for five years Mr. Pearce when the Baldina country was cut up, bought land and was one of the first to settle there, in fact, theirs was the first stone house erected out there, the work being done by the late John Pearce of Kooringa. After residing at Baldina for a while they again returned to Mt. Bryan and took up the land which they farmed successfully and on which two of their sons are now living. Twenty eight years ago Mr. and Mrs. Pearce came to Kooringa to reside but Mr. Pearce died in 1901. Although at the time of her death Mrs. Pearce was in her 94th year, she was a wonderfully preserved woman and despite her rough experiences in the early days she never lost a certain dignity of manner which she maintained until the end. Always a great reader she kept herself abreast of the times and until recent years was very fond of sewing and knitting. Naturally her eyesight became somewhat dimmed and towards the evening of her life she had a horror of becoming blind otherwise her faculties were as alert as her children's. Although not too robust the last few years she maintained a sprightliness in walking that would have shamed folk 30 years her junior. Of a family of 13 children, eleven survive, namely : — Mr. W. H. Pearce, Adelaide; Mrs. John Cockrum and Mrs. Sam Pearce, Broken Hill; Messrs Fred and Walter Pearce, Burra; Miss Thurza Pearce, Fullarton; Mr. T. A. Pearce, Mt. Bryan; Mrs. C. G. Tiver, Fullarton; Mr. Frank Pearce, Mt. Bryan; Mrs. W. Bourman, Kooringa and Mrs. W. Satchell, Riverton, 55 grandchildren and 54 great grandchildren. At her funeral which took place on Wednesday, 5th December, with one exception all her children were present and six of the grandsons acted as bearers, the funeral service was conducted by the Rev. E. Lawson and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PEARCE, William died 4 July 1909
PEARCE, Esther nee Shipway died 11 Feb 1927
Point Sturt July 12th - Mr William Pearce of Poldea, who died lately after 3 days illness, was a colonist of over 60 years, having arrived with his father, Mr Henry Pearce, and his brothers, George and James. Shortly afterwards he settled at Burra, until the gold rush in Victoria, when Mr Pearce went to Adelaide, and got an insight into the blacksmithing trade. Eventually, with his father and brother George, having purchased land at Point Sturt, a pretty spot by the side of Lake Alexandrina, he was successful in farming pursuits. In 1866 Mr Pearce married the eldest daughter of the late John Shipway of Currency Creek. Aborigines for many years erected their wurlies and lived on his property, enjoying the kindness and generosity of Mr and Mrs Pearce. Need for a place of worship was felt among the early settlers and a substantial building - a branch of the Church of Christ - was erected by Mr Pearce, who was for many years the Sunday School Superintendent. He was also chairman of the District Council. Mr Pearce enlarged his holding, and built an up-to-date butter factory, worked first by steam and later by an oil engine. About 5 years ago Mr Pearce purchased the valuable Kimdarian estate for his sons, Messrs A.W. and J.E. Pearce. These, with Mrs Pearce and 6 daughters, survive.
Southern Argus, 17 Feb 1927
Mrs Esther Pearce, who died at Point Sturt last Friday, spent all her married life there, being the widow of the late William Pearce. Born in England in the village of Leighterton, Gloucestershire, April 13, 1846, she came to S.A. with her parents Mr and Mrs John Shipway, late of Currency Creek, when 3 years of age, in the sailing ship Cheapside leaving England June 1849 and arriving at Port Adelaide October 11th, the same year. With her parents she lived on the Adelaide Plains for a few months, later removing to Clarendon. In 1854 another move was made to Myrtle Grove, Currency Creek, a farm being purchased by her father, and some of her maiden days were spent in the district. Mrs Pearce was highly respected in the district (where more than 60 years of her life was spent) and was of a bright happy disposition, always ready to help any who needed assistance. Her home and family were her joy and delight. She was greatly interested in Church work, and gave Church of Christ at Point Sturt. Of a family of 9 children seven are living, viz, Messrs A.W. and J.E. Pearce, Mesdames W.S. Yelland and D.J. Turvey, Misses A, E.J. and M.E. Pearce. Also 9 Grandchildren.
PEARCE, William died 05 January 1927
Mr William Pearce, one of the oldest residents of Burra, passed away at Adelaide on January 5th last. The deceased gentleman was born at Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, on January 10th, 1847, and was the 3rd son of the late Mr and Mrs James Pearce, sawyer, Kooringa. The family came to Australia in the February of 1848, coming direct to Burra to reside. After leaving school he went into the drapery business and later into partnership with Mr Thos. Bath, and for years the firm of Bath and Pearce was one of the best known business firms in the north and north east. On Mr Bath's retirement Mr Pearce carried on under the old name and later when he stepped out two of his sons took over and carried on for a while under the name of Pearce Bros. In his prime he was one of the leading sportsmen in the town. He was a fine shot, a good cricketer, keen on coursing and in fact was a great supporter of all sport. Later in life be acted as Secretary to the various Vermin Boards and the Oddfellows Lodge until advanced age compelled him to resign his work. A few years ago he broke his hip & the accident proved a serious setback to him as he had to resort to the use of sticks. In his business 'life Mr Pearce was a man of strict integrity and public spiritedness. His wife died in 1915 and until a few months ago Mr Pearce resided with his only daughter, Edith (Mrs James Bentley) when owing to failing health he was removed to a private hospital in Kent Town. The cause of death however was pneumonia. Besides Mrs Bentley there are three sons : — James A. Pearce, Payneham ; William Pearce, Croydon, Victoria; and Charles J. Pearce, Snowtown, and seven grandchildren. The funeral took place at Kooringa on Thursday when the service was conducted by the Rev. H. Alvey and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Sons. Mr John Pearce who is in his 86th year is now the only surviving member of the James Pearce family.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PEARCE, William Henry died 16 December 1947
Mr. William Henry Pearce, who died at Gladstone at the age of 88, was one of the oldest and most respected residents of the district. Bom at Bungaree station, he was educated at White Hut school and married Miss Janet Crawford, of Condowie. He took up farming near Gladstone and retired about 12 years ago. His wife predeceased him some years ago, and he is survived by two sons and one daughter, Messrs. William and Keith and Miss Jean Pearce, all of Gladstone.
PEARSON, Margaret died 15 July 1898
Adelaide Register 22 Jul 1898 p 4 col i
General regret was expressed at the announcement of the death of Mrs. John Pearson, which occurred at her residence, Islington House, South-road, on Friday, July 15, at the age of seventy-four. The deceased had enjoyed good health until a month previous to her death, when she met with an accident which caused an impact fracture of the thigh. With her late husband, Mrs. Pearson came from County Wicklow, Ireland, and arrived here about forty-four years ago. The deceased who was well known for her kind and charitable disposition survived her husband by three months, and has left six daughters—Mrs. M.J. Kenihan, Reynella; Mrs. F.R. James, South-road; Mrs. James Lewis, Esperance, Western Australia; Mrs. O’Connell, widow of the late Dr. O’Connell; Mrs. John Lewis, South-road—and thirty-three grandchildren. Deep sympathy is felt with the relatives, at this their third death in the family during the past six months. The funeral took place at West-terrace Cemetery on Sunday, July 17. A great number of beautiful wreaths were placed on the coffin. The Rev. Father Cosgrove assisted by the Rev. Fathers Evoy, Cornes, Collen and Andrews, C.P. officiated at the grave.
PEARSON, William died 07 September 1905
Mr. William Pearson who for about 40 years was a member of the South Australian Civil Service, died at his residence
in Wakefield-street on Thursday night at the age of 76 years. He arrived in South Australia from England in l849, and was
a member of' the first party which went to the Northern Territory under the command of Mr. B T Finniss. Some of that party, it will be remembered returned form the territory on the Forlorn Hope and had a perilous trip. Mr. Pearson was speared by the natives in the Northern Territory but soon recovered although the injury was a serious one. He was among the party who surveyed the dividing line between New South Wales and South Australia, and he camped for a time on the outcrop famous all over the world as Broken Hill. On June 30, 1902 he had to retire from the Land Titles Office as he was over 70 years of age. He left a widow, his second wife, and his only surviving brother is Mr. J T. Pearson of Young Street Parkside. Councillor Pearson, of Unley, is a nephew.
PEATTIE, Thomas died 31 May 1901
The death is announced of Mr. Thomas Peattie, of Carrington and Hanson Streets, Adelaide. The deceased who was born at Crail, Scotland, on May 29, 1828, arrived in South Australia by the ship Standard in October, 1853, After remaining for a time, in the city he proceeded to Noarlunga, and then to the Burra, where for a number of years, he was manager for Mr Orchard. In 1865 he went to Kadina, where he carried on an extensive boot business until 1878, and took a prominent part in the affairs of the district. As a Freemason and Oddfellow he passed through various grades, and he served as a councillor. He removed to Stirling East, and a little over a year was passed in that district before the deceased came io the city to engage in business. He leaves a widow, one daughter (Mrs W H Sellar), and two sons.
Chronicle 26 June 1930 page 19
Mr. John Pederick, Gawler's oldest resident, died at his home, "Ridgeburn," Jacob-street, in his 91st year. Born in Cornworthy, Devonshire, he came to South Australia with his parents at the age of 12 months. The family settled in Gouger-street, Adelaide for three years, and then removed to Plympton, where 10 years were spent. Land then being offered in the north by the Government, Mr. Pederick secured a block about four miles east of the present Two Wells township. In 1851 the father, with his sons, went to the Victorian diggings, but returned. The young man, John, was, however, smitten with the gold fever, and followed the rush to New Zealand. After 11 months' seeking, he returned, and in April, 1866, married Mary, daughter of Mr. Philip Wheaton, of Plympton. Mr. Pederick farmed in partnership with his father at Gawler River, but set up his home at Stonehill, where his married life was spent. In July, 1920, Mr. Pederick moved into Gawler with his two daughters, his wife having died in 1915. The members of the family are:— Messrs. W. J., W. T., and H. J. Pederick (Wagin, Western Australia), R. O. and P. W. Pederick (Goulburn irrigation, Victoria), N. J. Pederick (Angle Vale), and Rev. E A. Pederick (Hamley Bridge), Mesdames J. W. Ennis (Melbourne), and A. A. Par- ham (Gawler Railway), and Misses A. A. and M. I. Pederick (Gawler). There are 34 grandchildren and nine great grandchildren. Mr. Pederick had a long association with the Stonehill Methodist Church.
CAREER OF MR. J. PEDERICK
Mr. John Pederick, Gawler's oldest resident, celebrated his ninetieth birthday last Monday. Born at Cornworthy, Devonshire, he came to South Australia with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Pederick, in the sailing ship Brightman in December, 1840.
They secured a home in Gouger-street, where they remained three years. Mr. Pederick, sen., bought a block of land at Plympton, where he engaged in dairying and bootmaking for 10 years. The Crown then opened up land in the north, and Mr. Pederick. sen., secured a block four miles east of Two Wells, which he named Pirie Park, and which is now held by nephews of Mr. John Pederick. In 1860 the father bought a property, "Woodburn," at Gawler River, and this, together with another farm, known as "Stonehill," was worked in partnership. The father and two sons went to the Victorian diggings in 1851, and in 1863 Mr. John Pederick joined in the gold rush in the South Island of New Zealand, but the rigors of the cold made mining difficult, and after twelve months Mr. Pederick returned. In 1866 he married Mary, daughter of Mr. Philip Wheaton, of Plympton, and established his home at "Stonehill," where the whole of their married life was spent, and a family (seven boys and four girls) were reared. All of them are living. Mrs. Pederick died in April. 1915, and in July, 1920, Mr. Pederick and his two daughters re moved to Gawler. Mr. Pederick has over 60 years' association with the Stonehill Methodist Church, and was a Sunday-school teacher for 50 years and a society steward for 40 years. He is still a trustee of the church. He is a regular attendant at the old folks' reunion at Glenelg on Commemoration Day, having missed only one gathering in many years. Mr. Pederick has an intimate knowledge of the Two Wells district. As a boy he constantly travelled it in its virgin state, the only inhabitant in the whole area being a shepherd. Mr. Pederick has many reminiscences, particularly regarding aborigines, and declares that the name of Black Forest arose from their constant camping in that vicinity. His family comprise Messrs. W. J., W. T., and H. J. Pederick (Wagin, Western Australia), R. O. and P. W. Pederick (Kyabram, Victoria), N. J. Pederick (Angle Vale), the Rev. E. A. Pederick (Hamley Bridge), Mrs. J. W. Enniss (Melbourne), Mrs. E. E. Parham (Gawler Railway), Misses A. A. and M. T. Pederick (Gawler). There are 34 grandchildren and nine great-grandchildren. Mr. Pederick also has two sisters living—Mrs. Roberts, of Gawler, and Mrs. Monkey, of Prospect.
For weeks the Stonehill Church has been under a shadow. Mrs. John Pederick had endeared herself to all. Her sufferings were so acute that when she entered "the silent land" on Easter Sunday her loved ones could only thank God that her release had come. Mrs. Pederick, nee Mary Wheaton, was born in Devonshire, 1844, and came to South Australia with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Philip Wheaton, in 1849. Very soon after arriving in the colony they settled down in Plympton, where Mr. and Mrs. Wheaton lived for the rest of their lives. One of the settlers near Mr. Wheaton's selection was Mr. Wm. Pederick; both hailed from Devonshire, and the two became lifelong friends of a most intimate nature. Some years later, in 1853, the Pederick family moved to Lewiston, and in 1860 to Gawler River. In 1863 Mr. Wheaton died, and after this Mary went to Angaston and lived with an aunt for a year or more. During her stay at Angaston she decided for Christ and joined the Baptist Church. In 1866 John Pederick and Mary Wheaton were married. For years the family pew of their church was filled, children as well as parents attending most regularly, sickness and distance being the only reasons for absence from church, and as the years sped on Mrs. Pederick had the great joy of seeing her eleven children one by one decide for Christ and engage in active Christian service. All her seven sons are preachers of the Gospel, and the youngest, the Rev. E. A. Pederick, is the Methodist minister of Yankalilla. Mrs. Pederick, alternately with Mrs. S. L. Dawkins, took charge of the young ladies' class in the Sunday-school, and always found time for the quiet hour of prayer at the mid-week evening service. She had the rare faculty of seeing good in every one. Mrs. Pederick lived a simple life, and ever had time to visit the sorrowing, help the needy, and nurse the sick. She took a very active interest in the annual Christmas parcel for the Central Mission, and at the time of her death was vice-president of the newly-formed foreign missionary auxiliary. After weeks of intense suffering, during which her four daughters and nurse ministered to her needs, she was reverently carried from the home she went to as a bride forty-nine years before, a large crowd of friends following, filled with loving sympathy for her bereaved husband and children.
Australian Christian Commonwealth 21 May 1915 page 14
THE LATE MRS. PEDERICK.— Another old colonist has passed from amongst us in the person of Mrs. Mary Ann Pederick, of Gawler River. Mrs. Pederick has been in the colony upwards of 34 years, having arrived by the Brightman in 1840, and she has resided in the Gawler District 22 years, during which time she has obtained the respect of all who knew her. She leaves a widower and four grown up sons, and her children and grandchildren are 30 in number. During her life deceased was an active member of the Gawler River Wesleyan Church, and will be much missed by the congregation. At the funeral, which took place at Stone Hill on the 4th March, the service was conducted by the Rev. S. Knight, of Gawler. About 50 vehicles and several horsemen were present to render the last mark of respect to the departed. The funeral arrangements were carried out by Mr. Blake, of Smithfield.
PEDRIX, Johanny Louis
The Sydney Daily Telegraph writes concerning an old resident of Adelaide Johanny Louis Perdrix, whose death has
just been cabled by the French Consul, was a pupil of the great French sculptor, Rodin, who predestined for him a great career M. Perdrix, however, took his fate in his hands, and came to Australia in the hunt for gold. He was a fortunate shareholder, with Holtermann in a Hill End property, in New South Wales, and after various vicissitudes in Fiji and the islands, purchased a-big business in Adelaide. He was on a well-earned holiday when he died suddenly at Venice. M. Perdrix was a brother of Mrs. Fred Broomfield, and well known in Sydney art and musical circles.
PEGLER, George Bentley
Mr. George Bentley Pegler, who died recently at the age of 52, was born at Mile End. He was harbor master at Cowell for 27 years. A former secretary of the Cowell branch of the RSL Mr Pegler served in France during World War I with the AAMC. He was secretary of the Franklin Harbor Institute for 25 years and a worshipful master of the Cowell Masonic Lodse. Mr. Pegler leaves a widow and two
daughters Mrs Glen Clark, of Whyalla. and Miss Valmai Pegler, of Tumby Bay.
PENALUNA, Elizabeth Ann died 02 December 1927
Mrs. Penaluna. who died on Friday, was born in Oxfordshire 80 vears ago, and came to South Australia with her parents when two years of age. Living first at Port Adelaide and Burra. Mrs. Penaluna subsequently settled at Gawler, and removed later to Watervale. Mr. John James Penaluna (her husband) died several years ago. Three children survive They are Mr. F. Penaluna (Adelaide) and
Mesdames A. Doyle (Blair Athol) and H. Hirst (Adelaide).
Chronicle (Adelaide, SA : 1895 – 1954) Saturday 5th July 1924 Page 57
Mrs. Pendleton, who died at Victor Harbor last week, was the widow of Mr. A. O. Pendleton, C.M.G., for ten years Commissioner of Railways in South Australia. She came to Adelaide in the Harbinger in 1877. She was then Miss Edis, but shortly afterwards married Mr. Pendleton. They were closely associated with the early history of the Church of the Epiphany, Crafers, where Mr. Pendleton acted as churchwarden and lay reader and Mrs. Pendleton played the organ. Mrs. Pendleton was for some time secretary of the Sick and Poor Fund at Mount Lofty, and by her many personal qualities endeared herself to a large circle of friends.
PENHALL, John Henry died 25 February 1906
Constable J. H. Penhall, who died at his residence, Gilles-street, on Sunday night, had been in the Police Force since September, 1882, and was a reliable and esteemed officer. He had been ill since last July. At the request of the deceased the funeral
will not be of an official character
PENNEY, Elizabeth May 1834 - 02 May 1915
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST.
MARRABEL, May 8 A very old colonist and resident. Mrs T. Penny. of Hill Farm, Marrabel, died on May 2 after a short illness. Mrs. Penny was born in Hertfordshire, England, in 1834, and arrived here with her parent, Mr. "William Bradshaw, in 1835 in the ship Pestonjee Bomanjee. Governor Gawler was a passenger by the same ship. They first settled at Thebarton, but shortly afterwards went to Salisbury, and thence to Gawler, and eventually to Marrabel district in 1854 before the township was surveyed and named. Her husband. Mr. Thomas Penny, I took up the block of land on which the township was afterwards laid out. He also presented the town with the allotments where the Methodist Church and public school now stand and sold the allotment where the hotel is situated to Mr. George Fuller, of East Adelaide, who built the hotel, and who is still living. Four sons and one daughter survive, Mrs. H. Harrison, of Broken Hill; Mr. J. Penny, of Marrabel; Mr. Oliver Penny, and Mr T. Penny, of Riverton; and Mr. H. Penny, of Marrabel. There are two brothers and one sister. Mrs. J. Hyde, of Hamilton: Messrs. Charles and George Bradshaw. Her husband died 36 years ago.
Headstone Marrabel Belvidere St. Philip Anglican Cemetery
PENNO, Arthur James
The Advertiser, Monday 13 August 1951, page 2
Death Of Mr. A. J. Penno
Mr. Arthur James Penno of Turner’s avenue, Blackwood, who died on Friday, aged 81, had formerly taken a leading part in local municipal affairs. For 33 years he had been a member of the old Mitcham District Council, 25 years as Chairman. During this period he was a member of the Abattoirs, Infectious Diseases Hospital and County Boards and of the Municipal Tramways Trust. Until recently Mr. Penno had been in business as a chaff and grain merchant for about 27 years. A foundation member of the Blackwood Bowling Club, he had also held office in local football and cricket clubs. He is survived by two daughters and a son.
PENNO, Henry Joseph and Edith
The Advertiser, Tuesday 26 December 1939, page 9
Death of Mr. H. J. Penno
The death occurred early yesterday at his residence, Sheffield street, Malvern, of Mr. H. J. Penno. He was in his 69th year.The late Mr. Penno was a prominent member of the Loyal Orange Institution and had been a member of the Richmond Lodge No. 55 for more than 40 years. At the time of his death he held the office of Grand Master of the State. He was also a member of the Masonic order. He was mainly instrumental in the establishment of the SA. Protestant Federation, of which he had held the office of Chief President on several occasions. He was one of the inaugurators of the Morialta Protestant Homes, the only other remaining foundation member being Mr. L. H. Crosby. Mr. Penno was a member of the Unley Park Baptist Church, and took a keen interest in its activities. In early life he was in business as a butcher at Magill, and later established the business of H. J. Penno & Co., Ltd., sack manufacturers, of Franklin street. Mrs. J. P. Williams (Unley Park), Mrs. W. L. Thomas (Malvern), Mrs. K. H. Kirkman (Toorak), and Mrs. G. F. Brockman (Malvern) are daughters. The funeral will leave Mr. Penno's late residence at 3 p.m. today for the Mitcham cemetery.
Edith Gwendoline Penno, born 25 July 1872 Coromandel Valley, South Australia, died 14 July 1939 Malvern, South Australia, buried Mitcham Cemetery
The Advertiser, Wednesday 19 July 1939, page 12
Mrs. H. J. Penno of Sheffield street, Malvern who died on Friday at the age of 66, after a short illness was for many years an active member of the Morialta Protestant Children's Homes, being representative on the board of the Loyal Orange Institution. She was also for many years president of the women's auxiliary for the homes. She was born at Happy Valley. Mrs. Penno was a member of the Unley Park Baptist Church and the women's guild, a member of the South Australian Croquet Association, she had won a gold medal and gained other honours. Survivors of the family are Mr. H. J. Penno, Mesdames J. P. Williams (Unley Park), W. L. Thomas (Malvern), K. H. Kirkman (Toorak) and G. F. Brockbank (Malvern).
PENNO, Mary Ann
Died Kadina, South Australia 15 January 1869, buried Kadina Cemetery
South Australian Register, Thursday 28 Jan 1869 page 2
PENNO - On the 15th January at Kadina, Mary Ann PENNO aged 34 years, daughter of the late Captain Richard Goldsworthy, Burra Mines, and beloved wife of Robert PENNO, who with four children mourn their bereavement.
PENNO, Robert James Bray and Emma
Robert James Bray Penno, born 1 June 1837 Helland, Cornwall, England, died Royal Park, Adelaide, South Australia 3 February 1902, buried Cheltenham Cemetery
The Register, Saturday 8 February 1902, page 10
An old Peninsula identity, Mr. Robert Penno, died at his residence, Albert Park, Cheltenham, on Monday, at the age of 64 years. Deceased for many years was engaged at Wallaroo Mines as engineer and at the Wallaroo mill. Subsequently he purchased the Redhill mill, which he worked for two or three years, after which he left for Coromandel Valley, where he opened a bakery establishment. Later on he went to Albert Park, Cheltenham, where he remained up to the time of his death.
Emma Penno, born 25 April 1841 Adelaide, South Australia, died 16 November 1914 Torrensville, buried Cheltenham Cemetery
The Advertiser, Saturday 21 November 1914, page 14
Mrs. Emma Penno, of West Adelaide, whose death occurred a few days ago, was born at Hindley-street, Adelaide, in April, 1841. Her father was the late Mr. Daniel Crosby, who arrived by the ship Planter in 1839, and her mother prior to marriage was Miss E. M. Du Rieu. Mrs. Penno was one of the first scholars of the Enfield Methodist Sunday-school, and joined the Methodist Church about 60 years ago. Her parents removed to Kapunda in 1858, and to Laura in 1861. A year later she married Mr. R. Vawser, who died in 1863. There were two children, but Mr. R. D. Vawser, of the Grange, is the only survivor. She married the late Mr. R. J. Penno in 1869, and had a family of four sons and four daughters, of whom the survivors are Messrs. A. J. Penno, of Coromandel Valley (chairman of the Mitcham District Council), H. J. Penno, of Keswick (past grand master of the Loyal Orange Lodge), F. D. Penno (Terowie), Mesdames W. C. Cook (Waikerie). G. P. Blunt (West Adelaide), H. Stephens. (Royal Park), and H. C. Wright (Thebarton).
PENNO, Robert Richards died 13 July 1889
The Advertiser, Tuesday 16 July 1889, page 4
A fatal accident occurred at the Wallaroo Mines on Saturday, the victim being a miner named Robert Penno. It appears that he was skip-filling at the 170-fathom level in Hughes's shaft, when a piece of wood nearly 4 feet long fell down the shaft and struck him on the head. Two or three more pieces about the same also came down immediately afterwards, and one of these which was pointed at the end entered his side, fracturing his ribs and tearing the spinal cord, death being almost instantaneous. Penno fell into the skip pit, which is about 6 feet deep, immediately after the first piece of wood struck him. At an inquest held by Mr. F. W. Garner an attempt was made to ascertain where the falling timber came from, and if anyone was to blame, but there appeared to be no timber of the kind that fell missing from the shaft, nor had anybody seen pieces of such timber lying about anywhere. In fact the whole thing was shrouded in mystery. The jury returned a verdict of accidental death, and found that "no blame can be attached to anyone," On Sunday the body of Penno was interred in the Kadina Cemetery. The funeral procession was headed by about 300 of the Miners' Association, of which the deceased was a member. Penno was about 30 years of age and married, but has left no family. Some years ago his father was rendered totally blind by an explosion at the Wallaroo Mines.
PENNY, Bertram Stephens died 03 November 1919
Lieutenant B. S. Penny, a well-known solicitor, who recently returned from the front, died in the military hospital at Keswick on Monday. He was 31 years of age, and was a member of the 16th Battalion. He was a son of Mr. Charles J. Penny, of Hackney, and left a widow and child. Lieutenant Penny was educated at St. Peter's College and the Adelaide University, where he went through his law course. He served his articles with Messrs. Fisher & Culross, of Adelaide, and was admitted to the Bar. At school and the University he was an enthusiastic sportsman, taking a great interest in cricket, tennis, and lacross. Though he was a fairly good cricketer, it was in rowing that he excelled. He rowed in the University four and eight aired crews, and in-the inter-State eight in 1907. He enlisted as a private in 1915 and received his commission on October 12 of the same year, leaving in January 1916 in charge of reinforcements to the 32nd Battery. On his arrival in Egypt he was transferred to the 16th Battalion, and remained with it until he was invalided to Australia with sunstroke some months later. He arrived in Adelaide at the end of 1916, and resumed his practice as a barrister, but never properly regained his health, which for the last 12 months had gradually failed. He died on Monday as the result of pneumonia.
Chronicle (Adelaide, SA : 1895 – 1954) Saturday 5th July 1924 Page 57
Mr. J. S. J. Penrose a highly respected resident, of Prospect, died on June 27, at the age of 82. As a young man he settled in Victoria with his parents, having come to Australia from Cornwall. For many years he engaged in agricultural and pastoral pursuits in Victoria, New South Wales, and Queensland. Subsequently he took up dairying and sheep-farming on an extensive scale at Casterton (Victoria), Boggabri (New South Wales), and on the Darling Downs (Queensland). About 16 years ago he came to South Australia. He married his cousin, the widow of Mr. W. T. Penrose.
Headstone Payneham Cemetery
PENROSE, Sarah died 16 December 1927
Mrs. Penrose who passed away at Kadina on the 16th December at the age of 81 years was the mother of Mr L. S. Penrose of Kooringa, and in her girlhood lived in Burra. Born in the city of London in 1846 she sailed for Australia with her uncle and aunt in
1854 arriving at Port Adelaide early the following year. With her relatives she came to Burra where her guardians obtained a position on one of the eastern sheep stations. They later returned to Burra where her uncle, Mr. Francis Cross, was for some considerable time caretaker and librarian of the Burra Institute. Mrs Penrose used to relate how well she remembered the arrival in Burra of the survivor of the Bourke and Wills expedition with the relief party and how weak and emaciated they looked. Mrs. Penrose was twice married. Her first husband was Mr. John Boundy whom she married in 1865 of whom one son, Mr. John Boundy of Kadina and a daughter, Mrs. M. Johnson of Broken Hill, survive. She afterwards married Mr. Richard Penrose at Moonta in 1882 of which one son survives Mr. L. S. Penrose: of Kooringa. A coincidence is that when Mr. Penrose obtained his present position with Messrs Drew and Crewes found that his predecessor, Mr. Bill Edwards, was his mother's nephew. Mr. Penrose predeceased .his wife several years ago, but just before Mr. Penrose sen. death they visited the Burra and were for a while the guests of their son and the Rev. A. J. Finch, Kooringa, and had the pleasure of renewing their acquaintance with many old Burra friends.
PENTELOW, Samuel Job died 10 May 1931
Mr. Samuel J. Pentelow, who died at Clifton-street, Hawthorn, on Sunday, at the age of 62, was for many years caretaker of the Adelaide Public Library, Museum, and Art Gallery. He first served the board of governors in 1892, and performed relief work in the Art Gallery when it was housed in the Exhibition Building. He was given a post as attendant at the Museum in 189, and was appointed caretaker in 1903. He began eight months'long service leave on February 1.
Headstone Mitcham General Cemetery
PERDRIX, J.L. died 26 May 1905 in Paris
News was received in Adelaide on Monday of the sudden death of Mr. J.L. Perdrix, proprietor of the well known cafe bearing his name in Grenfell Street. Mr. Perdrix was on holiday tour through Europe, and died in Paris on May 26 last.
PERRY, Joseph died 02 December 1882
Death of an Old Colonist.— A correspondent sends us the following : — ' Another of the old pioneers has passed away in the
person of Sir. Joseph Perry, sen., who died at his residence, Pirie-street, on the 2nd December. The deceased arrived in the colony
by the ship Asia in July, 1839, and landed at Holdfast Bay. By perseverance and industry and applying himself steadily to his calling
— that of a carpenter and joiner, a trade generally in demand in those days — in a few years accumulated property, and being of a saving habit was enabled to comfortably retire from business. He never took part in political or other matters. Within the last few years he has been three times to England, and would probably have gone a fourth had not an accident occurred to hnn about four years ago, by which his left leg was broken, and the shock caused to the system promoted the illness — fatty degeneration of the heart— which has now terminated fatally. It is scarcely four months ago that the celebration of Mr. Perry's golden wedding took place, and though an invalid he was then able to take some little part in it. Mrs. Perry is still in good health. There are now living three
sons and two daughters, all married, and a numerous family of grandchildren. Mr. Perry's remains were interred in the West terrace Cemetery on Monday
PERRY, Joseph Noah 14 February 1835 - 18 June 1913
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST.
One of the earliest colonists of South Australia, Mr. J. N. Perry, of South Terrace, Adelaide, died on Wednesday, after a brief illness, at the age of 78 years. He came to South Australia with, his parents, the late Mr. and Mrs. J. Perry, in the ship Asia in 1839. He was born at Devonport Dock, Plymouth, England, on February 14, 1835. When the Pulteney Street school was opened a few years after his arrival he was entered as one of its first scholars, and upon the completion of his education he engaged in the grocery trade. Later on the Victorian goldfields attracted his attention, and. accompanied by his brother George, who died some years ago, the late Mr. Perry spent some time in the search for the precious metal. The brothers' efforts were attended with a good deal of success, as from one claim on the Bendigo field they obtained a 120-lb. nugget. Shortly after his return to Adelaide in 1852 he proceeded to the Echunga goldfield, and later on the brothers went back to Bendigo. In 1855 he returned once more to Adelaide and began storekeeping, but four years later he went afield again to search for gold, his attention this time being directed to the Snowy River district of Gippsland (Victoria), but he did not stay there long. In 1870 he went into business again at the corner of Pirie and Ackland streets, and remained there till 1888 when he moved farther west in Pirie-street. There he and his wife celebrated their golden wedding in 1908. The deceased had always taken an interest in Sunday School work, and, attached to St. John's Church of England, he gave long service as a teacher. For many years also he was a member of the church choir. In 1857 he joined the 'Foresters' Lodge, and was a foundation member of the Sir James Ferguson, UA.O.D., Lodge. He was also identified with the Albion and Sir William Robinson lodges. For considerably over 30 years military matters claimed his attention. In 1858 he became a member of the Adelaide Military Forces, joining No, 1 Company of Artillery, of which he became sergeant-major. This force was disbanded in 1870, owing to the refusal ol Parliament to vote money for its maintenance, but Sergeant-Major Perry was one of 25 artillerymen who were retained to provide a guard of honour when one was required. When the Russian war scare took place the troops were reorganised. The artillery were again brought into commission, though the strength was limited to 100 men, including the original 25. There were 200 applicants for .the positions, and Sergeant-Major Perry's name headed the list of accepted candidates. In 1882 he was promoted to the rank of brigade sergeant-major, and in 1891 he retired with the rank of lieutenant. For many years he was a prominent figure at the Glenelg commemoration gatherings, where he had the opportunity to fraternise with 4 other early colonists and exchange experiences.
In several interviews published in "The Advertiser" he related some of the difficulties that confronted early settlers, and he took pride in reflecting on the remarkable progress of Adelaide and the State since the days when, with large numbers of other immigrants, his parents pitched their camp in Immigration square, just beyond West terrace. Their first residence, he used to tell his shearers, was in Leigh-street. Subsequently his parents purchased a small block of land in Pirie-street, on a site now occupied by Messre. Graves, Hill, & Co’s stables. The late Lieutenant Perry had a fine, upright carriage, notwithstanding his advanced age. His widow survives him, but there is no family
PERYMAN, Henry William died 20 June 1864
In our obituary of to-day occurs the name of Mr. H(enry). W(illiam). Peryman, a useful colonist of many years' standing. He filled for some time the office of City Surveyor, and he also carried on a very extensive business as a builder. Amongst those of his works which will long stand as a monument of his good workmanship we may mention the Wesleyan Chapel, Pirie-street, which he built. His son, we may also remark, erected the large Wesleyan Chapel, Archer street, North Adelaide. Latterly he has been cultivating his farm at Highercombe, till failing health compelled him to give this up, since which he has been living altogether at his residence, Tynte-street, North Adelaide. He was a man of great information, sound practical knowledge, and active habits. Notwithstanding the encroachment of disease, he would not allow his mind to be at rest. A short time ago he gained the second premium, for the best design for damming the Torrens, and at the time of his decease he was engaged upon the compilation of an essay upon the subject of draining the city, for which the Corporation a month or so ago offered premiums. As a man and as a friend he was greatly esteemed, his conduct being guided by truly Christian principles, which manifested themselves in his daily life and actions. The deceased was in his 60th year. The remains of the late Mr. Peryman were interred in the Walkerville Cemetery on Tuesday afternoon, June 21. There were between 30 and 40 persons, mostly friends of the deceased, present at the funeral, including Messrs. J. W. Peryman (son of the deceased), D. Peryman (brother of the deceased), Gault and Selway (chief mourners), J. H. Kaines, Alexander Cumming, John Ballantyne, E. B. W. Glandfield, J. Scott, D. Gall, &c The &cv. J. Cope officiated at the grave.
Headstone Walkerville Cemetery
PETERS, Henry died 23 July 1928
At the age of 80 years, Mr. Henry Peters died at the residence of his daughter (Mrs. A. A. Cruikshank), Junction road, Rosewater, on Monday morning. Born at St. Blazey (Cornwall), Mr. Peters came to Australia 50 years ago. He was engaged for many years in mining operations at Moonta, Broken Hill( Mount Morgan (Q.), Broken Hill, and in Western Australia. The deceased had lived at Rose
water for a number of years. He has left a son and daughter— Mr. James Peters and Mrs. A. A. Cruikshank, both of Rosewater.
PETERS, Mary Hannah
Mrs. Mary Hannah Peters, 68, who died at Mount Gambier, was born at Bordertown, and at the age of 19 was married to the late Mr. Joseph Peters, of Torrensdale. She resided at Torrensdale witfi her husband until his death in 1927, and on the death of her
second eldest son eight months later, went to Mount Gambier. During her long residence at Torrensdale she was an earnest worker for the local Methodist Church and for many years was superintendent and teacher in the Sunday-school. There is a family of two sons and four daughters, also seven grandchildren.
PHILIPS, John Chichester died 03 January 1933
Mr. J. c. Philips, who for more than 50 years was in business in Adelaide, died on Tuesday evening at the Rose Park Private Hospital, at the age of 87. For 50 years he was a licensed land broker, and for 45 years he was secretary of the Queen Permanent Building and Investment Society. He had been living in retirement at Kensington road, Norwood, for some years.
PHILLIPS, Auguste Pauline died 18 July 1932
Mrs. R. Phillips, a highly esteemed resident of World's End, passed away on Monday morning last at the age of 74 years. The funeral took place at Kooringa on Tuesday afternoon when the Rev. H. S. Jarvis conducted the service.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PHILLIPS, James Fabian
On Friday morning Sir Charles Todd received a telegram, conveying the news of the death of Mr. James Fabian Phillips formerly of the South Australian Telegraph service, which occurred at Kalgoorlie after a few days illness. Mr. Phillips was an old South Australian, and entered the Telegraph Department in June, 1836 as a messenger at Port Adelaide, where he afterwards rose to the position of junior, clerk. He was then successively junior clerk at Adelaide, assistant operator at Port Adelaide, and afterwards at Adelaide, and in December, 1870, he was sent to Port Augusta to take charge of that station, which position he occupied until I882, when lie resigned and went into business on his own account. A few years later he entered the telegraph service in Kalgoorlie, where he remained until his death. Mr. Phillips is a brother of Mr. E. J. Phillips, agent, of Adelaide, and married a daughter of Mr. Thomas Burgoyne, M.P. Pneumonia was the cause of death.
PHILLIPS, James died 21 April 1903
DEATH OF DR. J. PHILLIPS
The death is announced of Dr. James Phillips, one of the oldest medical practitioners in Australia. The deceased gentleman obtained his diplomas from the Royal College of Surgeons and the Society of Apothecaries in London so long ago as 1813, so that he had been a duly qualified medical practitioner for 60 years. He came to Adelaide in the early days, and for a number of years was associated in the practice of his profession with the late Dr. Mayo, one of the most highly-respected of the pioneers of medicine in this city. Dr. Phillips, who had not practised for some years, resided on North-terrace, next to the Adelaide Club, where his death occurred early on Tuesday morning. He was a great friend of the late Dr. Morgan Thomas, and was a well known figure in the city until he retired into private life. Dr. Phillips was greatly esteemed by all who knew him, and years ago he had a most extensive practice in Adelaide. To the present generation of patients, however, he was comparatively unknown. He took a deep interest in everything affecting the honor and the advancement of his profession, and kept himself well abreast of the developments of modern science. Although an old man, Dr. Phillips retained his upright bearing and his characteristic look of alertness to the last, while his mental faculties were as keen as ever. His death will make one more melancholy gap in the ranks of the oldest colonists of the State. Shortly after taking his degree Dr. Phillips came out to South Australia, and settled down to practice. At the time of his death he was in his 82nd year. He retired from practice ten years ago, and had lived a quiet, reserved life ever since. His wife and one daughter (Mrs. S. K. Ellison) died some time ago, but the son, who is in England, and four daughters (Mrs. E. W. O'Halloran, Mrs. Singleton, Mrs. J. C. Hawker, and Mrs. E. W. Howard) survive. At one period the deceased gentleman held a position at the Adelaide Hospital, and was also a medical visitor to the Lunatic Asylum. The cause of death was old age. The funeral will take place this morning at the North-road Cemetery.
Headstone North Road Anglican Cemetery
PHILLIPS, Thomas Dickinson died 04 February 1903
Mr. T. D. Phillips, one of the oldest and best-known station managers in South Australia, died at his residence, "Caldina,"
Gilberton, on Wednesday, at the age of 61. He arrived in South Australia 43 years ago, and entered the service of Mr. J. H. Angas at Collingrove. From there he was transferred to the Wirrialpa and Teatree stations, to the east of' Blinman, in the far
north. Subsequently he was appointed manager of these two stations, and continued to occupy that position until a short
time ago, when he had to come to Adelaide owing to failing, health. He was a man full of resources, and many obstacles in station management that would have proved insuperable to other men were successfully overcome by him. Mr. Phillips was a
skilled bushman, and owing to his knowledge of the country he combined enterprise with caution. He married a daughter of Mr. J. McTaggart, of Wooltana station, and Mrs. Phillips, two sons, and three daughters survive him. Mr. C. Boothby of Parallana, married one of the daughters.
Advertiser Wednesday 11 February 1903 page 7
February 9.-Great regret was felt here when the news arrived of the death at Gilberton on Wednesday last of Mr. T. D. Phillips, of Billeroo, in this district. The deceased gentleman was one of the oldest and most experienced bushmen in this portion of the State. He left Waukaringa about two months ago to be near medical advice, but the malady from which he was suffering made rapid strides, and he died on February 4.
PHILLIS, Caroline Elizabeth died 05 December 1904
AN OLD COLONIST DEAD.
Mount Pleasant, December 10.
An old and highly-respected pioneer - Mrs. George Phillis, of Spring Vale has died at the age of 70 years. The deceased, who was born in Kent on January 1, 1834, and came out with her parents in the Africane, landed on Kangaroo Island in November. 1836. After staying there three years she came with her parents, to South Australia, and landed at the old Port on October 15, 1839. The family re- moved to Alberton, where they stayed four years before coming to Mount Pleasant in March, 1843, in a bullock dray. They settled on Kent Farm, and Mrs. Phillis spent her early days minding sheep. She was married to Mr. George Phillis in March, 1850, and he survives her at the age of 77 years. She also left three sons - Messrs. George Phillis (Baroota), John Phillis (Walker's Flat), and Thomas Phillis (Spring Vale)-and four daughters Mrs. Smith. Mount Pleasant; Mrs Roy, Devon Downs; and Misses E. and F. Phillis, Spring Vale, and 16 grandchildren.
Headstone Mount Pleasant St. John's Anglican Cemetery
Mr. George Phillis, who died at hishome, Prospect, at the age of 81, was the eldest son of the late Mr. GeorgePhillis, of Mount Pleasant. As ayoung man he farmed at Georgetown,and in 1878 went to Baroota, where helived for many years. In 1917 he retired and made his home at Wellington road, North Norwood, until a fewmonths before his death. He was ajustice of the peace from 1909. Heleaves a widow, one son—Mervyn, of Baroota—and three daughters—Mrs.Harold Hosking, Baroota, Mrs. AlgieAtkins, Port Pirie, and Mrs. KennethAndrews, Snowtown. There are seven grandchildren.
PHILP, John died 23 July 1944
Mr. John Philp, of Ophir street, Goodwood Park, who died recently, was born at Port Isaac Cornwall, 78 years ago. He sailed for Australia, arriving here in March, 1892. Four years later he married the third daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. J. S. Mabbett and except for six years spent in Western Australia, he has lived in South Australia since then. He was a Salvationist for over 50 years and it was his great delight to march in front of the Congress Hall Band carrying the flag.
PICKHAVER, Thomas died 16 February 1904
Captain Thomas Pickhaver died at his residence, Semaphore-road, Exeter, on Tuesday night, aged 79 years. He had for a long time, been confined to his bed. Captain Pickhaver was a well-known identity of Port-Adelaide. He was a colonist of 52 years and was one of the chief sea port's oldest pilots. He joined the pilot service in 1854 and retired from it in 1888. He came to South Australia in the barque Geelong in September, 1852. His wife died about seven months ago. Several children and grandchildren survive him.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
PICKLES, Joseph died 13 December 1931
Mr. Joseph Pickles, a colonist of 55 years, died recently at the home of Mrs. J. Kelly, Georgetown, in his 78th year. He was born in Lancashire England, and had spent the last 11 years in Georgetown. Previous to that he had lived in Port Pirie.
PIKE, Edwin Francis died 29 January 1950
Mr. Edwin Francis Pike, of Oakbank, who died recently at the age of 71 years, had been in ill-health for some time. He was the youngest son of tne founder of the firm of H. Pike and Co. Ltd., and at the time of his death was managing director. One sister survives him. He leaves two daughters and five grandchildren.
Headstone Blahannah St. Thomas Anglican Cemetery
PIKE, Henry died 14 January 1904
At 7pm on Thursday, while in his garden at Oakbank, Mr. Henry Pike of the firm Pike, Son & Beasley, Dorest Brewery, Oakbank died suddenly of heart disease. The deceased would have completed his 68th year on March 1 next. He was an example of successful business aptitude. Coming to the State in1887 he at first followed his avocation as a builder, and the first big work he was engaged in was the erection of Mr. Barr-Smith's house at Mount Barker. Trade became dull a little later, and, haying a knowledge of brewing, he entered the! employ of Mr. J Johnston, brewer, of Oakbank. A little later still he desired to apply his own special knowledge of brewing, and to that end started, a business of his own, and that he was able to meet the public taste in the way of beer was evidenced by the fact that the business, has grown to the proportions it exhibits today. Mr. Pike left a family of seven children. The two sons, Messrs. Walter and Edwin Francis Píke were in the firm with their father. Of the five daughters, four are married one to Mr.. D. A. Beasley, the deceased gentleman's partner, a second to Mr. R.T. Donovan, Bank of.Australasia, Adelaide, a third to Mr. 0. Waye, of, Willunga and a fourth; to Mr. J. McKerman, of Mile-End.
Headstone Balhannah St. Thomas Anglican Cemetery
Miss M. Pinkerton, daughter of Mr. T. Pinkerton, of Kingston, who died on December 4, was 54 years old. An operation was performed in Adelaide, and she did not rally afterwards. Her remains were taken by train to Kingston for interment. Miss Pinkerton was librarian of the Kingston Institute, and the committee passed a resolution of sympathy with the family.
PITT, Mr. & Mrs. E (golden wedding anniversary)
Mr. and Mrs. E Pitt of Willowbank, Marden, celebrated their golden wedding yesterday. Mr Pitt is the third son of the late Mr Charles Pitt, a pioneer gardener of the Torrens, who came to South Australia 66 years ago. When Mr E. Pitt was about 20 years old he married Miss Eliza Goss, daughter of Mr Henry Goss, a prominent Wesleyan local preacher of long ago. Since then Mr Pitt has been fruit growing and farming. Mr Pitt has held numerous offices in the Methodist Church, of which his wife and he have been members for, more than half a century. They have four sons, two daughters, and 20 grandchildren. Among the speakers yesterday were the Revs C. H Ingamells and W Jeffries, who referred co the long residence of Mr and Mrs. Pitt in this State. They carne to South Australia in the years 1849 and 1840 respectively, being married in the, Pirie street Church. A presentation was made to Mr Pitt on behalf of the Methodist Sunday-school at Payneham, with which he had long been connected, m the shape of volumes of Geike's "Holy Land" and Farrar's "Life of Christ."
PLAYER, Elizabeth died 22 August 1928
Mrs. Elizabeth Player who has resided in Kooringa for a number of years passed away on Wednesday last at the age of 71 years. She leaves a grown up family.
PLEW, Mary died 16 September 1906
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST,
RIVERTON, September I8 - The death occurred on Sunday of an old and respected resident, Mrs Mary, Plew, of Wadnama, near Undalya, She was 85 years, of age. She had been hale and hearty all her life, and had a wonderful memory. She was born in Swansea, Wales, being the daughter of the late Mr Thomas Fisher. With her parents she came to South Australia in the ship Duchess of Northumberland, arriving here in 1839 The family settled m Hindmarsh where she was married to Mr. John Plew. Mr. and Mrs. Plew came to the Lower Wakefield, where her husband worked for the late Mr. Fry About 57 years ago they took up land on the Wakefield, where Mrs Plew had resided ever since. Her husband was killed by being thrown out of a cart 44 years ago, leaving her with, a family of 12 children. She struggled through hard times, and was able to command a comfortable position in after life. She had been interested in grazing and farming, and her son, Mr John Plew, had remained with her on the farm. In the early days about 30 cows were milked, and all the produce carted by road to Adelaide. A family of 10 grown-up children survive, and there are between; 70 and 80 grandchildren, and 30 to 40 great-grandchildren. The children are Thomas Plew, Western Australia, John Plew, Undalya, William Plew, Eurilpa, David Plew, Booleroo Centre; and Charles Plew, Skilly, Auburn; Mrs. D Kemp, Koolunga; Mrs. T. S Parsons Booleroo Centre, Mrs, C Barber, Broken Hill; Mrs. Orchard, Auburn, and Mrs. Nock, Western Australia.
Headstone Riverton Old Pioneer Cemetery
PLUMMER, Isaac Arthur died 27 September 1905
Major Plummer, inspector of schools whose remains will be interred at the West terrace Cemetery this morning, will be accorded a military funeral. Though the full ceremonial cannot be observed, as the deceased soldier was on the retired list, the military headquarters staff and as many officers as possibly can attend have decided to assemble voluntarily to do honour to their deceased comrade. The body of Major Plummer was brought to Adelaide from Georgetown on Thursday night by his son. The cause of his death is stated to have been heart failure supervening on influenza.
Advertiser Saturday 30 September 1905
The remains of Inspector I A Plummer, who died at Georgetown on Wednesday, were accorded a military funeral on Friday Morning. The cortege which included members of the 10th Australian Infantry, Scottish corps, Field Artillery and the Army Medical corps, left the residence of the deceased in Pirie Street and to the strains of the "Dead March", played by the Military Band, proceeded to the West Terrace Cemetery, where the funeral service was conducted by Canon Hopcraft. The coffin was carried on a gun carriage, and was draped with the Union Jack, and the funeral was attended by the Premier, (Hon T Price),
Inspector General of Schools (Mr. L W Stanton), and Assistant Inspector of Schools (Mr. C L Whitham), Mr. H A Curtis (secretary to the Education Department), all the members of the inspectoral staff, some of whom travelled from Peteresburg and Mount Gambier to attend, and a large number of head teachers of various public schools.
PLUNKET, Annie Maria aka Sister Emmanuel Plunkett died 06 January 1904
By the death of Sister Emmanuel Plunkett, the St. Dominican's Priory, North Adelaide, has lost a valued worker. Archbishop O'Reily has described the deceased as a capable, kindly hearted person, devoted to her work. She was engaged in connection with the Priory for about 14 years, and was a native of Dublin. On Thursday morning requiem mass was celebrated at the Priory. The archbishop was present.
POBKE, Johann Carl Gottlieb died 16 May 1929
Mr J.C.G. Pobke, of near Mannum, who died recently at the age of 78, carried on farming and the trade of a mason. He was a member of the District Council of Mannum for some years, and for the district of Caurnamont for a number of years. He was a member of the church of England. Mrs Pobke died nine years ago. The members of the family are:- G.A Pobke, C.G. Pobke, P.B. Pobke, W.H. Pobke, A.F. Pobke and J.W. Pobke. Mesdames J.W. Budarick and D.C. Chambers. There are 26 grandchildren and four great grandchildren.
Mr. Arthur Pomeroy who died in London on January 13, 1931, in his 83rd year, was, at one time, an active worker in the Congregational Church in Brougham-place, North Adelaide. He was a brother-in-law of Mr. Richard Searle, who was one of the early, promoters of the Adelaide Y.M.C.A. He was a brother of Mr. Harry Pomeroy and of Mr. John Pomeroy, of Sydney,who were well known in business circles and in the Congregational Church there. Mr. Arthur Pomeroy married Miss Agnes Caroline, second daughter of the late Mr. Samuel Bakewell of Adelaide. She died in London in 1913. One of their daughters, Miss Kathleen Pomeroy,
resides in South Australia, after long and honored service in London during the Great War. The other daughter, Miss Olive Pomeroy, resides in London. Of the two sons, one is in London, and one in Canada. Mr. Pomeroy was a native of Devonshire.
POMERY, Henry Richard died 19 April 1951
Mr. Henry Pomery, one of the oldest residents of Peterborough, died recently at the age of 83. His early recollections were of big sheep runs covering the sites of the present towns of Peterborough and Yongala. He was 15 years old when the Methodist Church was built, and he was appointed its first organist, a position he retained without a break for 66 years. He was also choir conductor for many years, leading his choir to victory in several competitions. Mr. Pomery has left a widow and three children, all married.
PONTON, Charles Maynes died 05 January 1906
Mr. Charles Mayne Ponton, who died in Salisbury on Saturday, was the owner of the beautiful property of Paraville. He was a grower of oranges on a large scale, and was very successful in the enterprise. Mr. Ponton was a member of the local district council. He left a widow and young family.
Headstone Salisbury St. John's Anglican Cemetery
POOL, Robert died 20 August 1910
The death is announced of Mr. Robert Pool, of Brookside, Cudlee Creek. He was 60 years of age, and had spent practically the whole of his life in the home in which he died. He represented Cudlee Creek ward in the District Council of Talunga for several years, but failing health caused him to resign at the last elections. He had a kindly, sympathetic nature, and won the respect of all with whom he had dealings. He took a deep interest in Sabbath-school and Endeavor work. He left a widow, three daughters (Mrs. E. H. Hannaford, of The Briars, and Misses Amy and Beatrice Pool), and four sons (Messrs. Robert J., Allan, William, and Edward Pool).
Courtesy of Ian Turnbull
POOLE, Ann died 22 July 1905
Mrs. Ann Poole, who died at Henley Beach on Friday, was a colonist of nearly 60 years, and was in her 87th year. She
was the relict of Mr. John Poole, and for many years resided at York. During the past five years she had been living at Henley Beach with her - daughter (Mrs. W. Johns). Mr. and Mrs. Poole were amongst the earliest members of the Church of Christ, Robert-street, Hindmarsh, and later were connected with churches of that denomination at York and Henley Beach.
Mrs. Poole left one daughter (Mrs. W. Johns) and nine grandchildren.
POPHAM, Francis William Home died 27 January 1903
Our Gawler correspondent telegraphed last night:-Residents of the town were shocked this afternoon on learning of the sudden death of Dr. Popham at Victor Harbor. The deceased gentleman, with his wife and child, only left Gawler on Saturday for the purpose of spending a holiday at the seaside. For some considerable time the doctor had been in indifferent health, but his death was unexpected. He was the only son of the late Dr. W. H. Popham, of Gawler, and came to the town with his father when but a child. Later on he went to England, and obtained his degrees in medicine and surgery. About 1872 he returned to Gawler, and carried on the practice of his father, who had died during his absence. The late doctor was a good townsman, and was held in high esteem, both for his professional skill and as a citizen. He had occupied the position of president of the local institute, vice-president of the Agricultural Society, W.M. of the Gawler Lodge of Freemasons, and honorary officer of health, for the Gawler board of health. He took several degrees in the higher branches of Freemasonry, and held the rank of colonel-brigadier-surgeon of the South Australian Military Forces. He took a deep interest in philanthropic and sporting matters. Much sympathy is felt for his widow, who is left with one child, only a few weeks old.
PORTEOUS, Elizabeth died 14 July 1902
July 17.-Much regret was felt on Monday when the death of Mrs. Andrew Porteous became known. The deceased lady, who was living alone, fell out of bed on Sunday night, and remained on the floor until 7 o'clock the next morning. She died two hours after being found. The funeral took place yesterday at the public cemetery. A large number of relatives and i friends attended. The deceased was a very old resident of Echunga.
Headstone Echunga General Cemetery
POSSINGHAM, Albert Edward died 05 May 1931
Mr. Edward Alfred Possingham, who died at his residence, Princess-street Alberton, yesterday, was for 35 years city gardener to the Port Adelaide City Council. He was born at Wistow, near Mount Barker, in 1867. At the age of 23 he married Miss Ellen Ganlin. In his younger days he took a prominent part in rifle and pigeon shooting. He planned the Port Adelaide gardens and the memorial gardens at Semaphore. He leaves a widow, three daughters Mesdames H. A. Harmer, Lincoln-street, Rosewater; W. Larry. Margaret-street, Rosewater; and H. Gordon. Rosetta street, Greytown; and one son, Mr. M. Possingham, Angas-street, Alberton.
Headstone Cheltenham Cemetery
POTTER, Edward and Mary Anne (nee SNOWBALL)
The Advertiser, 5 Aug 1924, p. 11
Mr. E. Potter, F.G.S., who died on Sunday, was one of Gawler's prominent men. Born at Arundel, Sussex, on April 18, 1843. He came with his parents to South Australia in 1852. Mr. Potter first settled at Lyndoch as a tinsmith and ironworker, but Gawler presenting greater possibilities he removed to that town in 1869, and established a business which is now under the control of Mr. G. Weaver. During his long residence in Gawler Mr. Potter was one of the most influential and respected citizens. He was a foundation member of the American As saying Club, organised in 1888, when experiments with the blowpipe were con ducted, principally by him, and he maintained his association with this organisation through all its trials, until ultimately the Government took over what is now the Technical School, on Lyndoch road. Mr. Potter was president of this society for over 20 years. It was at a period when the institution had assumed the title of the Gawler Geological and Mineralogical Class that he was made a Fellow of the Geological Society, the residents recognising the honor by according him a public social. He was an ardent worker for the institute, and was president and trustee. He was chairman and director of the Permanent Building and Investment Society, a member of the Town Council, and a justice of the peace, and frequently acted as Coroner. He was a member of the Manchester Unity of Odd fellows. Initiated in Albion Lodge (Adelaide) in 1865, he filled all the chairs in the country lodges and acted as trustee for many years, having over 60 years' intimate knowledge of the Order. For over a quarter of a century he was a member of the board of directors, and never failed to get office when nominated. In May 1923, the district honored his services by a double presentation made in the lodge room at Gawler, Mr. Potter receiving a large photograph, massively framed, for hanging in the lodgeroom, and as a personal tribute a roll-top smoker's outfit from the board of directors. In the very early days Mr. Potter was associated with the old Trinity Mutual Improvement Society of Adelaide. Of late years he had withdrawn from all public positions, and spent the autumn of his days in quiet ness.
The Advertiser, 25 Mar 1932, p. 9
By the death of Mrs. Edward Potter, widow of the late Edward Potter, Gawler, has lost another of its earliest residents. She was the daughter of the late Mr. Ralph Snowball, an engineer in Yorkshire. England. In 1848 she came to South Australia with her parents, in the ship Princess Royal. The family lived at first in a dug-out roofed over with branches of trees. Later they lived in a wooden house, on the site of Moore's Emporium, Gouger Street. On her marriage to Edward Potter, she went to Lyndoch, where her husband was in business. In 1869 she went to Gawler and remained there until her death. Surviving members of the family are Messrs. Percy C. (Gawler), Leonard H. (Brisbane), and Mesdames W. Walker (Glenelg), W. R. Peake (Monreith), and Miss H. M. Potter (Gawler). Three sons predeceased her. There are 17 grandchildren living and four great grandchildren.
Headstone Willaston Cemetery
POTTER, James Radford died 27 December 1949
Mr. James Ratford Potter, who died at Gladstone at the age of 68, was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jeremiah Potter and was born at Caltowie. He was educated at Caltowie and farmed all his life. He represented Yangya ward in the Gladstone District Council for over 25 years, was a mason, and a Methodist. In 1912 he married Miss Hilda Hollitt, at Wirrabara Methodist Church. He is survived by a widow and two children— Mr J. A. Potter (Gladstone), and Mrs. Connie Winters (WA).
Headstone Gladstone Cemetery
POTTER, Margaret died 14 July 1902
Word was received here this afternoon from Adelaide of the death of Mrs. Margaret Potter, relict or Mr. Daniel Potter, of Green Hill Farm, Gambier East. The deceased lady was a very old colonist, having arrived in Mount Gambier over 45 years ago. Her remains will be interred in the Mount Gambier Cemetery on Wednesday.
Headstone Mount Gambier Lake Terrace Cemetery
POTTER, Samuel died 06 June 1901
An old and respected colonist, Mr. Samuel Potter, died at Langholm, near Lyndoch, on Thursday last. The late Mr. Potter arrived, in the State by the ship Somersetshire on August 28, 1839, and proceeded to Lyndoch, where he continued to reside up to the time of his decease. Some years after his arrival he took over his father's blacksmithing business, and carried it on successfully. The bellows used in the first brass foundry in South Australia owned by the late Mr. Pybus, were imported by Mr. Potter's father, and have been in constant use at Mr. Samuel Potter's establishment. Mr. Potter leaves a widow but no children. The funeral, which was conducted on Sunday, last, was the largest that had eves taken place in the district
Headstone Lyndoch Cemetery
POTTER, William Norwood died 03 April 1871
Our obituary announced the death, in Adelaide, of Mr. Wm. N. Potter, of Blanchetown, respecting whom we have received the
following information from a gentleman at Blanchetown: —" It is with the greatest sorrow that the inhabitants of Blanchetown have to
announce the death of an old and esteemed fellow-colonist, Mr. W. N. Potter. The cause of death appears to have been an internal complaint, under which he has been for some time labouring, and for which, after his removal to Adelaide, he was placed under the skilful hands of Drs. Gosse and Whittell. The deceased gentleman had for some time past acted at this port as Custom-House and general agent, and by his uniform kindness had gained the esteem of all who had the pleasure of his Acquaintance. To him the township is indebted for many improvements for the facilities of trade, and the settlers in general around will bear willing testimony to his interest on their behalf. Mr. Potter will also be remembered as connected with the Murray shipping trade from its earliest
commencement. He leaves a widow and a large young family to lament their loss."
The death, of Mr. Arthur Potts, of Bushey, Herts, England, is announced. He was formerly a student at the Adelaide School of Mines and Industries, and the School of Art, and he left for London to join the Herkomer Art School. Mr. Potts relatives reside at Langhorne Creek. He was a good cricketer, and at one time played for the East Torrens club. Last year he had one of his pictures in the Royal Academy.
POWELL, Charles B
The name of Mr. Charles B. Powell, Cheltenham-street, Malvern, was omitted from the list of old colonists present at Glenelg on Commemoration Day. Mr. Powell was born on March 21, 1840 at Walkerville. His late father came to South Australia in the Duke of York, and landed at Kangaroo Island. He is believed to have planted there the first fruit trees planted in the State. Some of them are still alive, notably the mulberry.
POWELL, Thomas William died 07 April 1891
Thomas William Powell of Glenelg died on 7 April aged 84. In 1848 he arrived in Kooringa and opened a chemist shop in Commercial St where he also kept the post office. As well as post-master he was clerk of the Local Court, taking this on when the first clerk, Mr Grant, went to the Victorian diggings in 1851. He also became then District Registrar of births, deaths and marriages. He resigned as post-master in 1858 when his eldest son took over briefly before William Pearce took the job, until the telegraph office was built and the post and telegraph offices were united. He remained Clerk of Courts and Registrar of births, marriages and deaths till 1860 and then went to similar positions in Clare. In old age a comfortable independence left him by a relative in England allowed him to retire to St Leonards, Glenelg, where he died. He leaves a family of five. His second son is Mr S.S. Powell of Glenelg, eldest daughter Mrs G.B. Yeates of Jamestown and his second daughter the late Mrs Andrew Young and his youngest daughter are some years deceased. His wife died before he left Clare. He was a prominent member and lay reader of the Anglican Church.
POWER, Cornelius died 12 July 1914
A Clarendon correspondent writes: Profound regret was expressed as the sad news became known that Mr C Power had passed away at his residence here at 5 o'clock on Sunday morning. The deceased gentleman hailed from Tipperary, Ireland. Arrived in this state more than 40 years ago and resided at Goodwood for 22 years where he was widely known and highly respected. About 4 years ago he was appointed caretaker of the Clarendon Weir and occupied that position until a few weeks before his death when owing to failing health he retired and his numerous friends here made it the occasion to show their appreciation of him for his sterling worth by tendering him a social and making him the recipient of a handsome armchair and a silver mounted umbrella. He was a devout and practical Catholic. Fr. McNamara attended him during his illness and he was fortified by the Last Rites of the Church.
POWER, Edward died 22 February 1904
The oldest resident of Freeling, Mr. Edward Power, died on February 22., He came to the State in 1858, and in the early sixties took up land in Freeling, and carried on farming pursuits until the time of his death. He was much respected for his straightforward dealings and sterling worth. He left a large family of grown-up sons and daughters.
POWER, Sarah died 24 October 1910
News of the sudden death of Mrs C Power was received with much regret in Goodwood, where she resided since her arrival in S.A. in 1874, up till a few years ago when Mr Power was transferred from Adelaide to Clarendon Water works. The deceased lady, a native of Co. Tipperary Ire. was well known for the many acts of charity she performed and was ever ready to give her service at the sick bedside or for the want of a needy neighbour. This together with possessing that piety derived from a whole faith won the esteem of all she came in contact with. She leaves a sorrowing husband, 3 sons, 5 daughters and 30 grandchildren.
PRATT, Gottlieb William
Mr. Gottlieb William Pratt, who died recently at Wallaroo, was born at Port Wakefield 52 years ago. For many years he was connected with the Railways Department, but retired about two years ago owing to ill health. On the death of his brother, who was also employed in the Railway Department about 12 months ago, he went to Wallaroo with his sister in-law and eldest brother. Another
brother also employed in the department was killed in a railway accident at Terowie about three years ago.
Mr. T. Pratt, who died at Liverpool, England, on July 16 was appointed Lloyd's Surveyor at Whyalla when the shipbuilding industry began in 1941. He was an early member of the Whyalla Bowling Club, and also played golf. Mr. Pratt served in the first world war
with the rank of captain, and won the Military Cross.
Mr. Thomas Pratt, of Mumbannar, who died at Mount Gambier recently, was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Charles Pratt, and was born at Mumbannar In 1882. He was a keen supporter of the Dartmoor P. and H. Society and of the Mumbannar Gun Club, and took a keen interest in all district movements. He left two brothers, Messrs. C. Pratt (of Watchupau, Victoria) and H. Pratt (Dartmoor) ; and two sisters, Mrs. Ann Pardington (Dartmoor) and Miss Elizabeth Pratt (Mumbannar). There are also two step-brothers living, Messrs. Robert Johnston, of Mount Gambier, and James Johnston, of Mount Richmond, Victoria.
PRATT, William died 03 August 1937
The death occurred at Lock on August 3 of Mr. William Pratt, 77, of Blyth, He was born in County Cavan, Ireland, and came to Australia with his parents in the Charlotte Gladstone in 1866, and settled at Rice's Creek, Auburn, SA. Twenty years later he started farming on the Blyth Plains, and in 1892 married Florence Jane, elder daughter of the late James and Emmiline Sampson, of Blyth. He was a councillor of the Blyth District Council for 18 years, ten of which he was chairman. He was a foundation member of the Blyth Show
and Agricultural Society since its inception, seven years of which he was president. He was also a foundation member of the Blyth District hospital, and St. Margaret's Church of England. He was made an honorary member of the hospital board since 1923. He was chairman of the Soldiers' Memorial and Repatriation Committee, and was a member of the Foresters' Lodge (Auburn). Mr. Pratt left a widow. four sons, and two daughters-- Messrs. J. H. Pratt. Lock; W. L. Pratt, Willunga; J L Pratt, "Boskey Dell", Blyth: A. G. Pratt. Blyth: Mrs. J. H Guy. Bowillia: and Miss Eileen Pratt. of Day road. Glen Osmond, and eight grand-children. His remains were interred in the Blyth Cemetery.
Headstone Blyth Cemetery
PRESCOTT, George Frederick died 02 August 1905
Mr. G. F. Prescott, who died at Rose Park this week, at the age of 74 years was the fourth son of the late Mr. William Prescott, who arrived in the State in 1838, and became architect to the South Australian Company. The old homestead at Prescott-terrace still remains a landmark in Rose Park, and it is one of the oldest farms in the State, being at present the nearest to the city of Adelaide. Some 268, acres were leased, from the South Australian Company in 1840 by the deceased
father, who died in August, 1878 a few years before the late Mrs. Prescott. Being a "typical farmer's dwelling,' the homestead presents a strong contrast to the handsome adjacent residences. This year there are 70 acres under crop, and nearly 30 cows are milked. The surviving family are Messrs. William, Edward, and Michael Prescott, and Miss Prescott, all of' whom have reached an advanced age.
Headstone Magill St. George Anglican Cemetery
PRETTEJOHN, George Richard died 10 November 1920
Mr. George R. Prettejohn who died at Quorn last week was at first a Railway Porter, but afterwards conducted (with his sons) a successful carrying business. He was a good stockman and drover, and was a District Councillor for the Suburban Ward. His father, the late Mr. Henry Prettejohn, was the son of an English squire, held a Commission in the Navy and sailed for years with Lord Fitzclarence, two uncles( Sir Tomas Maitland and Gen. Frederick Maitland) were Governors of Malta and Ceylon respectively.
Mr. G.R. Prettejohn was 62 years of age and was born at Wallaroo. He was twice married and left a widow, 7 sons (two of whom are returned soldiers) and three married daughters.
His mother, who is 80 years of age, survives him
Headstone Quorn Cemetery
PRETTEJOHN, Henry died 11 January 1884
A chequered career- on the 11th of this month (says the Wallaroo Times) there passed away an old colonist, in the person of Mr. Henry Prettejohn, who has for many years been a resident of Wallaroo. The desceased gentleman's has been a most chequered career. The son of an English squire, a man who in early life mixed in the best society and at one time held a commission in H.M.Navy, he in after life became a victum of misfortune to such a degree that his last years were full of trouble. From a letter which he wrote to his son in 1875, and which is now before us, we learn that Mr. Prettejohn was born in the County of Berks, England on Jan 21 1809. His father, an English Country gentleman, married the daughter of Colonel Buckley and as a proof of his standing his sister (the aunt of deceased) married the Earl of Lauderdale's brother. Mr. Prettejohn's uncle Sir Thomas Maitland, was at one time Govenor of Malta, while another uncle, General Frederick Maitland, was the Govenor of Ceylon. In this letter referred to Mr. Prettejohn adds.-"It was to a very near relative of mine, Captain Maitland of the Bellerophon that the once famed Napoleon Bonaparte surrendered himself after the battle of Waterloo" After referring to other members of his own family he continues "Early in my life I joined the Royal Navy as a midshipman and sailed for some years with Lord Fitzclarence I also had the honour at a subsiquent period of being presented to His Majesty William 1V by Lord Fitzclarence.... After remaining in the navy for some years I left the service, and through a disagreement with my father, in which I alone was to blame, I came to the Colonies and was married". The writter concluded by referring to Sir John Morphett as being able to substantiate what he said. During the last 10 years Mr. Prettejohn had been a great sufferer from Rheumatism, being prevented altogether from engaging in any kind of employment, and for several months before his death he was confined to bed, suffering at times the greatest of agony. He leaves a widow, 3 sons & 4 daughters.
Headstone Wallaroo Cemetery and wife Rose Prettejohn courtesy of Helen Prettejohn
PRETTEJOHN, Nathaniel died 29 March 1905
The deathof Mr. Nathaniel Prettejohn, which occurred at Brooklyn Park, near Reedbeds, on Wednesday, has removed another of the fast diminishing band of pioneer colonists, and one of the best-known residence of the neighbourhood in which he lived. Mr. Prettejohn was born Devonshire on September 3 1834, and come to Australia with his father (Mr. Nathaniel Prettejohn sen.) in the ship Auressa in 1939. Mr. Prettejjohn sen., built the Clarendon Hotel in Hindley Street, which he occupied in the early days. The son became a builder, which he remained till his death. He settled in Brooklyn Park in 1853. He had 13 children, only three of whom are still living - Messrs. Arthur & Ernest and Miss K. Prettejohn - all living at home.
PRETTY, Alfred Henry died 21 June 1929
Mr Alfred Henry Pretty, one of the most prominent figures in Freemasonary in South Australia, died at his residence, Rose street, Mile End on Friday. Mr Pretty who was 55 years of age, was well known as a master sign writer and decorator, and carried on business on North terrace for many years. He was a member of the Thebarton Town Council for some years and filled the office of Mayor with distinction. He associated himself with several local activities, including sports. In 1918 he was Grand Director of Ceremonies in the Grand Lodge of Freemasons, a post for which he was admirably suited, having a commanding personality and a fine, resonant voice. He was initiated in St Andrew's Lodge in 1907, and on the inauguration of the Torrensville Lodge, he became a foundation member. He was elected first junior warden, and ultimately became Master of the Lodge. He was also first master of the Torrensville Mark Lodge. The Royal Arch Chapter and the Knights Templar lodges also claimed his attention. He was a member of no fewer than eight Masonic choirs, being the possessor of a fine baritone voice.
Headstone Payneham Cemetery
PRIDHAM, John died 23 August 1950
Mr. John Pridham, who died in the Crystal Brook Hospital, was born at Aldinga, SA, on April 23, 1853. and came to Crystal Brook in 1873. He was married to Miss Grace Pridham his cousin, in 1890, who predeceased him by 28 years. Mr. Pridham was a foundation member of the Crystal Brook Bowling Club, and also was an active member and exhibitor of the Northern Agricultural Society. He was 87 years of age, and leaves one daughter, Miss Elsie Pridham, who lives in Crystal Brook.
Headstone Crystal Brook Cemetery
PRIOR, Wilhelmina Jane died 08 January 1926
The death of Mrs Jane Prior, who passed away on January 8th at her son's residence, Copperhouse removes not only an old and highly esteemed resident of Burra and district, but an old colonist. Born at Dublin. Ireland, on November 4th 1832 she was the daughter of Mr and Mrs Rasdell. As a young woman she arrived in this State in 1850 and came direct to this district. A few years later she married Mr James Prior, who was killed in the Broken Hill mines on the 19th June. 1900, where he had
only gone to work a week previously. Both were members of the Bible Christian Church at Burra and Mt. Bryan, later of the Methodist Church. Until five months ago, for 23 years Mrs Prior had lived alone but later failing health compelled her to have assistance. Although 93 years of age her faculties remained good until the last and she read her own correspondence until the morning of her death. She was always of a singularly bright and cheerful disposition and it was a pleasure to converse with her at any time. At her 93 birthday celebration given her in November last by relatives by whom she was greatly beloved, she entered into the spirit of the gathering heartily. Her end was very peaceful. She passed away in her sleep, her lovely Christian spirit being maintained until the evening of her death. She had a family of four children all of whom are Iiving, namely Mrs H. W. Collins. N S.W; Mrs John Honan. Hallett ; Elijah Thomas Prior, Copperhouse and Elisha Prior of Hallett thirty one grandchildren and 74 great grandchildren. The funeral took place at Kooringa on Sunday afternoon, the service was conducted by the Rev. R H. Lee and the funeral arrangements by Messrs C. J. Pearce and Son.
Headstone Burra Cemetery
PROCTOR, John Smith died 19 February 1941
Dr. J.S. Proctor, who died at a Glenelg private hospital yesterday, came to Adelaide 50 years ago from Limerick Ireland. He practised medicine at Morphett Vale, and then at Mt Pleasant, where he lived for 20 years. On the outbreak of the Great War he joined the medical corps, and served as a captain throughout the war. On his return he practised at North terrace for many years. At Mt Pleasant he married Marion, daughter of the late John and Mrs. Ann Crampton. His wife died five years ago. Dr. Basil Proctor, who is now serving in the A.I.F. is his only son.
PROUSE, Elizabeth Jane
The death occurred at Kadina on June 30 of Mrs. Elizabeth Jane Prouse, of Kadina, at the age of 75. Mrs. Prouse was born at St. Just, Cornwall, and married the late Mr. Charles Prouse in 1856 They arrived at Port Adelaide in the ship Monsoon in 1857, and first settled at Burra. In 1864 Mr. and Mrs. Prouse removed to Wallaroo Mines, and in 1876 they purchased land in the district of Alford, where they resided until the death of Mr. Prouse. Mrs. Prouse then settled at Kadina, where until her death she resided. She left six children (Mesdames A. Morris, of Adelaide, C. Hawson, of St. Peters, and W. V. Bache, of Yeelana Hotel, and Mr. Jacob, farmer, of Kadina, and Messrs. Charles and Robert, of Alford.
PUCKRIDGE, John St. George died 10 September 1898
DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST. PORT LINCOLN, Tuesday, September 13.
Another old colonist passed away at his residence, Port Lincoln, on Saturday last in the person of Mr. John St. George Puckridge of Lake Wangary, who was born at Islington, Middlesex, England, in April, 1819. He arrived in this colony by the ship Lady Nugent in 1853, and after farming for some few years at Mount Barker he came to this district thirty-nine years ago, since which then he has been farming at Lake Wangary. He was one of the oldest Justices of the Peace in the district, and was formerly a member of the Road Board, and afterwards of the District Councils' Association. He always took a great interest in the closer settlement of the district, and anything for the welfare of Port Lincoln was most readily responded to by him. He was a member of the Order of Freemasons, having joined that body in 1862. Out of a family of ten children three sons and one daughter survive. There are also thirty nine grandchildren, and five great grand children. The funeral took place yesterday, and a large number followed the remains to the Happy Valley Cemetery, where the service was read by the Rev. W. H. Howard. During the afternoon a memorial service was held at the Port Lincoln Institute by the brethren of the Port Lincoln Masonic Lodge, who subsequently followed the remains to the cemetery. Brothers J. O. Richardson and T. Clode, Wardens, and E. P. G. Oswald and W. H. Wood, Deacons, acted as pallbearers. A large number of wreaths, crosses and floral tributes were placed on the coffin.
PUDDY, Isaac died 09 November 1905
Mr. Isaac Puddy died at the age of 85 years at Mill-terrace west, North Adelaide, on Thursday evening. The cause of death
was heart failure. For 21 years, in the early period of the South Australian railways, Mr. Puddy was very prominent, but of late
he had led a retired life. He was the first superintendent of the line to Port Adelaide, and later his duties included the oversight of the railway to Kapunda, and his services were sometimes specially called into requisition as far as the Burra. His keen perception as a railway expert, more particularly in the permanent way department, brought him into prominence, and his advice was frequently sought after and acted upon by his superior officers, who recognised his great natural abilities. It is not generally known that much of the Adelaide station yard was in the early history of the railway made up with sand from Alberton, brought by ballast trains, under Mr. Puddy's supervision, between the running of passenger trains during the day and also by, night trains. He was born in Somersetshire in 1820, and came to South Australia in 1855. After leaving the railway service he was engaged in laying tram lines, road making, and in superintending the laying of the Holdfast Bay roadway. He was one of the founders of the Peace Lodge, U.A.O.D., in 1856, and of the Albert Lodge of the same order 35 years ago. For a number of years he was honorary treasurer of both lodges. Mr. Puddy for nearly two years resided at Norwood, and then at Bowden, and for the past 40 years he had lived at North Adelaide. His wife died 21 years ago. He left one son (Mr. A. Puddy, of Hindmarsh), one daughter, and eight grandchildren.
PUDNEY nee HASTINGS, Catherine
MRS CATHERINE PUDNEY
A very old and respected resident of Mount Gambier, in the person of Mrs Catherine Pudney, of 48 Crouch Street, died on September 17.
Mrs Pudney was a daughter of the late Mr and Mrs Joseph Hastings, and she was born at Huntly, Aberdeenshire, and at the age of 18 months she came with her parents to Australia. On New Years Eve 1874  she was married to the late Mr Joseph Pudney, the ceremony being performed by the late Rev R A Caldwell. They had a family of eight children. She was a member of St Andrew's Presbyterian Church, and the ceremony at the graveside was performed by the Rev H D Fearon. Mr W Pearce carried out the funeral arrangements.
Newspaper Article – Sat 23rd June 1934
Colonist of 81 years – Mrs Catherine Pudney Celebrates Birthday
Mrs Catherine Pudney, of Crouch Street, a colonist of 81 years, celebrated her 82nd birthday last week. She arrived at Port Adelaide from Scotland with her parents in the ship Marion, after being six months on the water. Captain Leighton was in charge of the ship, which was becalmed for six weeks crossing the line.
Mrs Pudney first resided at Myponga, and afterwards at Yankalilla, where her father followed the calling of a carpenter. From there they came to Rivoli Bay, Robe, in a small sailing boat, and on to Mount Schank by bullock dray, where they resided for a number of years.
Captain Gardiner was lessee of the Schank in those days. Mrs Pudney married there, and reared her family of eight – four sons and four daughters – all of whom are still living. Two sons fought in the Great War. Thirty years ago Mrs Pudney came to reside in Crouch Street, where she has lived ever since.
PUDNEY, Maria died 08 July 1901
Mrs. H. J. Pudney, who died suddenly on the night of July 8 through failure ot the heart's action, at the residence of her son-in-law, Mr. L, Mcintyre, Mill-street, Adelaide, was the wife of Mr. H. J. Pudney, of Port Adelaide. She had resided with her husband in Port Adelaide for more than 40 years. July 2, the 40bh anniversary of her wedding day, was celebrated in connection with a social by the Independent Order of Rachabites at Semaphore. For 28 years Mrs. Pudney had been a member of the order.
PUGH, Thomas (94th birthday celebrations)
Mr. Thomas Pugh, of Balhannah, entered upon his 94th year yesterday. Mr. Pugh was born in 1812 at Bilston Staffordshire, and was educated at Birmingham. After having been apprenticed as a bricklayer he was employed in that capacity in London, Liverpool, and Manchester, and was in Liverpool when England was first visited by cholera, whilst he also witnessed the opening of the Liverpool Manchester railway. Trade unionism was at that time in its infancy, and Mr. Pugh was in Liverpool during one of the earliest strikes, and in London he experienced more trouble of this description. Mr. Pugh was in Paris in 1848 when the body of Napoleon Bonaparte was taken there from St. Helena. Shortly after arriving in this State Mr. Pugh resided at Norwood, and with the late Mr. J. E. Moulden and others he made a short visit to the Victorian goldfields. In 1851 he took np land near Balhannah, and has resided in the same vicinity ever since. Years ago Mr. Pugh was a member of the Onkaparinga District Council, and he has always interested himself in the public affairs of the district.
PULLEINE, Francis Burmeister died 06 October 1947
Mr. Francis Burmester Pulleine who died at Hindmarsh recently, was born on the Thames (NZ) goldfields in 1872 and came to Adelaide at the age of ten. He was educated at Pulteney Grammar School and later operated the Spennlthorne drying factory at Lobethal until 1924 when it was burnt down. He then purchased an orchard and grazing property at Kenton Valley where he was successful and retired in 1936. After a visit to New Zealand he settled at Charleston for a few years, finally moving to Hindmarsh. He has left a widow, three sons and four daughters.
Headstone Lobethal General Cemetery
PULLEINE, James Alfred died 14 November 1947
Mr. Alfred J. Pulleine, 77 formerly of Church terrace, Walkerville, who died at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Walter Lee. at Point Pass, was born in New Zealand and in boyhood came to Adelaide with his parents, Mr. and Mrs, F. A. Pulleine. He attended St. Peter's College 65 years ago. Mr. Pulleine married Anna Schmidt, and their children were Bessie, Pattie, Frank. William, Arthur, Lucy, Jean, Robert, and, deceased Derek and James. Mr. Pulleine played bowls for Murray Bridge West Park, and Walkerville.
PURVES, Charles William died 10 April 1937
Dr. Charles William Purves whose death occurred at Eudunda was one of the oldest medical practitioners in South Australia. He was registered on April 6. 1887. He was a leading figure in the Angaston district and at Eudunda in more recent years.
PURVIS, George William died 12 December 1912
Mr. George W. Purvis died on Thursday evening at his son's residence, Findon-road Woodville. A short time ago the deceased
had the misfortune to fall in his room and sustain a broken leg, and his extreme age he was 92 -prohibited his recovery. He
was born at Berwick-on-Tweed in 1821, but at an early age removed with his parents to Windsor, where his father, who was an officer in the Artillery, was removed to Windsor Castle. Through the death of both his parents he was afterwards thrown
on his own resources, and at the age of 16 years entered on a seafaring life. Settling in Mauritius, be engaged in sugar-growing, and some of his productions took first prize in the great Exhibition in London in 1851. In the following year, having heard of the renown of the-Australian goldfields, he sailed for Adelaide in a small schooner named the Josephine L'Oiseau, the journey occupying over 100 days. On his arrival at Port Adelaide he worked as a carpenter, and in 1853 he purchased land at
Lefevre's Peninsula, in the midst of a dense scrub. There he erected a wooden dwelling, which still stands at the corner
of Harris and Napier streets in Exeter. He was afterwards employed at the Government dockyard in Glanville. He was
occupied in the building of the two first lifeboats in the State about the year 1866, one of which is still doing duty as a motor
launch and the other lying in the stores yard at Port Adelaide. He also erected the old wooden lighthouses on the Semaphore and Glenelg jetties, and the tide gauge which is still doing service on the former jetty. He was a prominent member of the Methodist Church, in which at different times he held important offices. He was one of the founders and the oldest
member of the Loyal Peninsula Lodge of the I.O.O.F.. Manchester Unity, now amalgamated with the Victoria Lodge. For
years he was chairman of trustees. He left one son (Mr. W. J. Purvis, manager for Berry, Hodgson, & Co.. Port Adelaide).
His remains will be interred in the Woodville Cemetery this afternoon.
PUTLAND, William died 05 January 1906
Mr. W. Putland, who arrived in the State in 1840, in the ship Royal Admiral, died on Friday night. He was at Glenelg on December 28, and attended the luncheon to old colonists given by the Mayor of Glenelg.
PUTSKUCHEN, Ernst Wilhelm Theodor died 25 August 1902
Mr. E. W. T. Pustkuchen, who was for many years president of the German Club and a prominent member and past master of the Concordia Lodge of Freemasons, died at Bool Lagoon, near Naracoorte, on Monday. The deceased was born at Detmold, Germany, in 1842, and came to South Australia in 1864. He was a member of the firm of Messrs. Gerke & Rodeinman of
Rundle street, but retired in 1891. He went to Europe and spent a couple of years travelling. Mr. Pustkuchcn leaves a widow and seven children.